We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #175 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Location - Great Service”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel is in great location
Service was stellar and over great experience
Great conceriege - Breakfast was well done.
Front desk was top flight -polite and quality.
I would recommend before or after any cruises out of or into Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjb428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina E, PR & Communications Coordinator at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review from your recent stay at the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your positive comments regarding our ambassadors and service and that you enjoyed your breakfast experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for a future visit and thank you once again for posting a great review.

Yours Sincerely,
Cristina E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    540
    146
    41
    24
See reviews for
220
557
52
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were very impressed by this hotel. Excellent location and the staff were really attentive. The rooftop bar on the 8th Floor lends superb vistas of Barcelona and serves good wine and food. We would definitely stay at the Renaissance Barcelona again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina E, PR & Communications Coordinator at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel.

Great to hear your kind comments regarding the hotel’s location and the level of service you received from our ambassadors. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy a glass of wine and nice food in our 8th floor terrace, which as you say, is the perfect venue to enjoy the stunning views over the city.

Thanks again for your kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Cristina E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this property for two nights (June 29 & 30, 2014) prior to our Princess cruise. On our way from the airport to the hotel our taxi driver told us that there would be a taxi driver strike beginning on July 1 which was the day we needed to get from the hotel to the port. When we arrived at the hotel we inquired about whether or not the hotel would be able to help us get to the port - NO! Everyone at the front desk that we spoke to were so incredibly disinterested in trying to help us find some alternative to the port. Luckily for us we had friends staying at another hotel in Barcelona that arranged for a bus to take their hotel guests to the port and after talking with them they allowed us to book 4 spots on their bus!
Now to the service - absolutely the worst service we have ever experienced at any hotel! Started with breakfast and only 2 people to take care of a very busy breakfast area so tables not cleared, difficulty getting any tea or coffee because there were not enough servers to efficiently take care of the number of guests. One evening, my daughter and I sat in the near empty bar area and it was 20 minutes before a server came over and another 40 minutes for our drinks to be delivered!
On our 2nd day my husband was in the shower and I was using the bathroom when I heard him say "Hey who is out there?" The bathroom door is a sort of frosted glass so he could see someone out there. So the hotel staff had let themselves in to our room to leave a note for us! Rather than leave it under the door they walked in!
My husband is a platinum awards level and he spends on average over 200 nights a year at Marriott properties and said this was his worst experience ever!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilliebean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina E, PR & Communications Coordinator at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mrs. JillieBean,

Thank you for your review, detailing your experience with us at the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you found your accommodation with us not as your were expecting and we do apologize for the discomfort your husband experienced, rest assured your comments have been passed on to our Front Office Manager for further investigation. Clearly these are not the service standards we pride ourselves on.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and feedback, and we hope that our facilities and service will bring you back to the hotel in the future, giving us the opportunity to make your next stay with us an excellent one from start to finish.

Yours Sincerely,
Cristina E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is centrally situated one block from Plaza Gracia which has many fine restaurants as well as two of Gaudi's buildings. Go one more block and you are at La Rambla, Barcelona's pedestrian only shopping area.
The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely appointed. I did not like the closets as the doors were sliding from side to side so only one person could access the closet, safe, refrigerator at a time. WIFI in the rooms as well as the lobby worked flawlessly.
Our room faced the front and the view of the city street was very nice.
The rooftop bar offers excellent views of Barcelona and a must visit for any guest. The lobby bar is a bustling place and the servers are attentive and polite.

Room Tip: WE faced the front of the hotel at the corner of two streets, Room was right next to the elevator on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina E, PR & Communications Coordinator at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Michele O,

Thank you for this helpful feedback, we really appreciate it.

We are glad you found the hotel to be to your liking and enjoyed the rooms, the hotel facilities and the convenience of the location.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Cristina E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

It is true, I heard it many times during our stay, the staff was proud to say that the bed and pillows are excellent. But it takes more than that for a perfect stay. The location is also outstanding. We found many minor but annoying deficiencies that when combined leaves you an uncertain feeling, specially after paying the bill! I did not think the Concierge desk (Navigator) was helpful and most of the staff felt too proud of themselves. The bathroom needs more light, it feels like you are in a cave. The room was a bit too small. There is no practical furniture. The glasses case does not fit in the nightstand drawer! They call it a business center but it is just two computers in the lobby that are very slow. The speed of the wifi in the rooms was very slow. Most people would consider the hotel outstanding but I will find an alternative next time I visit Barcelona. The terrace on the 8th floor is very nice but the bartenders need to learn how to prepare a proper Martini.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulioRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina E, PR & Communications Coordinator at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Julio RB,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

One of our most important tasks is to learn directly from our guests about their experience while with us. Our priority is to provide the highest quality of friendly and courteous service and ensure a consistent standard of excellence, so we are sorry to read that you found your overall experience to be slightly less than you were expecting

We are pleased to be able to offer complimentary WiFi in the lobby for guests use and we are of course glad that you could benefit from the 2 computers we have in our business center.

Thank you again for your detailed feedback, without guest feedback we are unable to improve our services and facilities.

We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Cristina E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is located on Pau Claris, about 3 blocks from Plaça de Catalunya (and La Rambla) and one block from Passeig de Gracia metro station. Far enough from the noise but close enough to be easily accessible.

Rooms and especially bathrooms were very clean and of high quality. There is a WIFI in the rooms but expect to pay a lot for it if you actually want to use it. There are two iMacs with Internet connection in the lobby but they were quite often in use.

Hotel's buffet breakfast was pretty basic (having no fresh vegetables & very limited fruits but serving a lot of different sweet pastries and buns).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sathamoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Hotel Barcelona and highly recommend it to others. The property was beautiful and very centrally located. More importantly, from the moment I arrived, the staff was helpful in providing suggestions on local restaurants and cafés, sights to see, and night life. I definitely plan on visiting Barcelona again and would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,513 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Eurostars BCN Design
Eurostars BCN Design
#335 of 512 in Barcelona
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 512 in Barcelona
1,837 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#114 of 512 in Barcelona
2,454 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Property: Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing