We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
annReading_UK
Reading, United Kingdom

Barcelona break in the Gothic Quarter

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 May 2024via mobile
Lovely little hotel in a great location - for us anyway! Loads of superb tapas options on the doorstep: Petit Tapas directly opposite just one recommendation. Staff were friendly and professional. Bedroom was comfy and reasonable size for Barca. Only problem is the plumbing, which has to push down the rating. Bathroom was nicely fitted and decorated. However, smell from the shower drain was very whiffy: we ran the shower on and off through the day and left the extractor fan running. The toilet also seized up twice and wouldn't flush. On reporting this to reception we received immediate service - but needs to be fixed. Sort out the plumbing and I would be very happy to return as overall we had a very enjoyable stay 😊
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Short walk from the nearest metro. We took the excellent Airport Bus (strongly recommended) to...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Dueño at Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic, responded to this review
Responded 20 May 2024
Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you have spent in giving us your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are glad to know that your experience in our Hotel was positive and has met your expectations.
Thank you for sharing those things you think we can improve in our Hotel, I have already taken note of them in order to improve our guests experience in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you decide to come back to Barcelona.
Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£185
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £179
  • Skyscanner.com
    £165
  • Expedia.com
    £179
0.5 miles from Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic
Free Wifi
Pool
£163
  • Expedia.com
    £191
  • Vio.com
    £146
  • Hotels.com
    £191
0.3 miles from Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic
Free Wifi
£148
  • Booking.com
    £148
  • StayForLong
    £142
  • Hotels.com
    £148
1.2 miles from Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic
Free Wifi
Pool
£153
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £151
  • Agoda.com
    £126
  • Hotels.com
    £153
1.7 miles from Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic
Free Wifi
Pool
£100
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Agoda.com
    £87
  • Hotels.com
    £109
1.7 miles from Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Salón
£206
  • Expedia.com
    £136
  • Skyscanner.com
    £129
  • Hotels.com
    £216
1.6 miles from Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Lights of Gracia Bar & Restaurant at Generator Barcelona
£114
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £114
  • Vio.com
    £68
  • Expedia.com
    £113
1.6 miles from Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£140
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £147
  • Vio.com
    £64
  • Expedia.com
    £140
1.0 miles from Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic
Bar/Lounge
£322
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £322
  • Skyscanner.com
    £253
  • Hotels.com
    £322
0.8 miles from Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic
Pool
Room service
£349
Book direct and Save
  • travelup.com
    £422
  • Skyscanner.com
    £349
  • Agoda.com
    £438
0.4 miles from Hesperia Barcelona Barri Gòtic
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Barcelona
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveller rating
455
406
109
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
455
406
109
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gothic quarter nice hotel central location euros bakery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2024 via mobile

We have stayed here many times before but it just keeps getting worse each time. I had booked a superior room with balcony and the paperwork we were given at check in said superior room…..no balcony. Air conditioning didnt work either.
Woman at front Desk insisted there was a balcony. So we went back upstairs and took a photo to prove there was no balcony.
Then the lady said that because we had upgraded our room they were not notified. So the next day they moved us to the correct room.
Now here is the thing….they received the $$ amount for the superior room with balcony, it was on our receipt as type of room. By insisting the room we were first allocated was the correct room we felt like we were being intentionally misled.
The first room we had stains on the carpet and it smelt BAD, no a/c, no balcony. We paid extra for THAT room. I asked about a refund on type of room and they just fobbed me off and told me to go to booking.com.
We did have future bookings at this hotel but have now cancelled them all. We will never stay here again as we view this whole thing in a bad light

Room tip: Dont stay here
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Reculvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a surprise for my boyfriend’s 30th birthday for a long weekend.
The location is great! In walking distance of everything, especially close to the marina and gothic quarter but las ramblas also only a matter of minutes away. Our room was spotless every day and staff were super kind and helpful; I emailed the staff ahead of time and they were understanding and accommodating of the nature of the surprise (multiple rooms booked) and made every effort to ensure my partner did not know we had other rooms booked. They even left him a little cake and a printed birthday message on his birthday (which was a lovely gesture).
We did not have breakfast.
I would 100% return here.

Room tip: Uber drivers did not seem to want to drop off / pick up directly outside the hotel. Taxis bookable via hotel and airport 20 mins away
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 10 April 2024

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our Hotel Hesperia Barri Gòtic.
We are glad to know that the overall experience in our Hotel has your expectations. These types of comments allow us to improve our service every day and I will share your kind comments with the team.
We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Barcelona.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend. The room was small but clean. Shower and toilet area were a good size though. I’ve stayed in bigger , better hotels but you are paying for the location with this one. Right in the heart of the Gotic zone with all the good bars and restaurants. Also a handy shop across the road that is open all day and until late at night. I would stay here again but would upgrade my room for a bigger size next time.It always smelt clean in the hotel and the receptionists were really nice and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alexcB666CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 27 March 2024

Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you have spent in giving us your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are glad to know that your experience in our Hotel was positive and has met your expectations.
Thank you for sharing those things you think we can improve in our Hotel, I have already taken note of them in order to improve our guests experience in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you decide to come back to Barcelona.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

Nice clean hotel Tiny Balcony in room but good for brekkie or coffee and people watching Bit noisy outside at night but excellent double/triple glazing so room was quiet. You can buy a continental brekkie with plenty of food and tea and coffee and bring it to your room. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room 😋 Friendly Staff

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trish31pk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 March 2024

Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you have spent in giving us your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are glad to know that your experience in our Hotel was positive and has met your expectations.
Thank you for sharing those things you think we can improve in our Hotel, I have already taken note of them in order to improve our guests experience in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you decide to come back to Barcelona.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

Friendly receptionist. Very quiet hotel. Clean room and bathroom.
Crisp, starched sheets on a very comfortable bed. Big pillows.
Complementary large bottle of water each day, but no fridge in the room. There is a safe.
Location was fine for us (two male adults over for a match), at the southern edge of the rather grotty Barrio Gòtic. I’d look to stay somewhere else if travelling with my wife.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank pgbDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 30 January 2024

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our Hotel Hesperia Barri Gòtic.
We are glad to know that the overall experience in our Hotel has your expectations. These types of comments allow us to improve our service every day and I will share your kind comments with the team.
We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Barcelona.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews