We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect too much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Expo Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #340 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We only stayed at the Expo Hotel in Barcelona for our last night because our other hotel was fully booked. We booked it via the hotel tonight app and only paid a decent amount for it so our expectations weren't really high. If I had paid 80€ or so for it I would have been disappointed - the rooms are very old, no nice decoration, amenities or anything, an old TV etc. I would say that if you want to do sightseeing and only go there to sleep it's fine (even though very loud) but you don't want to stay in the room for too long.The view from our small balcony however was really nice and the staff during check-in was very very friendly.
Location: not at all in walking distance to main attractions however 1 minute to metro which brings you everywhere.

Room Tip: Great view from the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hTrinkewitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    1,037
    647
    269
    149
See reviews for
431
895
232
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Beautiful hotel with an excellent location. The staff is very attentive. It was a good experience. The location is central and you can easily scroll to places of interest.
The rooms are comfortable and with very good cleaning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enrique317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

When walking into the lobby I had the impression the rooms would be fantastic but sadly the decor didn't carry on up to the 5th floor. The bathroom and bedroom were both very clean but quite outdated. I'm not sure why the huge walk in wardrobe was necessary when there was only just enough space to fit the two single beds into the bedroom. The service and breakfast were both great though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortuFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for the Formula 1 in May 2014. Great location with the train station, bar and restaurants minutes stroll from the hotel. The metro station is also only a few minutes away and provides cheap efficient transport to the whole of Barcelona. Great place

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good Value for money hotel
Great location, airport train 5 minutes away.
Looks faded on outside, but very pleasant inside.
Friendly staff.
Functional, clean pleasant rooms.
Rooftop bar/pool; great views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingexBrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I should of checked the room before I payed but I had just got off the train at Sants and I was tired and this place was close by. I just walked off the street and they must of seen me coming.They charged me an arm and a leg for a single bed in a shoebox.Crap room in a crap hotel in a crap part of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This place suit all our needs, we were near transport, food, and shopping. The bed was comfortable, the linens were clean. The food in the restaurant was nice. When we checked in there was a slight mishap and we were given a bed with 2 twin beds, but quick call to reception resolved the situation and we were soon moved to a lovely room with a queen bed.

Room Tip: The rooms have lovely balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cebrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#190 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#111 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#262 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#91 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel Barcelona

Property: Expo Hotel Barcelona
Address: C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A functional 4* hotel providing the perfect balance between quality and price, its strategic location makes it the first choice for savvy urban travellers. It's right next to Sants Railway Station - the main transportation intersection of Barcelona - making it fast and easy to get into the city center, to the beach and reach any tourist attractions in town. The hotel is also only a 5-minute walk from the Fira exhibition grounds and close to popular tourist attractions such as the Olympic area of the Montjuic, Placa d'Espanya and Arenas shopping center. The hotel's 423 ample, functionally designed exterior-facing rooms offer free WiFi and have a terrace - for a fabulous view of the city. Whatever the reason of your stay, a guest assistant will be at your disposal to make any necessary adjustments to your accommodation. The cherry on top: A roof terrace restaurant serving delicious Hamburgers and a swimming pool with privileged views of Montjuic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expo Hoteles, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Expo Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing