We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Expo Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #341 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Value, very friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had 3 nights at the Expo and I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Barca. A few places of interest in walking distance (museum of catalan art, large shopping centre, loads of restaurants) but only a 2min walk to Train/Metro station that takes you just about anywhere in Barca (including the beach, sagrada famillia, las ramblas) in 10 - 20 mins.

Staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. We asked to change our rooms on check in for a better view and this was handled with minimum fuss and quickly.

The bar and pool on the roof of the hotel was a nice touch offering nice views while sipping a reasonably priced beer as far as hotels go (€4).

Our board was bed and breakfast and there was a decent selection of good quality food and drinks available.

Can't fault it.

Room Tip: try and get the 9th floor for quick and easy access to the rooftop bar/pool area. east side generall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaveSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear JaveSingh,

First of all, thank you so much for choose Expo Hotel Barcelona. We are more glad to know that your experience with us was great.

Thank you for sharing your comments, we really look forward on welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Marta Roca
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    1,037
    647
    269
    149
See reviews for
431
895
232
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here recently for 11 nights and was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews. Turns out, the hotel was fine for our needs. We wanted a decent pool (open 10am - 8pm in summer) and sun lounging area, which they had and there was no shortage of towels/sunbeds. Pity the weather let us down, as we had a few days where it was overcast which I was surprised at for the end of June.

Nice bar on rooftop. A glass of wine and a medium beer will cost you €7 (which you can also order by the pool from the attendant), so it's not too expensive. They do a range of burgers (priced around €10) which are delicious. We did not breakfast in the hotel. There were cafes close-by where it was around €4.80 for two coffees and toast (we are not big breakfast eaters).

The supermarket, Mercadona is close-by, ask for directions at reception. Most bottles of wine were only €1.80, up to €5 for Torres Vina Sol. We could fit 2 bottles of white wine in our mini-bar, as well as juice and small water bottles, without removing any of the hotel items (it's a fun challenge!)

Wi-fi is super in this hotel and free.

As per other reviews, you do not need to keep a room key in the wall port for the fridge to stay on - it stays on all the time, it just takes a little longer to chill items, so stick your wine in the fridge in the morning, for a chilled glass that evening (or ask for ice from the roof bar).

Also, re keeping your phone charged while out and about, just ask for a second key at reception to keep the electricity on.

Re, having no furniture on balcony, we lifted out the chair and also the side table and put a cushion on it, so that we could both enjoy the views of the fountain in the evening.

Beds are comfy and rooms are quiet and neither of us woke any morning until 10am (which is a first!).

If I came back to Barcelona again I would stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the fountain as otherwise you will be looking into flats
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieRambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear RosieRambles,

I would like to personally thank you for the nice comment and for taking the time to post a comment on Tripadvisor about Expo Hotel Barcelona.

It´s a pleasure to know that our hotel has reached your expectation during your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Marta Roca
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a brilliant 5 night stay here. The front desk staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us We asked for a room with a view of the mountain and this was no problem. The room was large and modern, and spotlessly clean. The bed was really comfortable and we had a great view of the mountain, and the station forecourt which was great for people watching from the balcony.

It was around a 40 minute to La Ramblas, but this suited us fine as it was much nicer being in a less touristy area.

Breakfast was really good value, with a big selection and the rooftop pool was great for cooling off after walking around all day.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the station and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Chris,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with rest of the tripadvisor users.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Expo Hotel Barcelona.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

King regards,

Marta Roca
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is my 2nd time stay at the same hotel, hotel is close to Barcelon Train station, very convenient to get there, can get the train directly from the airport to the train station then take 5-10 mins walking to the hotel, metro station is close to the hotel so it is easy to acess to all tourist area.
Breakfast is ok in general but not sure if we were in the peak moment so the food seems not enough & the re-fill of the food was slow that the hotel need to make improvement on it. Other than that, the hotel is very good & we definitely will stay here again on my next travel to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Try not to stay the room near at the end of the corridor, it is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Catherine,

We would like to thank you for your comments. We are very glad to know that you had a nice stay.

we want to apologize for the inconveniences on the breakfast, during your stay. We take notes of your comments because they help us to improve.

We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Marta Roca
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My first stay in Barcelona and what a great hotel to pick. Staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable, I would certainly stay here again. It's a little way out of the centre of the city, but with Tarragona metro and Estacio Sants just around the corner it couldn't be easier to get about the city. Superb!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthewfisher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mr Fisher,

We really appreciate your positive comments about Expo Hotel Barcelona.

We are more than glad your overall experince at our hotel was great!

We hope of welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Marta Roca
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

a good budget hotel with all basic amenities and very well located near landmarks like olympic stadium and musical fountain..a nice park close by..has a nice terrace top pool and a terrace restaurant with a good view to the entire city. rooms are bit small but like most european hotels. good value hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishaygupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mr Gupta,

First of all, thank you very much for your comments and thank you for sharing.

We are very glad to know that you had a nices stay.

We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Marta Roca
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Staff were wonderful, very helpful. The hotel has a good location close to Tube and Buses and a reasonably easy walk to Port Vell. Breakfasts were well stocked with lots of choice. We loved to upstairs pool and bar area. The only improvement needed was more attention to be paid to the up keep of the pool deck. Furniture was a little tired looking and some seats were broken. Also could do with some parasols. Very handy having a tourist office near reception enabling the purchase of tickets to all attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comment with the rest of the tripadvisor users. We really appreciate your suggestions and we have shared your comments, the costumer´s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve.

We really hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon in our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,607 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#192 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#111 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#260 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#90 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel Barcelona

Property: Expo Hotel Barcelona
Address: C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A functional 4* hotel providing the perfect balance between quality and price, its strategic location makes it the first choice for savvy urban travellers. It's right next to Sants Railway Station - the main transportation intersection of Barcelona - making it fast and easy to get into the city center, to the beach and reach any tourist attractions in town. The hotel is also only a 5-minute walk from the Fira exhibition grounds and close to popular tourist attractions such as the Olympic area of the Montjuic, Placa d'Espanya and Arenas shopping center. The hotel's 423 ample, functionally designed exterior-facing rooms offer free WiFi and have a terrace - for a fabulous view of the city. Whatever the reason of your stay, a guest assistant will be at your disposal to make any necessary adjustments to your accommodation. The cherry on top: A roof terrace restaurant serving delicious Hamburgers and a swimming pool with privileged views of Montjuic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expo Hoteles, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Expo Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing