We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price”
Review of Hotel Via Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Via Augusta
Ranked #182 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay for the price”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We arrived at 4pm, two hours after check-in started and had to wait for our room to be prepared. The room was very small, though did have a little, seatless balcony. The room was clean and and fine for £40/night but with a few problems i.e. blocked sink, temperamental shower and broken hair drier we weren't blown away.
Despite these few setbacks, the room was satisfactory and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheInkpens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    435
    128
    25
    7
See reviews for
150
363
107
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel last night, asked my business contacts to book me somewhere near their office that was "cheap and clean". Well this hotel surpassed anything I could have possibly imagined. I have stayed at 5 star hotels in Barcelona and from the welcome at the front desk to their helpfulness there was no difference. The room was spacious with wooden floors (I hate carpet) beautiful big windows that open, great bed, lovely bathroom with all amenities (shower gel, shampoo etc) great big shower! Breakfast was also lovely, good coffee (rare) eggs, sausages and fresh bread rolls with all types of jams, honey etc, fresh fruit and squeezed orange juice. I hesitate to recommend this hotel as its going to get really busy!! Paid just €45 for the night!! Should definitely be a 3 star hotel does not merit 2 stars!!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelreviewer352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionViaAugusta, Director General at Hotel Via Augusta, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Mss.

I want to be grateful for her the time that has dedicated to valuing our hotel.

We are very proud that you had enjoyed having breakfast in our breakfast room. We try to have a mixed and complete breakfast with fresh fruits, eggs, bacon,...

And please, if you are so kind, explain this secret to everybody!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

On arrival I was greeted well and as I had arrived early pleasantly surprised that I was given to a very clean spacious room overlooking the square. A very central location. Unfortunately the corridors were noisy as wooden, I cold hear my neighbours very clearly. The breakfast was disappointing, no fruit fresh or otherwise. On the Monday morning the bread was stale. No tea making facilities in the room and the bar was not open. I tried to check in on line for my return flight and there was no printer and was told to e-mail the hotel. The Receptionist was not helpful and was never busy. On requesting a taxi this was far too much trouble. Improve the staff and I would return to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This hotel is located close to many Barcelona's tourist attractions such as Casa Milà, Sagrada Familia, Park Güell, Casa Batlló with a metro (subway) station just around the corner. Also very suitable for football enthusiasts who wish to see FC Barcelona.
Nice clean rooms with a spacious bathroom and a tasty breakfast is included in the room price.
We can highly recommend this for couples, solo travellers and for everybody interested in exploring Barcelona. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, the room was clean as was the hotel itself. the staff was friendly and helpful overall a good place to stay when in Barcelona at a reasonable price, close enough to everything that its possible to walk if you wanted.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M&B_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Very nice hotel, the staff are friendly, it has a very good location (two metro stops away from Plaza Catalunya, in the middle of downtown, and close too from Park Güell). It has affordable rates, and rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy. I went with my grandfather and he loved it too. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlalokman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
SmartRoom Barcelona
#107 of 513 in Barcelona
381 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#192 of 513 in Barcelona
1,881 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#171 of 513 in Barcelona
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bonanova Park
#372 of 513 in Barcelona
262 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
1,887 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#181 of 513 in Barcelona
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Via Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Augusta

Property: Hotel Via Augusta
Address: Via Augusta 63, 08006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#102 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#146 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Via Augusta 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to Gracia FGC Train Station, Hotel Via Augusta has a rooftop terrace with views of Barcelona. It offers functional, air conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen satellite TV.The Via Augusta is a historic building with a beautiful original foyer. Rooms have simple, modern decor and hardwood floors. They include a work desk, a safe and a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied breakfast buffet is served in the hotel, and drinks are available from the vending machine. A wide range of bars and restaurants can be found in the popular Gracia district, within a 5-minute walk.Hotel Via Augusta is 1300 ft from Fontana Metro Station, and Parc Guell is just 1 Metro stop away. Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas are a 5-minute ride from nearby Gracia Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Via Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Via Augusta Hotel
Via Augusta Barcelona
Hotel Via Augusta Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing