We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #185 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

You can never go wrong with a Marriott property. This one is in a great location and so far has meet all our needs for this trip. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice area, safe and clean location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynnMcMullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Modern, very good hotel. in a busy area with many choices to eat. Taxi's are plenty and hop on/hop off tour is a great way to get an overview of the hotel. Offered limo service to pier rather than taxi and was only 5 Euro more.

Room Tip: Pricey booze. Very modern. We had view of Segrada Familia Basilca from room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paradeprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I suspect this would be an excellent business-travel hotel. For vacation, we found the room to be very, very small. We also had a view out the back at roof tops and hanging clothes, but it was very quiet. The room was set up for a business traveller (small, one robe), except that it did have a safe and refridgerator...a real plus. Everything was very clean, neat and in good repair. The location was excellent with quck access to shopping, tours, La Rambla (see once and don't go back) and the old city. We found many good bars and restaurants for drinks and tapas. As a premier Marriott member, breakfast was included. They keep it separate from the restaurant. It was fine, but they seem to have it only because Marriott requires it...somewhat unfriendly service and unhelpful, but good enough for us. The coffee is excellent, but can be hard to get since it is not self-service. We had a great experience asside from the room size and location. A big issue for my wife was the bed was as hard as concrete.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are extremely quiet, even though the view was poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveTexas70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a hotel which survives on corporate conferences and it shows - the restaurant is only open from Wednesdays onwards. Yes, meals are available at the lobby bar, but a tourist is looking for something else.
Located in a better part of the city, it is expensive like the shops which are close by.
Management knew we were celebrating a special event and surprised us by delivering a bottle of Cava to our room on the first evening - a very thoughtful gesture. The room had two queen beds, as requested but the bathroom was rather small, with only a shower-over-bath. A separate shower should be standard at that price.
The room on 3rd floor was on a side street and therefore relatively quiet. Their Navigator staff gave us useful advice on how best to get to certain locations around the city. For example, walk DOWN to the flower market and onto the harbour, get a taxi UP to the top of the mountain to the Arts museum and then walk DOWN past the display fountain and bull ring, back to the centre.
We were caught out by the black/yellow taxi driver who insisted on doubling the meter fare when taking us to the cruise terminal, because of 'the luggage'!!
A tour guide told us this is a familiar rip-off in the cities.
We would return to this hotel overnight, but for longer stays would be inclined to look for more of a boutique hotel.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bryan490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

There is a lot to like a about the Renaissance Barcelona, beginning with the location - it is centrally located in the "happening" part of Barcelona, with lots of restaurants, shopping, tourist attractions, etc. within easy walking distance; the only drawback to the location is that food-wise, you are where all the tourists are (and Barcelonians for that matter) - so the food/restaurants are just okay, not GREAT! For that, you have to go some blocks out of the downtown and find the hidden gems - but all in all, the Renaissance is in a fabulous part of the city.

The terrace bar is great, lots of sun and a decent view of the Barcelona skyline, the indoor bar/lounge is pretty nice, and the rooms are good, if a bit small by US standards. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and all in all, we really liked the Renaissance.

The only complaint we really had was the breakfast, which is included with the cost of the room - the food offering was TERRIFIC, but when we were there, they seemed seriously understaffed - it took a long time to get coffee, or anything else you had to ask for, and the buffet (which was really, really great, a full European/American offering with everything anyone would want, other than pancakes, which would have been gratuitous) seemed to always need plates, glasses, or some food offering refreshed and refilled. Definitely not a deal breaker, the food was tremendous, but they really need to hire some more and capable servers.

Last comment: it is expensive - not prohibitively so, but it is not a cheap hotel. I'm sure you can find cheaper in the city, but I am a Marriott Rewards member, so if I'm not spending points, I'm trying to accumulate them, which we did at the Renaissance. We really liked it, and would recommend it as an expensive but very good hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is kind of 3-sided with two sides angled off of the front portion - all sides look out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We picked the hotel as it was a chain we knew, it was close to where our daughter was living as she was studying abroad, and it was a good location. It also looked chic. All this is true...it was convenient and was nicely decorated similar to a W property with its chicness. However, where they lost our high marks is that we had to keep asking for toiletries and often didn't get them. At one point we were out of toilet paper and asked for some but they didn't leave it. It got to a point that we had nothing to use and no time to call down to get it. This was frustrating and so avoidable and correctable from the hotel. Guests should have plenty to use but when they need more and ask it should not be given so sparingly. Because of this, I would rather try another hotel next time in fear that this is their scoop. Otherwise, their housekeeping dept. needs some better training on leaving what is needed and requested...especially shampoo and toilet paper!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina_El-Mashni, Executive Assistant, PR & Communications at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and sharing your experiences concerning your recent stay at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel.

At Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, we strive to ensure our guest’s satisfaction; it is unfortunate that you were disappointed by your experience in this occasion. It seems obviously that something went wrong as this clearly does not reflect the kind of standards we provide to our guest; we are really sorry such an event occurred.

We would welcome the opportunity to understand how this could have happened and we would like to be able to discuss further your experience, and therefore would like to ask you to contact me on rhi.bcndm.customer.services@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you once again for your feedback and we sincerely hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to Barcelona.

Yours Sincerely

Cristina El Mashni
Executive Assistant, PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is one of the best Marriott hotels we have stayed at in Europe. Excellent service. The staff is very helpful and very professional. Nothing was too much to ask. The room was very comfortable according to European standards and we received a complimentary bottle of water at our room every single day. The location is excellent. We had good restaurants and bars in the area. One block from the hop on hop off bus and anywhere else the taxis were not that expensive. We plan to return to Barcelona que will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,635 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#111 of 515 in Barcelona
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 515 in Barcelona
1,782 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 515 in Barcelona
1,945 reviews
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#173 of 515 in Barcelona
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £127 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing