We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel with the exception of the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Ranked #59 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with the exception of the food”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel mid morning, after an early flight out from the UK & were delighted that after a short wait we were able to access our rooms. These were on the 8th floor with a view across the roof tops to the Sagrada Familia & the cable car. Very clean rooms with for once, efficient, quiet, air conditioning. There was also English TV channels, free wifi, complimentary shampoo, shower gel etc. Chairs in the room were very comfortable, as were the huge beds! The tea/coffee facilities in the room could have been better - just one large cup & one very small cup provided (our son's room only had one cup throughout our stay despite requesting a second); plenty of tea & coffee sachets but only two small milk portions! We also only had one small bottle of water in the room for two people. The breakfast was expensive for what it was. The 'hot' food the hot plate was barely warm. I opted for the croissants which just tasted of oil & so didn't bother with breakfast for the rest of our stay. The buffet style evening meal was also only warm, despite us being in the restaurant within 10 minutes of it opening. Needless to say we only ate there on the first night. Also, like other reviewers, we were disappointed to find on arrival that the pool was still shut for refurbishment. Despite my gripes I would probably stay again as the location was great - just a short walk from the Magic Fountain & the sightseeing bus stop was just a 10 minute walk up the road & the accommodation a good price. However, next time all meals will be eaten out!

Room Tip: Great view across Barcelona from the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenbear5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaBarcelona, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Barcelona Fira Center. We very much appreciate your feedback and sharing your constructive comments, which contribute to improvement of our services.

We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay and sincerely apologize for our Restaurante services not meeting with your expectations. We would like to assure you that matters mentioned in your comments have been addressed personally by our management office.

Our goal is to fully delight our guests and ensure they pass and enjoyable and memorable stay in Barcelona.

We are hopeful to welcome you back in the near future and rectify your impression of the Crowne Plaza Barcelona Fira Center.

We remain at your disposal for any information or assistance.

Kind regards,

Enrique Escofet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    348
    62
    14
    7
See reviews for
305
388
37
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just got back from Barcelona and stayed at this great hotel. I'd definitely recommend and would stay there again. Breakfast is great, free wifi across the whole hotel, free computers to use for all, good sized rooms/bathroom, friendly and helpful staff and good size TV in the room. 4 of us staying in one room, I rearranged the furniture a bit to give us more space; with the room being so big, the kids on the other side of the room felt like they were far away which is great!

Location was great too; 10mins from Espanya station to Line3, which was one of the main lines we used to get around the city and not far from city centre.

I've given it four stars as the cleaning staff would sporadically forget to top up on items in the room, the air con was a bit too weak, the four bed rooms had three quarter beds (not double) and I feel a hotel of this calibre could do with a few extra little touches like drinks in the foyer.

Would I stay here again? Defo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeshaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

It is one of the most amaZing hotel with one of the biggest standard rooms which I have ever seen... They have the best of amenities in the room.. They have a 42 inches LED in the room, biggest I have ever seen in a hotel. Kudos to the owners for making such a fine property.. The location is not city centre, but it is not bad either...

The staff especially the porter was extremely helpful. The breakfast staff was very cordial.. All in all, I would only stay in this hotel, whenever in Barcelona..

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveller1678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We choose this hotel mainly for its underground garage, but we found out that many of the places, like Mount Juidic and the "dancing fountains" were within a walking distance. There are also many good restaurants and Tapas Bars within a few steps. The hotel itself is spacious and elegant. As Gold Elite members we were upgraded for free to an executive room with view, which was in perfect order, very large and convenient. The free wifi is a big bonus. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are generous and lovely. We had once nice toasts at the bar and once a bufet dinner at the hotel restaurants - both were very satisfactory. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amirtomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Excellent hotel where we were very well looked after. The room was very large for a city location with all of the facilities that you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. We upgraded to the Club Lounge and found the facilities superb, providing an excellent breakfast and snacks throughout the day. Sandra and her team in Reception provided us with every request we made and we cannot praise her highly enough for her excellent level of service. We would most certainly return to the Crown Plaza on our next visit and strongly recommend a stay in this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evergreen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Your average Crowne Plaza Hotel. There was a line at check-in with the process seeming to take well above average for each guest. As they do not have a separate concierge area, guests would inquire about what to do in Barcelona also at the reception. There certainly was no sense of urgency when it came to acknowledging waiting guests. Check in itself was standard- neither friendly nor otherwise- mostly uninterested- not genuine. One bellboy was available, who again was not that interested in anything and was reacting to guests requests, rather then being proactive. The general feeling I got was that the hotel was grossly understaffed, undertrained- I guess the staff were inherited from the previous hotel (Fira Palace) and had yet to understand the IHG culture.
Room- clean, and with all the amenities expected from a 4 star hotel. AC worked well. Double door to the hallway ensures that noise does not travel from that direction. Housekeeping was erratic- every single day one item would be forgotten. On one day, both hand towels were not delivered. Bed sheets are not changed daily even if dirty- again lack of training, consistency and common sense.
Breakfast- service was again unfriendly and mechanical. The breakfast buffet selection was adequate for a four star hotel.
Check-out. Bill was correct. They are saving costs by not printing the initial bill for verification, thus the computer is turned around for all guests waiting in line to see your bill.
Overall- it was a very average stay and I would only consider staying here again depending on the price. They showed no interest in me, thus there is no need to show any loyalty to IHG even as a Platinum Rewards Club member.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid the noise form the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCS294229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear CCS294229,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback.

I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. I am really sorry that our staff has not provided any recognition of your Platinum status. I understand how this may have left you frustrated and I can assure you this experience is not representative of the service we expect to provide. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with the level of service and the poor experience you had on check in.

Your patronage and support to the hotel are very important to us, as such, rest assured that your comments will be used to consider improvements. We hope that you give us another chance and allow us to redeem your faith in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Really nice hotel, situated closely to the fountains and only a few minutes walk from the bus stop. Takes about 20 minutes to get into the centre of Barcelona on foot, but an interesting walk.

Our room was upgraded and was excellent with really comfortable beds and a bathroom to die for!

Everything was very clean and staff were very helpful.
My only complaint is that the outside space was closed which was a bit of a blow in this hot weather.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selby-Family-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#39 of 513 in Barcelona
2,231 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,702 reviews
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#111 of 513 in Barcelona
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hotel Brummell
Hotel Brummell
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
419 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 513 in Barcelona
690 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 513 in Barcelona
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing