We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed or just unlucky?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Ranked #56 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Understaffed or just unlucky?”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

It's hard to tell if it's a recruitment flaw or a management problem but when they were present, the majority of the staff displayed a dissatisfaction or disinterest that made interaction a chore. There were exceptions but from very first contact with the one & only staff member on duty at reception it was abundantly clear that we were a burden not welcome guests. After waiting 10 minutes for the sole staff member to get off the phone, we were informed that we could have checked in at the Club Lounge. A little hard to do when you've no idea where it is & there are no signs but handy to know for next time.

Room was nice other than the things that didn't work like TV & aircon. Club Lounge is lovely. Nice furnishings & lovely ambience, Breakfast in the Club Lounge was excellent. Other snacks, not so much. Range of drinks was good on the first day but weren't replenished once finished so got worse over the 3 days.

Dinner in the main restaurant was inappropriately expensive but reasonable quality. Staff we're reasonably attentive but predominantly mono-lingual. Not a fair criticism as I am too. It was just unfortunate for me that my main language isn't coincident with that of the restaurant staff.

Despite the annoyances above, my main gripe is an easy one to fix. Stop serving UHT milk! It destroys the flavour of otherwise reasonable coffee & leaves an after taste that couldn't be removed even with liberal application of the ever-dwindling supply of Club Lounge liquor.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Rick H,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you liked our club lounge and excellent breakfast. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, relaxing and friendly accommodations. I am sorry about the negative impression you may have with the hotel management during your stay. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves in. Your comments have been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    357
    65
    14
    7
See reviews for
325
404
39
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Fabulous clean and welcoming room with good coffe machin. The staff are extremely friendly and always ready to help. The hotel is in an amazing location, with the Magic Fountain just down the road and easy access to the bus and train stops, which are right outside the building. We also enjoyed the daily breakfast, as it was fresh with lots of variety. It is located near by the fira Center of Barcelona, Arenas Shopping Centre in Barcelona’s Plaza España. We loved this hotel:)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gitana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful and in a great location. The metro is a short 5-7 minute walk and is immediately accessible to the Red and Green line, both of which stop at La Rambla. Additionally, if you arrive by bus (from Girona airport or somewhere else), there is a metro right outside the bus station that connects the red line right to the hotel. The room was large and clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawn3332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 727 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Although this is certainly not a flashy hotel, nor does it offer grand views, it more than makes up for this in comfort and service. The location is on a quiet street, but a fairly quick walk to Plaza de Espana and the metro. The rooms are huge for a hotel in a major European city, and, with double doors to the hallway, extremely quiet. The internet worked well. My cousin and I stayed for three nights, and the front desk always seemed to be well-staffed, with helpful personnel. It was hands-down the best hotel in our 2-week trip from Paris, and not the most expensive. I only wish the restaurant were a bit more affordable, but there are plenty of options within easy walking distance. If you're looking for a quiet room with understated luxury, comfort, and great service, this is the place!

Room Tip: No views, and all of the rooms are very well insulated, so I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great rooms at this hotel. We were a family of 4 and had 2 double beds which made our stay very comfortable. Breakfast was not incl and was expensive at ear 18 per person. Not too many eating joints around the hotel. Its a short taxi ride away from Ramblas which has all the action in barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for harley days nice hotel but restaurant staff rude and slow housekeeping desperately bad even when we had the do not disturb sign on the door they would ring the room this was frustrating as we were working nights and needed our sleep

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Christy O,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for writing us a candid review. While we are glad that you found our hotel nice, it is regrettable to read that you were not satisfied with the level of service you received during your time at the hotel. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. We have taken note of your feedback and will be used to focus on improving guest satisfaction.

We look forward to serving you again when you better return to Barcelona.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironwood
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Barcelona-Fira Center after an 11 day cruise. The day before disembarkation, which was fortunately a port day in Barcelona, we found out there would be a taxi drivers' strike on disembarkation day. We went to the hotel early, talked to the front desk staff, and they were more than happy to stow our luggage overnight so we didn't have to haul it on and off buses the next day. Very accomodating!
This hotel is in a beautiful location, three blocks down from the National Palace on a shady side street. There is a hop-on-hop off bus stop across from the Palace, and metro and bus service a short distance away in the Placa d'Espanya. It is an easy walk, maybe 20 minutes, down Ave. Paral-lel to La Rambla, or just get on bus D20 and it will take you to La Rambla and the big Columbus Monument. We were newcomers to Barcelona, but it didn't take long to figure out public transportation.
A short walk up the hill past the palace and you are in the beautiful Mont Juic area and can visit the Olympic Stadium from the 1992 Olympics. Even though the fitness center of the hotel is being renovated right now, they provide you access to a fitness center nearby, or you can enjoy the shady streets and go for a run!
The rooms in the hotel are huge by any standard, not just for people getting off a cruise ship. We paid extra for the club level, and it was well worth it. It included an excellent breakfast, beverages, cocktails, and snacks available all day in a private lounge.
There is a restaurant connected to the property, but we went out to area restaurants to eat. If you head down toward Ave. Paral-lel on the side street (I think the street is Lleida), there is a cute tapas place called Casa de Tapas. It was really fun, and just a few minutes walk.
There are always a few cabs parked out in front of the hotel (except if they're on strike). We asked for a quote to the airport and felt it was a little high. The concierge in the club lounge called a cab for us, and with tip it was about forty euro. There is also an airport bus that leaves from Placa d'Espanya which would probably be a good option if you don't have a lot of luggage. It is a relatively quick trip to the airport from the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travelers. I wouldn't hesitate to return here if I am lucky enough to get back to Barcelona some day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank musiclovingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Pol & Grace Hotel
#69 of 513 in Barcelona
936 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
702 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
3,788 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
2,225 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing