We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Hotel With Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
Ranked #313 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Lovely clean hotel. Friendly helpful staff who speak English. Rooms are very clean with shower over bath, hairdryer and TV. There is a small fridge with drinks and chocolate which is chargeable. Good comfortable beds which are well made up each day. There is a small safe for valuables but you need a key from reception and there is a charge for this facility. Small drinks bar in reception with seating area. It has a restaurant which serves buffet style breakfast as well as evening meals if required. Small decking area at rear with leisure pool and jacuzzi. There are plenty of restaurants/cafés in the area within easy walking distance. Metro station at Sarria 500 metres away and bus stops within 20 metres. Buy a T10 ticket from metro station and this can be used for up to 10 journeys on public transport (metro/buses). It takes about an hour to walk to Placa Catalunya/ La Rambles,(10 mins by metro). Camp Nou 25 min walk and a 20min metro journey to Sagrada Familia, 25 min metro journey to Parc Montjuic (Olympic Park). Recommend and worth returning to.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Steve16588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga N, Gerente at Catalonia Mikado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your kind review with a great description of hotel's services. Please allow me a correction of information services,though: the safe is free of charge, the hotel requests a deposit that is returned on the last day of stay.Probably the person at the front desk did not explained it well.
I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay..
Thank you once again and I look forward to seeing you very soon.
Best regards from Barcelona.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

21-28 August 2013
Book the hotel through Venere for two adults and one child. On arrival to the hotel they said there was only a booking for two adults, it was only due to showing the hotel the booking confirmation that we had printed prior to travelling that we could show the hotel that we had booked for three persons. Due to this mishap made by Venere the hotel were very accomodating and allowed the child to stay for the cost of the holiay which they didn't have to do, due to it being Veneres fault. Venere were of no assistance in this situation and we were digusted in this as they were very helpful when we were booking. Never again will we book through this company and we'd advice other to take note. We would however stay at this hotel again due to the staff alone.
The hotel itself isnt central but its only 40 min to the beach and 30 min to the Rambles. The hotel staff are AMAZING and very helpful, for instance we had a 4.30am flight and the hotel arranged to have coffees ready for when we were leaving which was a god send at that time in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 815DanielleB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at the Catalonia Mikado and to be honest it wasn't too bad. Fell in love with the location (Bonanova), staff were friendly and service was nice. Food wasn't to bad. The room was quite small but had everything we needed. The swmming pool was nice and pleasant. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel and the buses are well connected to the main parts of Barcelona. However, there were a lot of noises from a group of people who were always loud, even when having breakfast and one of them knocked on my door around 1 a.m asking to opening it (obviously she got the wrong room), it was quite disturbing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mango_Maia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood. Close to Sarria metro/train station and buses running all day long right in front of the hotel. My room was clean. This is a small hotel with only few amenities but very convenient if you have business in the neighborhood. All 30 people coming with me were happy in this hotel even sharing rooms. The front desk people are very polite and always willing to help. I stayed here for a week and found it very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseAntonioRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

There was ash inside the side draw next to the bed. The tv turned on but wouldnt change channels by the buttons on it. None worked. Also the remote control was smashed to bits but placed back together for apperences but didnt work either. There where people screaming and shouting down the small halls all day long which made it very hard to sleep. The walls are so thin u can hear everything. They advertised a jacuzzi and sun loungers and we turned up to find brick work being laid, parts of decking removed and the jaccuzi closed as you cant acess it due to thia work. To top our stay off when i went to check out someone had charged our room for coffee from the bar downstairs. Far too over priced hotel. The reception is lovley but looks can be deceaving as thats the only part thats lovley..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank KIERAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The Hotel is conveniently located at 1/2 km from Sarria Station. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel. It is well connected to the City. The rooms are neat and clean and Staff are polite and helpful. They booked taxi for our travel back to airport & gave prompt wake-up calls. The restaurant is OK - not bad and not great either. Rooms have view to the road outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madhu73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniamikado, Director General at Catalonia Mikado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear guest,
We are so pleased with your comments in Trip Advisor. Thanks in advance for the time you spent in send it. It has a great value to use in order to improve our services every day. I hope you come back soon to our city and to our Hotel. You will be always more than welcome.
Kind Regards
Ale Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I have very good impressions from this hotel! Room was good and clean, maybe too small. Good breakfast and very nice location. Near hotel was good supermarket and shops. I have only 2 problems: wi-fi was free but connection was not good. And some nights was a little cold because it was windy from window. I would like especially said about staff - very friendly. I remember this hotel with very warm feelings.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank persejonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniamikado, Director General at Catalonia Mikado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guest is of the most importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and services.
Yours sincerely
Alex Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#306 of 515 in Barcelona
362 reviews
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
#319 of 515 in Barcelona
496 reviews
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
#397 of 515 in Barcelona
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
#221 of 515 in Barcelona
422 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Ibis Styles Barcelona City Bogatell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Mikado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Mikado Hotel

Address: Paseo Bonanova 58, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £53 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Mikado hotel is located in the centre of a residential, medical and business area of Barcelona. Clinica Dexeus, Teknon and the Ocular Microsurgery Institute are some of the prestigious medical centres in the area. If you would like to do some sightseeing we recommend the Tramvia Blau (Blue Tram), the Tibidabo amusement park and the Pedralbes Monastery Museum. The hotel offers other services such as a restaurant with exquisite Mediterranean cuisine, a coffee bar, parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalonia Mikado
Catalonia Mikado Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing