We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Stay in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
Ranked #318 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Pros:
-AC
-safe neighborhood
-Breakfast
-clean
-close metro stop/ bus stop
-WIFI
Cons:
-breakfast is a little pricey, but it does offer a lot
-a little far from "downtown" Barcelona, but if you do not want to worry about the night life ruining your sleep, this is a good choice.

Overall, this hotel was exactly what I wanted when I went to Barcelona for the first time. My friend that lived in Barcelona recommended this neighborhood because it is safe at night especially when I had to walk home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Mikado Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were able to check in early which was helpful for our trip. we upgraded the room for 20 euros. The room was lovely and spacious compared with other rooms we have stayed in other hotels in Barcelona. Location was ideal for us for our trip away from the tourist attractions though. Breakfast was excellent lovely choice and lovely food. I would definitely stay there again.



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The personnel and service was very bad! It is an ok place to stay, but the customer service is very bad, and would I not recommend this place or any other their hotels to anyone.
They really try to cheat tourist.
Rooms are very small, and people come in when you leave and unplug your electronics??
The breakfast space is depressing and the staff is over anxious and loud, making the breakfast experience bad. It is a long way from the center of where things happen. (restaurants and bars)
The "Jacuzzi" or hot tub is freezing cold?? The exterior sign of the building is falling apart, and has a huge chunk missing, as if it was part of a war? Really if a hotel can not keep up, the building I am wondering what else they are not keeping up???
Please do yourself a favor and stay closer to the center, in a place that has personnel that care to give good service.
I would not recommend this place to anyone(.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Lovely clean hotel. Friendly helpful staff who speak English. Rooms are very clean with shower over bath, hairdryer and TV. There is a small fridge with drinks and chocolate which is chargeable. Good comfortable beds which are well made up each day. There is a small safe for valuables but you need a key from reception and there is a charge for this facility. Small drinks bar in reception with seating area. It has a restaurant which serves buffet style breakfast as well as evening meals if required. Small decking area at rear with leisure pool and jacuzzi. There are plenty of restaurants/cafés in the area within easy walking distance. Metro station at Sarria 500 metres away and bus stops within 20 metres. Buy a T10 ticket from metro station and this can be used for up to 10 journeys on public transport (metro/buses). It takes about an hour to walk to Placa Catalunya/ La Rambles,(10 mins by metro). Camp Nou 25 min walk and a 20min metro journey to Sagrada Familia, 25 min metro journey to Parc Montjuic (Olympic Park). Recommend and worth returning to.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Steve16588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga N, Gerente at Catalonia Mikado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your kind review with a great description of hotel's services. Please allow me a correction of information services,though: the safe is free of charge, the hotel requests a deposit that is returned on the last day of stay.Probably the person at the front desk did not explained it well.
I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay..
Thank you once again and I look forward to seeing you very soon.
Best regards from Barcelona.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

21-28 August 2013
Book the hotel through Venere for two adults and one child. On arrival to the hotel they said there was only a booking for two adults, it was only due to showing the hotel the booking confirmation that we had printed prior to travelling that we could show the hotel that we had booked for three persons. Due to this mishap made by Venere the hotel were very accomodating and allowed the child to stay for the cost of the holiay which they didn't have to do, due to it being Veneres fault. Venere were of no assistance in this situation and we were digusted in this as they were very helpful when we were booking. Never again will we book through this company and we'd advice other to take note. We would however stay at this hotel again due to the staff alone.
The hotel itself isnt central but its only 40 min to the beach and 30 min to the Rambles. The hotel staff are AMAZING and very helpful, for instance we had a 4.30am flight and the hotel arranged to have coffees ready for when we were leaving which was a god send at that time in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 815DanielleB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at the Catalonia Mikado and to be honest it wasn't too bad. Fell in love with the location (Bonanova), staff were friendly and service was nice. Food wasn't to bad. The room was quite small but had everything we needed. The swmming pool was nice and pleasant. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel and the buses are well connected to the main parts of Barcelona. However, there were a lot of noises from a group of people who were always loud, even when having breakfast and one of them knocked on my door around 1 a.m asking to opening it (obviously she got the wrong room), it was quite disturbing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mango_Maia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood. Close to Sarria metro/train station and buses running all day long right in front of the hotel. My room was clean. This is a small hotel with only few amenities but very convenient if you have business in the neighborhood. All 30 people coming with me were happy in this hotel even sharing rooms. The front desk people are very polite and always willing to help. I stayed here for a week and found it very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseAntonioRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#308 of 513 in Barcelona
340 reviews
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
#226 of 513 in Barcelona
408 reviews
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
#414 of 513 in Barcelona
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
#322 of 513 in Barcelona
475 reviews
Vilana Hotel
#357 of 513 in Barcelona
115 reviews
Tres Torres Atiram Hotel
#340 of 513 in Barcelona
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Mikado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Mikado Hotel

Address: Paseo Bonanova 58, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £60 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Mikado hotel is located in the centre of a residential, medical and business area of Barcelona. Clinica Dexeus, Teknon and the Ocular Microsurgery Institute are some of the prestigious medical centres in the area. If you would like to do some sightseeing we recommend the Tramvia Blau (Blue Tram), the Tibidabo amusement park and the Pedralbes Monastery Museum. The hotel offers other services such as a restaurant with exquisite Mediterranean cuisine, a coffee bar, parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalonia Mikado
Catalonia Mikado Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing