We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, convenient, good value overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #175 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, convenient, good value overall”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great location, walking distance from most mayor attractions and metro station. Good value for your money. Comfortable, clean, modern rooms. Very good breakfast. Good service and great service attitude from everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyDude09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    540
    146
    41
    24
See reviews for
221
557
52
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great hotel - very clean and just a few steps from the main street and the metro. You could walk almost everywhere or take the metro as we did. Thre breakfast spread is amazing....tons of jamon serrano, various cheeses, etc. It was one of the biggest breakfast spreads I've seen. FYI, you have to order coffee and specifically ask with milk from the servers. They pour everything for you so you have no control over how much or how little milk you get. That's the annoying part. They should just give you a carafe of coffee and milk at your table. I find this takes the most time - flagging or waiting for a server to come by to refill coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExPat0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Spotless, attractively decorated hotel in an unbeatable location. Our room on the 8th floor had an amazing view away towards the Sagrada Familia etc which was delightful to wake up to and beautiful at night. All staff were helpful and most spoke good English, which was great as our Spanish is limited. We requested a late checkout on our final day as our flight wasn 't until 2130 and were able to stay until 6pm for no extra charge (my husband is a Marriott gold card member though). Tv channels from Uk had intermittent signals, with the BBC always unavailable.
As a coeliac I am always nervous about eating in a foreign place but was given GF rolls and a GF cake every day for breakfast - every member of serving staff I spoke to had a good understanding of my requirements.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor with views towards Barcelona
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner last year. The hotel is in an unbeatable location, a block away from the passeig de gracia and a metro system that can take you to see all Barcelona has to offer. The room we had was luxurious and spotless, the toiletries a definite treat. We had a view overlooking the busy street below and although there was a little noise (unavoidable in this location) we found it didn't bother us much at all. The rooftop bar was beautiful, incredibly tranquil. All staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful, apart from one slightly older gentleman at reception we found to be rather rude and dismissive. However this did not spoil our stay at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ydarba808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

First the good. A clean hotel in an excellent, central location in the city. Rooms were clean and the property was, overall, in excellent shape. The rooftop bar had stunning views; my wife and I had drinks with a local friend who had not been there and couldn't believe how nice it was.

The not so good: In general, the service was indifferent to bad. On two straight days the maid came in for turn down service without knocking. We complained to the front desk, and to their credit, they were profusely apologetic. We aren't sure if the maid knocked on the third night as we were out that evening. For the breakfast buffet, there was always something not working, the toaster one morning, the coffee machine the next, and the staff (whose only job was to clean up) had no interest in helping.

Overall if you need or are redeeming Marriott points, it's perfectly good; but for the price there are many more economical alternatives in the area.

Stayed three nights in July 2013 on vacation with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance B, Resident Manager at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear M. Alexander,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay in our hotel last summer.

We will be glad to share your comment with our entire team, especially regarding the cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel.

It is true that we have the chance to have this unique Terrace on the top floor of the hotel, offering amazing views of Barcelona : from the Sagrada Familia, the Gotic area, Montjuic, Tibidabo and the see in the skyline… you really feel in Barcelona.

Your constructive feedback with regard to the service issue is really important and will help us to continue our focus on training. It is in our process to knock twice, three times on the door before entering in any room, and I will make sure with our Housekeeping Manager that this is applied with consistency. All the doors of our rooms are fire proof to ensure the safety of our guest, and therefore also very thick. It might happen that we did not knock with enough strength, but in any case we should also announce our self while opening the door. We are really sorry that this did affect you experience while staying with us.

For the next summer season, with our experience of the last year, and similar observations we received from our guests, we will reinforce our team, to provide the excellent service that is expected. The Holiday time is always an opportunity to have breakfast with all the family, and this is an important moment especially before starting a day of discovery.

I remain at your entire disposal, should you need any further help, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,

Pierre-Henri Perrin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Nice, centrally located, boutique hotel. Room was very clean with a lovely view. Our only complaints were that the WI-FI was a bit "spotty" and that the hot water in the shower Could Not be adjusted. You would scald yourself, if not careful. When this was brought to the attention of the front desk, we were told, "Oh well, it is a common problem throughout Barcelona". REALLY!

Room Tip: No problem with any noise level on the floors. Quiet room at the end of a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance B, Resident Manager at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Chinqua,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay in Barcelona. We are very proud of our location and know how much it can mean for most of our guests to be right in the heart of the city

Feedback is so important for us and the best way helping us to improve our product and service.

We totally understand how important it is for our guests to stay connected, and we currently offer two different options of internet connection. A free Wi-Fi connection up to 250 MB (up or download) in all of our public spaces, and an unlimited premium high speed connection from the room for a fee with a 24h hotline assistance. We are sorry to hear that your connection was unstable during your stay and would love to contact you directly to investigate further in which areas you expected Internet Interruptions. Wi-Fi is important to all of us and we working hard on managing the increasing bandwidths needs of customer.

Thank you also for feedback on the water issue. This is definitely not a Barcelona problem, but something we have to work on to improve. We have had several comments on this also after your stay and after identifying the real problem changed valves in the affected rooms.

Again – thank you for sharing with us this important issues to get better. Please feel free to connect with us directly on any other feedback you might have.

I remain at your entire disposal, should you need any further help, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.


Your sincerely,


Pierre-Henri Perrin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The view from the roof was by far our favorite part of this hotel. The rooms were nice and spacious but if we were at the hotel we spent most of our time on the rooftop. The days were warm and it was nice to sit in a lounge chair as a nice break from sight seeing. There was a bar that opened in the evening and the views at night were breathtaking. We had to take the metro and/or bus which had a stop about a block or 2 away from the hotel but it was easy to navigate and we took it to the Baroque area as well as to the Mediterranean Sea and the Olympic Park. One street over was nice shopping and restaurants and the concierge was helpful in making recommendations to us. The breakfast was very good and the bartender made the best mojitio I had while in Spain (and I tried one at almost place we visited).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,514 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Eurostars BCN Design
Eurostars BCN Design
#333 of 512 in Barcelona
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,838 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#113 of 512 in Barcelona
2,454 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Property: Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing