We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, a must stay for a short trip to Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Expo Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #341 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, a must stay for a short trip to Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this great hotel for a weekend break in Barcelona. We arrived late around 1am, yet we were greeted pleasantly at the reception by receptionist, Antonio. He was very nice and very helpful, giving us information about the city, possible tours and providing us with maps and metro maps of the city. We stayed in a standard double room which was basic but very clean and comfortable with daily towel changes and room cleaning. We had a huge balcony which only overlooked the train station and streets but was still nice to relax in the sun. The hotel also offers a rooftop pool (beautiful views) and terrace bar (beautiful cocktails). The hotel itself is very clean and welcoming and while a bit far out to walk into the city centre (approx 40mins), the train (Sants estacio) and metro stations were a 2 minute walk from the hotel with very regular transport into the city. Be aware of metro finishing times however, as we were too late one night to catch the last metro/train and had to get a taxi (approx €9-€10). The hotel is also only a 20 minute train ride from the airport with very regular transfers, again be aware of train finishing times or be prepared to pay for taxi from the airport as we had to do (€25-€30 normally. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel and would definitely consider returning on our next visit to Barcelona.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor around the corner from the elevators-no noise,no hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    1,035
    646
    269
    148
See reviews for
430
895
232
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pune
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located near the Sants station where we arrived from Montpellier. The lobby looks very neat and nice and the you get a shock when you enter the room. This hotel must have been built for the Barcelona games and has probably not been redecorated since then. The TV set is from the 80s and the blankets on the bed were so old. The room and the bathroom was not clean and put you off and it was a challenge having a shower. Don't stay here if you can help it as the Sants station is connected by the local metro service to other parts of Barcelona so it is not necessary to stay near the station. We stayed just one night on our way to Madrid and that was one night too long.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PunePeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Excellent hotel, very close to Sants station and so easy access for airport. I use this hotel when travelling from the Costa Brava resorts, and wanting to stay in Barcelona for a day before flying home as it is a great central city location but easy to get train to airport. Great value for the money and will happily accommodate any special needs such as early check-in. Staff all very pleasant and receptiion staff speak English which is very helpful.

Top notch hotel and would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Expo Hotel Barcelona was great value and high quality throughout. The location is ideal, perfect. The staff are very welcoming, useful and eager to help in anyway - we were given lots of suggestions about our stay in Barcelona e.g. tourist sites, best times to visit each site, how to get there, use of the Metro train systems, and what to look out for or avoid. In reality we would have expected a lot less for what we paid so it was great value for money, top quality for pretty cheap price (we did book last minute so probably helped with price). Food excellent, would recommend breakfast buffet at very least...good quality, plenty choice and refreshed promptly. Not a huge choice for dinners/lunches (though good quality) but presume most would want to eat out each night as we did. Would recommend to anyone. By the way, try to get a balcony room as we did, excellent views across the city, if not then the view from the roof terrace bar and swimming pool is priceless.

Room Tip: Balcony room recommended, small balcony but the view was outstanding (from 7th floor anyway), perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My daughter and I booked this hotel with a flight online prior to which we read reviews. We were celebrating Sally's graduation and new job and wanted to explore Barcelona's art, architecture, galleries, FC Barcelona, Olympic stadium et al from this location. We weren't disappointed.
The hotel is centrally located for Barcelona Sants, main station of the city making it easy to tour north, south, east and west should you wish.
Apart from being overwhelmed with Barcelona's beauty - I thought I was in Florence at times - the welcome we received and continued attention and professionalism and real eagerness to help us from the hotel staff was amazing. I would like to name everyone but only have a few names such as Teo on reception, a lovely man with warmth, energy and a real knowledge of his role, Alvaro Joarez, an English teaching barman who we first met at the rooftop bar, again a credit to the hotel, the gorgeous young Bellboy - don't like the term but that's what he was called who was also knowledgeable and SO helpful and calm despite being very busy, another young man from reception who printed off our email bookings for us, the older barman on level three who again was always smiling and working hard, the chambermaid who got us slippers for our swimming pool foray on the roof.............I could go on. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and I would certainly stay there again. What a difference happy, knowledgeable, courteous and caring staff make to one's stay. The breakfast by the way with delicious and exotic fresh fruit, cereals of all types, croissants, cakes, rolls, hams, cheeses, all types of eggs, bacon, beans, mushrooms, peppers, yogurts, fizzy water, plain water, fruit juice of every hue and all kinds of tea and coffee............sure I've missed something out but sets one up for the day and the view whilst eating is so interesting. The roof terrace provides a stunning panoramic view of Montjuic, MNAC (a must), Olympic stadium, Morman Foster's tower, Joan Miro's park and sculpture, the mountains et all.
Loved it all. Thank you Hotel Barcelona and all the lovely people we met in Barcelona. We will be back!
Rita and Sally (Newman)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Reet594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

It is my first time to barcelona for business trip. With the 4star sign, my colleague and I (wish) will get a perfect hotel for whole week. It's near from placa espanya and easy to get here. When we arrived, the reception area is very pop. The officer also friendly.
We went to 5th floor with a dream of having a good rest after 15 hours flight from Indonesia. But then you know what??? The room is so terrible. It has old tube television, cheap old blanket, incomplete shower stuffs, no kettle, no slipper, no proper walking closet, no hair dryer, and many less facilities.
It's really not worth to pay 155euro.

Next time I will not stay in expo unless they renovate the rooms

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank elvina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here with my brother recently when we were in Barcelona for the Grand Prix. It's ideally located for such an agent due to it's proximity to the central train station, Barca Sants (4min walk).
The staff were very friendly, the rooms were quiet and clean. I have deducted 1 star due to the fact that the pool opening hours were only 11am-5pm. Understand, these are 'winter' opening hours, but Barca doesn't have a winter in May. Due to the GP being on the hotel was fully booked - another reason to extend the pool hours.
Would recommend, however if I was looking for a more romantic stay I would pick a hotel close to the city with more charm.

Room Tip: Free wifi throughout the hotel is great and a relief for foreign travellers. Awesome rooftop bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamienO710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#189 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#111 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#259 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#94 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel Barcelona

Property: Expo Hotel Barcelona
Address: C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A functional 4* hotel providing the perfect balance between quality and price, its strategic location makes it the first choice for savvy urban travellers. It's right next to Sants Railway Station - the main transportation intersection of Barcelona - making it fast and easy to get into the city center, to the beach and reach any tourist attractions in town. The hotel is also only a 5-minute walk from the Fira exhibition grounds and close to popular tourist attractions such as the Olympic area of the Montjuic, Placa d'Espanya and Arenas shopping center. The hotel's 423 ample, functionally designed exterior-facing rooms offer free WiFi and have a terrace - for a fabulous view of the city. Whatever the reason of your stay, a guest assistant will be at your disposal to make any necessary adjustments to your accommodation. The cherry on top: A roof terrace restaurant serving delicious Hamburgers and a swimming pool with privileged views of Montjuic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Expo Hoteles, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Expo Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing