We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #184 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We only stay in Marriott Hotels, if possible and I thought this one was a better location than the other in Barcelona. And...I was right. Very close to many attractions and we walked to Las Ramblas from the hotel on our first day there.

We stay with Marriott points and were upgraded to a lovely suite. Great bed...as always in a Marriott. Lovely room with a great view.

The bar and lounge was comfortable and inviting and we also had some quick meals there. Good food.

Staff was helpful and friendly and there was a concierge on duty for travel/sightseeing questions.

A great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sryhanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel has only recently become a Renaissance and was previously the AC Diplomatic. They have invested a lot in the public areas (which are nice) and they have made some superficial updates in the bedrooms but some of the furniture in our room was in very poor condition (a very badly damaged sofa). The beds were wonderful and we slept fantastically during our entire week long stay.

The location is superb being just once block behind the Passeig de Gracia with all of the shops and eating places. This is a very safe and elegant part of town.

Most of the staff that we met were very pleasant and well trained. Full marks for that and you can see the Marriott influence here.

Breakfast was disappointing with a more limited selection than you often see in Spain. The room is overcrowded and the layout does not work (one long buffet table down the middle of the room with all of the tables on either side). It was cramped and everyone was jostling for food or for the self service coffee machine. It all felt a bit 3 star.

Very nice roof terrace which I imagine would come into its own in the summer.

Room Tip: The Executive rooms are a couple of metres longer but are not on a special floor. They are just the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skotti56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed on Reward points and in advance, had asked for an upgrade, if possible. From the moment we checked in, (both rooms upgraded), our experience at Renaissance Barcelona was fantastic! Location can't be beat; 18 min walk to Sagrada Familia, 18 min walk to Picasso museum, 3 min walk to Casa Batllo, 3 min walk to Tapas 24 and 3 min walk to Metro that took us to Camp Nou (20 min ride). The gentleman who checked us in had everything covered; our upgrades, free breakfast, free WIFI and info about Navigator (concierge). The beds are incredibly comfortable, bathrooms spacious, filled with all you need (hair dryer, robes, slippers, and toiletries). The rooftop is not to be missed; comfy couches, music and views worthy of your camera! Thank you, Renaissance Barcelona, for a great experience! We love Marriotts and this hotel did not disappoint!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We visited here a few years ago, so I will keep my comments brief knowing that other people have more current information to share. The location of this hotel is ideal for seeing Gaudi's works as well as wandering through the city. This is a high priority for us since we travel with our four kids. We enjoyed our stay here a great deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazeltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina_El-Mashni, Executive Assistant, PR & Communication at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for reviewing your past stay at the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel.

We are glad to hear your family enjoyed your past stay with us, and you appreciated our convenient central location just steps away from Paseo de Gracia where guests can discover cultural and historical sites such as "La Pedrera" or "La Casa Batlló".

We look forward to welcoming all of you back upon your next visit to Barcelona hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Cristina El Mahsni
Executive Assistan, PR & Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotel is very well located, a block away from Paseo de Gracia and the better shops and restaurants.

That is where the 'good' ends and the mediocre or bad sets in. Decor is modern and hype, reminds me of a W hotel inclusive of the constant techno beat in the lobby. Rooms are extremely small, our queen sized bed was more of a full plus and there were only two small drawers for clothes. Bathroom was tiny and shower splashed all over soaking it every time.

Wi-fi is spotty and extremely slow although breakfast was well served. Midday check out was long and tedious, only two staff members to help out.

All in all, OK, and far, far away from the 5 stars plaque the hotel boasts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoseLuisContreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina_El-Mashni, Executive Assistant, PR & Communication at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Mr. Contreras,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel.

We are delighted that you found the location of our hotel convenient, as you mention Paseo de Gracia is just one block away from the hotel, making our location perfect for shoppers and visitors travelling on pleasure or business.

I was very sorry to read about your disappointing experience at check out. We understand that our guests’ time is precious and thrive to deliver a swift service at all times. We will pass on your comments to our front office management team to investigate the issue you raised.

During our most recent renovation our design team made great effort to combine contemporary design with components based from “Modernista” architects such as Gaudí and Domench i Monataner. The idea was embed famous local design into the hotel. We are sorry to hear that this need meet your taste.

Concerning your comments about our room sizes please be informed that the hotel offers for those guests looking for a larger guest rooms other room types such as our Executive queen, king or twin bedded rooms which measure around 32sq., these room type also include breakfast and wireless Wi-Fi connection. Normally these room types are bookable through our website or any of our affiliated partners. It is unfortunate, that this seems to have not been clear during your reservation process.

Thank you again for your feedback, which is very valuable to us to further improve our product and services. We do hope we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel in the future.

Your Sincerely,

Cristina El Mashni
Executive Assistant, PR & Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Cant go wrong with a marriott if you want good standards - service is always excellent - great location - nice roof terrace - good breakfast very comfortable beds and rooms air con wifi etc nice bar but lacks atmosphere never crowded

Room Tip: High up gives best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina_El-Mashni, Executive Assistant, PR & Communication at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel.

It certainly reads that you had a very enjoyable time, from the breakfast experience to the comfort of our rooms and its luxurious bedding.

Thank you again for taking the time to share this review and we do hope to welcome you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Cristina El Mashni
Executive Assistant, PR & Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The staff is the highlight of this perfectly nice hotel that is an excellent mid-range hotel nicely situated.

The lobby is 1960's modernist cool (if not a bit cold) that is warmed up by the staff of Navigators who ensure a very pleasant stay. The reception, concierge and lobby bar staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. I stayed on the 7th floor for 4 nights in a two-double bed room that had everything I could want in a very clean room. My mornings and afternoons were spent at a conference, but I ate in the immediate vicinity of the hotel every evening. All local restaurants were recommended by staff, and included Rene, 336 and Loidi. I would have tried the hotel's CRU Steakhouse, but for the fact that I am a Chicagoan and going to Barcelona to eat at a steakhouse seems kinda pathetic. Besides, the travel rule of thumb is to get out of the hotel early and often. Barcelona has so much to offer the wanderer.

I would stay at the Renaissance Barcelona again in an instant. It is equidistant between the Sagrada Familia and the Cathedral of the Holy Cross and Saint Eulalia. The latter is on the edge of the medieval passages that include so much worth visiting, not least of which the incredible Basilica de Santa Maria del Mar and the Born Cultural Center that protects and displays the city's ancient origins. The walks afford many many opportunities to stop for a Moritz and tapas, or a glass of Tempranillo and Iberico jamon.

Full circle praise, though, goes to the staff of the hotel. Over-the-top wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airportrpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina_El-Mashni, Executive Assistant, PR & Communications at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this fantastic and detailed review. Your comments are the best reward for our ambassadors who pride ourselves on creating truly indigenous experiences to our guests.

We are happy that you were able to take the advantage of our central location, as you mention, the walking distance to some of the city's treasures such as” La Sagrada Familia” or “La Basilica de Santa María de Mar”, makes our hotel the perfect base to explore the city.

Thank you again for this wonderful review and we do hope to welcoming you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Cristina El Mashni
Executive Assistant, PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,616 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars BCN Design
Eurostars BCN Design
#345 of 515 in Barcelona
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 515 in Barcelona
1,916 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#110 of 515 in Barcelona
2,538 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 515 in Barcelona
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £142 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing