We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel if you are travelling from Sants Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Expo Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #334 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our first stay at the Expo hotel - we wanted to be near to Sants station and it is only a few minutes away. The check in was quick and they told us that we'd booked a standard room but they were all taken so they upgraded us. The room was long and narrow with 2 single beds. It was gleaming clean with real marble floors and as such really cold to walk on. The bathroom was marble too with a shower over the bath. We prefer a walk in shower. It had a very dated TV with I think 2 English language channels. We had a balcony but there was no furniture on it. The hotel is fine but it really could do with updating. We had a good breakfast for just under €9 each. Very good value - choice of juice, cereals, cold meats and cheese, hot breakfast dishes, fruit and cakes. The coffee machine was playing up and no one got what they asked it for! There is a roof top bar and a pool on a higher roof. Spectacular views too! No shade around the pool - so extremely hot! All in all a good hotel. It is also very close to a public park where you can see ordinary Spaniards going about their daily life.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 2,882 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

+++ Exsellent , friendly staff. Multi language, helpfull. Gave à lot of information of the city off Barcelona. Value for money, good breakfast. Clean rooms. Hotel is near the station and near the fontains.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimmersPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We recently stayed in the Expo Hotel in Barcelona, Spain. The hotel is conveniently located within 5 minutes walking distance of the Barcelona Sants train station. The staff speak English. They are friendly, and very helpful. The staff will help with tickets for events, maps, anything.The room was very clean. There were families and elderly couples at the hotel so we knew it was able to deal with all sorts of issues. We had the express breakfast which is basically coffee, croissant and juice, which suited us fine. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Although this hotel does have a slightly dated decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just back from 4 nights here, having read the reviews of it.
Great location just across from Sants station, which is destination for airport train and is major Metro hub. (Metro tickets easy to buy - just choose your language on the machine - and the system is slick and modern.)
Yes, rooms slightly dated and basic but they are clean and functional. Great buffet breakfast for E8.75, helpful staff and good rooftop pool area. All rooms seem to have a balcony , so you can sit out and watch the frenzy of activity outside.
Overall, this is a good base for a sightseeing trip and I would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UKtravellersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent value for your money, the rooftop bar had an amazing vieuw just like our room. Beds were comfortable for Spanish understandings.
The staff is more then friendly and the breakfast was extremely good!
The restaurant was okay, but not as good as the breakfast.
If I have to name one thing for critique, it would be the price of drinks on the rooftop bar. I paid less for a cocktail on the Barcelona beach then at the hotel.
That being said, everything else was absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaExpo, Director General at Expo Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Petra

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post a comment to Expo Hotel Barcelona. We value our guests and their personalized experience.

We take notes about your suggestions. We really look forward to hear from you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is very well situated, the building is impresive, the breakfast is good and the swiming pool is great (one of the better views from Barcelona)....BUT, the rooms are from 70's (furniture, decoration, matress, pillows even the bed sheets are from those days) and there is a really bad smell in all of them. They need an urgent update of the hotel (i will not consider it as a 4 star hotel)

Room Tip: Try to ask for a "premium room" (extra charge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALFONSO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I got this hotel as mystery hotel offer on lastminute.com and was disappointed to read the reviews as most said it was dated and not so nice. However, our room was nice and spacious with flat screen TV and balcony. I was missing having tea making facilities but only because I had to stay an evening in the room while my toddler was sleeping. Room service is very quick though and breakfast was good too. Very positive impression and location is perfect too for easy of getting to and from airport. Will definitely stay again

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Premsri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 517 in Barcelona
3,904 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 517 in Barcelona
4,154 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#214 of 517 in Barcelona
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#68 of 517 in Barcelona
3,257 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#175 of 517 in Barcelona
3,738 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#93 of 517 in Barcelona
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel Barcelona

Address: C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £36 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A functional 4* hotel providing the perfect balance between quality and price, its strategic location makes it the first choice for savvy urban travellers. It's right next to Sants Railway Station - the main transportation intersection of Barcelona - making it fast and easy to get into the city center, to the beach and reach any tourist attractions in town. The hotel is also only a 5-minute walk from the Fira exhibition grounds and close to popular tourist attractions such as the Olympic area of the Montjuic, Placa d'Espanya and Arenas shopping center. The hotel's 423 ample, functionally designed exterior-facing rooms offer free WiFi and have a terrace - for a fabulous view of the city. Whatever the reason of your stay, a guest assistant will be at your disposal to make any necessary adjustments to your accommodation. The cherry on top: A roof terrace restaurant serving delicious Hamburgers and a swimming pool with privileged views of Montjuic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Selenta, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Expo Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing