We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Hotel Via Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Via Augusta
Ranked #184 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Hotel Via Augusta. We chose this hotel because it was some distance from the centre of Barcelona but had nearby transport facilities. If driving, it is a little tricky to find and there is very limited parking outside for loading and unloading. The hotel car park is a 5 or 10 minute walk away in an underground car park and costs a very reasonable 10 euro daily. A Metro station is quite close to the hotel and the nearest tour bus stop is about a 15 minute walk close to La Pedrera.

The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had some issues with our room on the first night but these were resolved quickly and efficiently the following morning.

We ate beakfast in the hotel every morning. The buffet is comprehensive and should suit all tastes. There is also a simpler, cheaper option of a coffee and pastry.

There is no communal sitting area in the hotel but there is a small, open terrace on the 9th floor.

There are many restaurants and bars within a 10 to 15 minute walk particularly on the other side of Avinguda Diagonal.

Overall it is good value for money and would recommend this hotel to friends and would not hesitate to stay there again on any future visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davierj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We weren't sure what to expect, as it was our first time to Spain, and don't speak Spanish! On arrival, we were greeted warmly by Francesco and he was very helpful throughout the stay. our room was clean, as was the bathroom, with nice toiletries for the price. The air conditioning unit works well, and the blackout curtains were essential, given the sunshine. The safe was a good added touch, given the reputation of Barcelona. We had 2 single beds pushed together, which we'd heard was the Spanish custom. It actually worked very well as it meant I didn't overheat during the night. Our room overlooked a church, and I was initially concerned we'd hear the bells ringing all night, but the windows kept most of the noise out. We had decided to book the breakfast in advance, despite not great reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were pleasantly surprised. There was a good selection of items, and it kept us going all day. The roof terrace is a lovely new addition, and also gives you the opportunity to meet other guests. We were more than able to walk from the Hotel into the city centre although the metro and bus are very close by. There are also plenty of supermarkets nearby. I recommend the one around the side of the hotel...friendlier and cheaper than those across the road. Barcelona itself is a beautiful city, although the Catalan people can take some getting used to. If we ever come again, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor, and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedDivaExmouth_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionViaAugusta, Manager at Hotel Via Augusta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear RedDiva,

We are grateful your comment. It is important for us because you are a Senior Reviewer for Tripadvisors.

We try to help our customers to have a nice stay in our city.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DireccionViaAugusta, Manager at Hotel Via Augusta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in september, 2012.
The hotel is small, simple but clean.
We had a double room that combined with two single beds, not what we expected but it was ok for us.
The staff were helpful for gave us trip advises(city map, restaurants, supermarket...). The area was safe and not far from the attractions, we went to casa batllo and casa Milan by 15-20 mins happy walk, the street view walk by was beautiful and enjoyable.you can also take the metro to everywhere, it's very close to the hotel(3~5mins).
Overall, it was a good stay that match our expectation with the price(45 euro for one night), we may come back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelynChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Clean and big room and bathroom. Located in the middle of Barca, 15 mins from pl. Catalunya and La Rambla by bus. Metro and bus station next to hotel 5 min walk. Good breakfast. Vending machines available at reception, coffee, tea, soft drinks, and snacks. 2 supermarkets very close. Helpful staff. Good value. Sone construction in the street was finished in our last day but some construction in hotel remained bringing some noise after 11 am.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionViaAugusta, Manager at Hotel Via Augusta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on your recent experience.

And we are very proud that you enjoy our breakfast buffet!!

About the noise construction, we apologize for the inconveniences caused by the renewal we are doing on 3rd floor. We finish it in 2 weeks. We start to work at 11:00h. because we try to minimize the noise to our customers, but unfortunately we have checked that in your case it was not enough. We are very sorry!!

But it is very nice to check that in spite of everything, your stay in our hotel has been comfortable and that we help you to enjoy your stay in Barcelona.

See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed here a while back while on a tour of Europe and this was one of the best places we stayed. The rooms were a bit small, but nicely updated and close to the metro. The overall ambience is very pleasing. Front desk staff were very helpful, especially when my cousin's luggage got lost and had to be delivered to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PittsburghChels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel was excellent, the breakfast really set one up for the morning.Our room was spacious and clean and although overlooking the main road once we shut the window very quiet.

One must be careful of pickpockets I am sure everyone knows this but they can take you unawares especially on the busy metro.Don't let the lowlifes steal your hard earned cash.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpio1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Pol & Grace Hotel
#64 of 515 in Barcelona
1,083 reviews
Amrey Sant Pau
#231 of 515 in Barcelona
733 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#183 of 515 in Barcelona
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#222 of 515 in Barcelona
1,182 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#177 of 515 in Barcelona
825 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#212 of 515 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Via Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Augusta

Address: Via Augusta 63, 08006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#102 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#146 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £42 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Via Augusta 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to Gracia FGC Train Station, Hotel Via Augusta has a rooftop terrace with views of Barcelona. It offers functional, air conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen satellite TV.The Via Augusta is a historic building with a beautiful original foyer. Rooms have simple, modern decor and hardwood floors. They include a work desk, a safe and a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied breakfast buffet is served in the hotel, and drinks are available from the vending machine. A wide range of bars and restaurants can be found in the popular Gracia district, within a 5-minute walk.Hotel Via Augusta is 1300 ft from Fontana Metro Station, and Parc Guell is just 1 Metro stop away. Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas are a 5-minute ride from nearby Gracia Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Via Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Via Augusta Hotel
Via Augusta Barcelona
Hotel Via Augusta Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing