We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, nice view (buenisimo el hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Expo Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #341 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, nice view (buenisimo el hotel)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel staff were kind and helpful. Overall, great atmosphere and good location. I recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to stay at a very affordable and chill place. ( Buen servicio, con personal muy amable. Lo recomiendo a quien desea una buena estadia)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest

First of all, thank you so much for your comment. I am very happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you again to Expo hotel Barcelona in the future.

Best Regards,

Marta Roca
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    1,037
    647
    269
    149
See reviews for
431
895
232
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benissa, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Chosen for location for a 2 night break on train journey from London To Alicante. Arrived at 9 p.m quickly checked in and then had drinks and bite to eat on roof terrace...stunning! 9th floor room was great 2 balconies, one off of the bathroom which was fun! Great breakfast sets you up for a day of sightseeing! Easy to use and clean Metro walking distance to Magic Fountains and there is a shopping centre on the way that has roof top restaurants . Friendly staff in all areas of hotel .Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diavola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Diavola

First of all, thank you very much for choose Expo Hotel Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was great.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Marta Roca
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Lacklustre? Mediocre? Underwhelming? Can't I just stick with plain old 'crappy'?!

My first experiences with Hotel Expo weren't so bad - the lobby was large, clean and modern, the reception staff were friendly, professional and accommodating - they'd even stored my bag for 4 days before I arrived. It was like some great big practical joke... A huge tease, like tempting a biggest loser contestant with calorie-free chocolate and then snatching it away whilst saying "Gotcha!!!"

Firstly, the room. I'd paid for an upgrade to an Executive room at checkin so I was quite looking forward to a spacious, tasteful and functional space. What greeted me was a room that looked like it hadn't been renovated (or cleaned) since 1985.

The walls were a discoloured shade that comes with years of previous human habitation, the bed also reflected its heritage as a workbench for swarms of humanity- it was thin, lifeless and on a slight angle (like an old athlete with a limp). Even the bed coverings were enough to make one want to disgorge their breakfast- whoever decided on royal purple bed spread matched with shiny olive green cushions should be shot (or at least severely spanked).

There was no minibar list, no list of numbers for receptions etc, no 'do not disturb' sign for the door and as I entered the bathroom, evidence of previous occupation became evident- the bottle of complimentary conditioner had been partially used and not replaced by housekeeping, the floor was dirty and there was even an old hair tie (obviously left by a previous occupant) on the floor.

Now I'm not sure about you, but when I enter a hotel room the last thing I want to be reminded of is the millions of people who have been there before me... Just saying.

Oh, and did I mention the entrance door had been damaged? I looked as though it had been jimmied at some point from the inside (no doubt by a previous victim who had taken one look at the room and desperately tried to make a run for it), there was rust on the bathtub and the upholstery job on the chair in the corner looked though it had been carried out by someone both blind and arthritic (and probably poor too... What ever happened to good taste in hotel rooms?!)

I contacted the duty manager about my concerns and she was kind enough to send up a maid to reclean the the floor of the bathroom and provide us with a minibar list (3 euro for a small bottle of water- are they INSANE?). Although this was a very thoughtful and cost effective (translation: cheap) way for the hotel to potentially solve the problem with our room, it clearly wasn't satisfactory. Hence the review.

Personally, I probably would have offered another room and maybe a personal apology. But thats just me, and I've been trained in good customer service... And worked in the travel industry for 10 years.... But enough of that.

Would I recommend the Hotel Expo to my fellow travellers and industry contacts? Absolutely. But ask to sleep in the lobby... And don't eat breakfast there.... And, well...

I take it back.... Stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Ebonyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Worcester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We chose this hotel for its location, close to Sants railway station and suitable for everywhere we intended to visit during our stay.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, but you cannot overcome problems in the hotel with just this!
Our first room was pleasant, but smelled strongly of smoke ( all rooms are nonsmoking they told me). When we asked if we could change, that was not a problem, so we moved to another room, two floors up.
Once we settled into this room - fresh smelling- we discovered that the bathroom was mankey! Mould all round the bath, two holes in the bath and generally grubby.
We reported the holes in the bath and were offered yet another room, but by this stage, we thought we would just put up with it!
Reasonably priced, but the dining room was lacking any atmosphere, so we had breakfast in a little cafe just over the road, which was great value and full of atmosphere.
The hotel really needs refurbishment, and we would not consider staying again unless this was done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very close to railway station making it very easy to get into city.

Make sure you come out the 'Main' exit as then you will see the hotel as you look up.
Otherwise you end up walking around the station complex.

Hotel is clean, efficient and helpful staff.

The very best thing was the exceptional BREAKFAST.
Great variety that accommodated vegetarians and meat eaters alike.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Rab S,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We really look forward to hear from you soon.

Regards,

Marta Roca
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, was a bit noisy, but we go to bed by 11....so that's expected. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Lots of places to eat across the street. Paid extra for " upgrade" room....not sure what was the upgrade..pretty standard room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Norm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about us, it is always greatly appreciated. we want to apologize for the inconveniences during your stay with us. We take notes of your comments because they help us to improve our service.

Thank you again for your review.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had 3 nights at the Expo and I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Barca. A few places of interest in walking distance (museum of catalan art, large shopping centre, loads of restaurants) but only a 2min walk to Train/Metro station that takes you just about anywhere in Barca (including the beach, sagrada famillia, las ramblas) in 10 - 20 mins.

Staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. We asked to change our rooms on check in for a better view and this was handled with minimum fuss and quickly.

The bar and pool on the roof of the hotel was a nice touch offering nice views while sipping a reasonably priced beer as far as hotels go (€4).

Our board was bed and breakfast and there was a decent selection of good quality food and drinks available.

Can't fault it.

Room Tip: try and get the 9th floor for quick and easy access to the rooftop bar/pool area. east side generall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaveSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear JaveSingh,

First of all, thank you so much for choose Expo Hotel Barcelona. We are more glad to know that your experience with us was great.

Thank you for sharing your comments, we really look forward on welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Marta Roca
Directora General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,609 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#192 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#111 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#260 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#90 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel Barcelona

Property: Expo Hotel Barcelona
Address: C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A functional 4* hotel providing the perfect balance between quality and price, its strategic location makes it the first choice for savvy urban travellers. It's right next to Sants Railway Station - the main transportation intersection of Barcelona - making it fast and easy to get into the city center, to the beach and reach any tourist attractions in town. The hotel is also only a 5-minute walk from the Fira exhibition grounds and close to popular tourist attractions such as the Olympic area of the Montjuic, Placa d'Espanya and Arenas shopping center. The hotel's 423 ample, functionally designed exterior-facing rooms offer free WiFi and have a terrace - for a fabulous view of the city. Whatever the reason of your stay, a guest assistant will be at your disposal to make any necessary adjustments to your accommodation. The cherry on top: A roof terrace restaurant serving delicious Hamburgers and a swimming pool with privileged views of Montjuic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expo Hoteles, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Expo Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing