We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Via Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Via Augusta
Ranked #182 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and it was great for sightseeing. Train station less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Walked to Las Ramblas a few times, took approx 20 minutes. Room was basic, but clean and a god size. A good base for a city break and you're never far from a good restaurant in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights solo in a single room. Room had everything I needed, bed, safe, desk, chair, air con, en suite with bath tub, massive mirror and a TV.

The room was clean, tidy, the service woman came every day to make the bed and top up toiletries. One thing I didn't like they didn't provide toothpaste. I was under the impression Hotels would provide that..but oh well. Went to the local supermarket and got me some.

Location was good, 5min walk from the metro station, 3 stations down to the city centre. Or you could even walk to some attractions, 15-20mins walk away. Barcelona is a great city to walk in!

The area around the hotel had a few bars, shops, banks and restaurants too. I think it was a good location, as it wasn't in the city so not that expensive, but close enough to easily get into the city!

Staff were very nice and friendly, upon arrival they gave me a city map and explained some basic stuff to me.

There was a breakfast buffet in the morning too you had to pay for, although I never had breakfast there as I didn't wake up by 10.30am!

All in all, great value for money and I had no problems!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RegKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Via Augusta in Barcelona and had a fantastic stay. The staff is extremely warm and welcoming and were always happy to answer any questions we had or provide recommendations of places to eat and things to do. The rooms were very spacious and spotless as was the washroom. The only criticism I have was the mattresses...not the most comfortable. The closest metro station (Gracia) is steps away and you are two stops from Catalunya which is where the Rambla starts. There are two 24 hour convenience stores within two blocks of the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a pleasant stay of 8 days in this hotel. Our room (606) was big enough, with a spacious bathroom with bath-tub just as we had requested. The room was very clean.
The airco was noisy so we didn't use it but left the window open. I can imagine this can be a problem in summer when temperature is much higher.
Because they made a mistake with the room (we had booked twin but we got a double) we had to change rooms after the first night, but that was compensated with free breakfasts during our stay. The breakfast was good and basic. Staff was very friendly.
Location is very good, within walking distance from the Gracia neighborhood with pleasant squares and nice restaurants. The hotel is a few steps from Gracia metro station. This is a FGC station, with the same tarif and ticket system as the other metro-system TMB. The Fontana metro station (TMB) is a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeminoril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Constanta, Romania
1
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel location: very close to downtown and tourist attractions - 15-20 min walk, located on a main thoroughfare of Barcelona near the train station FGC Gracia and at 300-400 m metro station Fontana.
Cleanliness - very good, they do every day and with responsibility
Camera: clean and fine for a holiday in Barcelona when you walk all day to visit. Cam small and minimally furnished - there is a hanger in the room (if you come fall or winter have nowhere to hang a coat or an umbrella) - there was only one wardrobe
Also in the bathroom does not have a rack where you put your clothes when you're naked ....
We stayed on the 9th floor without balcony overlooking back - we had a good view considering that I saw and Torre Agbar and Sagrada sea. If we had stayed at a lower level (<7) was not very good because I was in a gang for ventilation.
Service - very good, staff great, friendly and cordial throughout the stay.
Breakfast - not vary much from day to day but very rich enough for a morning meal.

Conclusion: if I return to Barcelona, ​​I will return to Hotel Via Augusta

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with fru.pl
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It's a nice hotel to stay in Barcelona. It's located in a quiet "barrio" but Fontana metro station is 300 meters far, and in a couple of stops you may be in the centre of the city. The single room is a bit small but clean, the personnel is very friendly, helpful and kind. Breakfast is well provided and is even possible to have espresso coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This a very nice 2-star hotel, not in a business centre, but quite close to Pak Guell. Just 4-minutes walk from Fontana metro station (green line L3), it offers perfect oppornity for easy access to any metro. Single rooms are quite small, but very clean. Personnel is very friendly. Breakfast was in fact very nice for a 2-star hotel.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with s street view. but not interal yard view:).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _293948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Pol & Grace Hotel
#61 of 518 in Barcelona
1,172 reviews
Amrey Sant Pau
#252 of 518 in Barcelona
738 reviews
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#213 of 518 in Barcelona
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#174 of 518 in Barcelona
624 reviews
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#215 of 518 in Barcelona
1,204 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#183 of 518 in Barcelona
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Via Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Augusta

Address: Via Augusta 63, 08006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#146 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £38 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Via Augusta 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to Gracia FGC Train Station, Hotel Via Augusta has a rooftop terrace with views of Barcelona. It offers functional, air conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen satellite TV.The Via Augusta is a historic building with a beautiful original foyer. Rooms have simple, modern decor and hardwood floors. They include a work desk, a safe and a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied breakfast buffet is served in the hotel, and drinks are available from the vending machine. A wide range of bars and restaurants can be found in the popular Gracia district, within a 5-minute walk.Hotel Via Augusta is 1300 ft from Fontana Metro Station, and Parc Guell is just 1 Metro stop away. Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas are a 5-minute ride from nearby Gracia Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Via Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Via Augusta Hotel
Via Augusta Barcelona
Hotel Via Augusta Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing