We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Ranked #58 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it! We got the train from Salou and then walked from the train station, it took about 20-30 min but there are also plenty of taxis & the Metro.

The room was fantastic, my current favourite. It was very spacious and modern with a huge TV and bathroom as well as plenty of USB ports and plugs. The view wasn't great, just a view of nearby apartments & the local gym. On a side note, the hotel gym is currently been renovated but the hotel provide access to one that is just around the corner.

In the bathroom, there was a separate shower cubicle and bath with a range of products to use. There are plenty of towels and two XXL dressing gowns. The bath filled up very quickly and was heavenly to have a soak in after a long day.

The beds aren't too big but are very comfy and clean with no nearby noise disturbances. Limited tea, coffee, milk, biscuit supplies are provided as well as a mini bar stocking chocolate, alcohol and other refreshments.

We didn't eat at the hotel but noticed a restaurant on the Reception floor and the hotel provided a excellent breakfast service. There was a menu door hanger which allowed you choose from the many breakfast options and select which time you would like it delivering to your room for a small price.

If returning to Barcelona, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs_salmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel in an excellent, easy to find area. We did request a nice view room but ended up with a view of apartments opposite. The room was great, spacious with a huge t.v and big bathroom. The double beds are not average size, be aware and didn't give us much turning room however we slept comfortably with no noise disturbance from outside or inside, in fact we often thought we were the only one's in the hotel. Limited tea, coffee and milk supplies but a good working fridge which we used to store our water bottle in ( shop over the road sold water rather cheap). We didn't eat at the hotel and found a cafe within 5 minutes walk which was reasonable and catered for vegetarians. We had to ask every night for additional towels, we sometimes were left none and sometimes 2 (there were 3 staying in the room) this could be annoying if your back late and want a quick shower before bed. On the last night of our stay we arrived back to the room around 11pm and were shocked to find wet towels draped all over the floor from the door into the bedroom, we asked at reception what had happened to then be told our room had flooded whilst we were out and they had forgotten to remove the towels. Needless to say we waited for housekeeping to arrive and remove them, leaving a wet carpet and wet clothes that had been left on the floor when we went out. Staff at reception told us we had to wait until the morning to speak to someone about this. Although the staff in the morning were very apologetic it was abit late to be offered use of their laundry facilities free of charge as we leaving for our flight home. It was a shame this happened as the rest of our stay was very pleasant and would book again if I ever returned.

Room Tip: Double beds are smaller than average opt for king size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
2  Thank Louloublue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

booked to stay here for 2 nights as a family of four - we booked our stay through a third party broker ( to get the best deal) - we originally requested a family room to accommodate all 4 guests, we also rang the hotel few days prior to our stay to confirm the booking and to request that we have either a family room or at least an interconnecting room so we could be with our children. We arrived from the airport quite late at night to check in and upon arrival we found ourselves standing for approx 20 mins whilst the receptionist tried her best to accommodate our request. Unfortunately, after a while we were informed that there was no interconnecting rooms or indeed 2 rooms next to each other. The closest rooms we were offered was 1 room on the 1st floor and our 2nd room on the 5th floor !!! - We weren't pleased but wasn't in a position to argue or negotiate as we was tired and just wanted to get into the rooms. We were offered a VIP upgrade to the club lounge on the first night but unfortunately by the time we had taken our suitcases to both rooms the VIP club lounge was closed !!!! The next morning we moved out of the 2 rooms and was moved to different rooms and this time they were next door to each other. we tried to use the VIP lounge on the 2nd night but the new rooms cards we were given didn't work and therefore we could not gain entry to this exclusive lounge !! Overall, although the mix up with the rooms were a nuisance and an inconvenience, the hotel is very nice, clean.The breakfast was ok but not the biggest choice, the bacon was streaky bacon and very greasy and the sausages were chipolatas cooked in onions ( like hot dogs sausages) Didn't opt for any meals in the restaurant but used the bar area which is very relaxing and quiet. Overall the hotel is of a very high standard with nice bathrooms and I would certainly stay here again despite the mix up with the rooms

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hasifantasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in a double room at the 5. floor for a week.

Good Things first. Room was very large compaired to European standards, clean, nice bed, (double duvet however), great view. Lifts quick. Metro 5-7 minuttes within walking distance as well as busses. Good and plentyfull breakfast. Fast check in and checkout. (remember the city tax though which you have to pay in addition to the hotel bill.). Staff polite. Two (ish) museums, the magic fountains, and a shopping mall nearby. No street noice to talk about.

Bad Things. There were not anything to complain about regarding this hotel, but I will mentioned a couple of things. It was iritating that you could not get your own coffee at breakfast, but had to wait untill you catched the waiters attention, and they were busy. The lobby and breakfast room was very Cold ( two much aircon). I read on tripadvisor that there were lots of restaurants and bars around, yeah well - I would not exactly call them restaurants, more like cafes with touristy Pictures of the food, and cheap looking bars. Only one nearby that looked decent. We did not feel tempted to try them. The fact of the matter is that the hotel is fine, however, not at all 5 star, and the area was boring. Way to far away from the Beach and the city center.

Would I stay here Again? No, purely due to location.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a short 3 day break to Barcelona. 5-10 minutes walk from the metro it is well placed for flying in and using public transport. This is a good standard hotel with plenty of space and excellent service. The room was very nice with a massive LED tv and comfortable chairs. Beds very comfortable and a very nice bathroom that was spacious and modern. We had two large double beds in the room.
We used the RENFE train network to get from the airport to the city (20 minutes) and could use one of our T10 tickets for this journey and the other remaining tickets around the city. We liked the old town best with its only narrow streets and the area around the hotel was very nice.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paul_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel mid morning, after an early flight out from the UK & were delighted that after a short wait we were able to access our rooms. These were on the 8th floor with a view across the roof tops to the Sagrada Familia & the cable car. Very clean rooms with for once, efficient, quiet, air conditioning. There was also English TV channels, free wifi, complimentary shampoo, shower gel etc. Chairs in the room were very comfortable, as were the huge beds! The tea/coffee facilities in the room could have been better - just one large cup & one very small cup provided (our son's room only had one cup throughout our stay despite requesting a second); plenty of tea & coffee sachets but only two small milk portions! We also only had one small bottle of water in the room for two people. The breakfast was expensive for what it was. The 'hot' food the hot plate was barely warm. I opted for the croissants which just tasted of oil & so didn't bother with breakfast for the rest of our stay. The buffet style evening meal was also only warm, despite us being in the restaurant within 10 minutes of it opening. Needless to say we only ate there on the first night. Also, like other reviewers, we were disappointed to find on arrival that the pool was still shut for refurbishment. Despite my gripes I would probably stay again as the location was great - just a short walk from the Magic Fountain & the sightseeing bus stop was just a 10 minute walk up the road & the accommodation a good price. However, next time all meals will be eaten out!

Room Tip: Great view across Barcelona from the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenbear5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaBarcelona, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Barcelona Fira Center. We very much appreciate your feedback and sharing your constructive comments, which contribute to improvement of our services.

We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay and sincerely apologize for our Restaurante services not meeting with your expectations. We would like to assure you that matters mentioned in your comments have been addressed personally by our management office.

Our goal is to fully delight our guests and ensure they pass and enjoyable and memorable stay in Barcelona.

We are hopeful to welcome you back in the near future and rectify your impression of the Crowne Plaza Barcelona Fira Center.

We remain at your disposal for any information or assistance.

Kind regards,

Enrique Escofet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just got back from Barcelona and stayed at this great hotel. I'd definitely recommend and would stay there again. Breakfast is great, free wifi across the whole hotel, free computers to use for all, good sized rooms/bathroom, friendly and helpful staff and good size TV in the room. 4 of us staying in one room, I rearranged the furniture a bit to give us more space; with the room being so big, the kids on the other side of the room felt like they were far away which is great!

Location was great too; 10mins from Espanya station to Line3, which was one of the main lines we used to get around the city and not far from city centre.

I've given it four stars as the cleaning staff would sporadically forget to top up on items in the room, the air con was a bit too weak, the four bed rooms had three quarter beds (not double) and I feel a hotel of this calibre could do with a few extra little touches like drinks in the foyer.

Would I stay here again? Defo.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zeshaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 518 in Barcelona
3,146 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#108 of 518 in Barcelona
3,463 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 518 in Barcelona
3,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 518 in Barcelona
2,382 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#175 of 518 in Barcelona
3,741 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#57 of 518 in Barcelona
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £88 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing