We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you great stay.....”
Review of Hotel Via Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Via Augusta
Ranked #184 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel last night, asked my business contacts to book me somewhere near their office that was "cheap and clean". Well this hotel surpassed anything I could have possibly imagined. I have stayed at 5 star hotels in Barcelona and from the welcome at the front desk to their helpfulness there was no difference. The room was spacious with wooden floors (I hate carpet) beautiful big windows that open, great bed, lovely bathroom with all amenities (shower gel, shampoo etc) great big shower! Breakfast was also lovely, good coffee (rare) eggs, sausages and fresh bread rolls with all types of jams, honey etc, fresh fruit and squeezed orange juice. I hesitate to recommend this hotel as its going to get really busy!! Paid just €45 for the night!! Should definitely be a 3 star hotel does not merit 2 stars!!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelreviewer352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionViaAugusta, Director General at Hotel Via Augusta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Mss.

I want to be grateful for her the time that has dedicated to valuing our hotel.

We are very proud that you had enjoyed having breakfast in our breakfast room. We try to have a mixed and complete breakfast with fresh fruits, eggs, bacon,...

And please, if you are so kind, explain this secret to everybody!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

On arrival I was greeted well and as I had arrived early pleasantly surprised that I was given to a very clean spacious room overlooking the square. A very central location. Unfortunately the corridors were noisy as wooden, I cold hear my neighbours very clearly. The breakfast was disappointing, no fruit fresh or otherwise. On the Monday morning the bread was stale. No tea making facilities in the room and the bar was not open. I tried to check in on line for my return flight and there was no printer and was told to e-mail the hotel. The Receptionist was not helpful and was never busy. On requesting a taxi this was far too much trouble. Improve the staff and I would return to this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This hotel is located close to many Barcelona's tourist attractions such as Casa Milà, Sagrada Familia, Park Güell, Casa Batlló with a metro (subway) station just around the corner. Also very suitable for football enthusiasts who wish to see FC Barcelona.
Nice clean rooms with a spacious bathroom and a tasty breakfast is included in the room price.
We can highly recommend this for couples, solo travellers and for everybody interested in exploring Barcelona. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KariS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, the room was clean as was the hotel itself. the staff was friendly and helpful overall a good place to stay when in Barcelona at a reasonable price, close enough to everything that its possible to walk if you wanted.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M&B_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Very nice hotel, the staff are friendly, it has a very good location (two metro stops away from Plaza Catalunya, in the middle of downtown, and close too from Park Güell). It has affordable rates, and rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy. I went with my grandfather and he loved it too. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlalokman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Cheap hotel with a good location and friendly staff. Clean but small room, free wifi, acceptable breakfast. My colleague had a room without windows which is pretty unlucky but if you can avoid that you can't really complain about anything for this range of price.
It's a two star hotel but beats many 3 star ones.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gozoferi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Pol & Grace Hotel
#64 of 515 in Barcelona
1,083 reviews
Amrey Sant Pau
#231 of 515 in Barcelona
733 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#183 of 515 in Barcelona
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#222 of 515 in Barcelona
1,182 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#177 of 515 in Barcelona
825 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#212 of 515 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Via Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Augusta

Address: Via Augusta 63, 08006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#102 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#146 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £42 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Via Augusta 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to Gracia FGC Train Station, Hotel Via Augusta has a rooftop terrace with views of Barcelona. It offers functional, air conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen satellite TV.The Via Augusta is a historic building with a beautiful original foyer. Rooms have simple, modern decor and hardwood floors. They include a work desk, a safe and a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied breakfast buffet is served in the hotel, and drinks are available from the vending machine. A wide range of bars and restaurants can be found in the popular Gracia district, within a 5-minute walk.Hotel Via Augusta is 1300 ft from Fontana Metro Station, and Parc Guell is just 1 Metro stop away. Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas are a 5-minute ride from nearby Gracia Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Via Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Via Augusta Hotel
Via Augusta Barcelona
Hotel Via Augusta Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing