We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #185 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed only one night at the Renaissance Barcelona but wish it could have been many more. The service throughout the hotel was outstanding even though it was a very busy day & night there. The location was perfect for sight seeing and for getting a flavor for the city. Our room had great amenities, plus it was comfortable, clean, and well-appointed. The roof top lounge was not open during our stay, but it was available for relaxing in the sunshine and enjoying the view.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4switz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Renaissance Barcelona is one of the best hotels I have stayed in Europe. The rooms were thoughtfully appointed and the beds great. The staff was extremely helpful and the Navigators helped to enhance our vacation experience by planning tours of The Sagrada Familia and a trip to Montserrat, which I highly recommend.
Thank you to entire staff.

AJW Boston

Room Tip: use the Navigators to add a new dimension to your visit to Barcelona
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abenakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here on a business and the hotel was just fantastic. The duration of stay was two nights but I would 100% return back in the future. The staff were extremely helpful on checkin and throughout the stay. The location is really centrally located and I spent a great afternoon wandering around the streets of Barcelona (felt very safe, even by myself). It is a Marriott property but to be honest it was hard to tell. My room was very large with a nice few (11th floor I think). The bar upstairs is perfect for a sunset cocktail and they make great Mojitos. The bar downstairs was closing when we were arriving back from dinner but the bar-lady was kind enough to stay open and serve us for a couple of hours before we went to bed. I didnt use any of the gym or business facitlies. All in all a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The property was in a great location in L'Eixampla Dreta and within walking distance of several important sights. They have a marvelous rooftop lounge with great views - the navigator staff went above and beyond to assist with getting around and worthwhile activities. Barcelona is beautiful and this hotel truly enhanced our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ima_Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A solid property in a nice section of the city - pretty centrally located. Room was a bit small but had a balcony. The balcony could have used a couple of chairs. The view wasn't great but it was quiet. Had a rooftop bar which provided much better views of the city with cava/drinks and other snacks. Staff was very helpful and treated us very well as a Marriott gold member. The breakfast buffet was nice and provided a great start to the day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tj722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

You can never go wrong with a Marriott property. This one is in a great location and so far has meet all our needs for this trip. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice area, safe and clean location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynnMcMullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Modern, very good hotel. in a busy area with many choices to eat. Taxi's are plenty and hop on/hop off tour is a great way to get an overview of the hotel. Offered limo service to pier rather than taxi and was only 5 Euro more.

Room Tip: Pricey booze. Very modern. We had view of Segrada Familia Basilca from room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paradeprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,636 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#111 of 515 in Barcelona
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 515 in Barcelona
1,783 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 515 in Barcelona
1,950 reviews
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#173 of 515 in Barcelona
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £118 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing