We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRAZA EXCELENTE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Ranked #64 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TERRAZA EXCELENTE”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Good morning,

Last Saturday I had the opportunity of visiting the Terrrace of the Hotel and enjoy an amazing lunch surrounded of all my family. It is a peaceful terrace where you can enjoy an excellent menu. The service was perfect. I have no words to describe it. They were always to help us and we even needed to ask for a change of table at last minute and they had no problem in changing everything at the last minute.

I appreciated a lot their attention and enjoyed the lunch and the environment so much that I will not hesitate in coming back next week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlota B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Cliente,
En primer lugar le agradezco el tiempo que nos ha dedicado en plasmar su opinión positiva del Hotel Catalonia Portal de l'Angel.
Mi equipo y yo estamos muy satisfechos de haber cumplido con sus expectativas.
De nuevo agradecemos sus comentarios y esperamos volver a servirle en su próxima visita.

Dolores Hurtado
Directora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    392
    75
    21
    19
See reviews for
218
542
65
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

my wife and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights during the second week of June , this is my third visit to Barcelona , and in my opinion this hotel has the best location in comparison with other hotels that of course if u re planning to stay in central barcelona , its close to nearly everything ( gothic part , ramblas ..waterfront ..catalunia square ..etc ) and its calm & quiet ! , staff are extremely friendly , the hotel premises is clean and nice , we paid an extra 20 euros per day to get a nicer room with a balcony which something i really recommend , all is all our stay was a good pleasant one , the only drawback i could think of is the price , we paid almost 260 euros per night ( on line booking ) a rate that doesnt include breakfast , taking into consideraton the location and the high season ...it might be justified !

Room Tip: balcony rooms with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service and we apologize for the poor wifi conection and the noisy neighbours.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here from 10th to 15th June as part of a trip to celebrate husband's 65th birthday and retirement. As it was a special occasion we booked a terrace room, which was absolutely fantastic, huge bed and a really large balcony with lovely view of the pool and gardens. The hotel itself was spotless, and everything was of the highest standard. Breakfasts, hot and cold buffet, were extremely good, and even available until midday. The staff were all very helpful and kind, and we were especially impressed with the high level of customer care. The hotel is very centrally located. One of the best we have stayed in.

Room Tip: We thought the terrace rooms were well worth the extra supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We returned this to the Portal del Angels Hotel with friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay again. It is so central for walking around the local shops, visiting the Cathedral, strolling the La Rambla . It is even in short walking distance to Port Vell. We had a 2 day 'Hop on Hop off ' Tour bus which showed us the places of interest around the East or West of the City which was wonderful.

The Hotel itself is a little gem in the heart of the city, very clean, lovely staff. Just perfect for a short break in Barcelona.

Room Tip: If you like to people watch and not bothered by noise. Choose a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley , NSW
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here in May, hotel is great , so central , I would next time ask for a pool view room with terrace , although we had a terrace we did not have a view, staff were great and the food and beakfast was fantastic, would stay here again no problem. Also if flying into Barca , you can catch the blue bus straight into the city and it stops at the top of the street then its a 3 min walk to hotel .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amrit_Manuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A really lovely hotel in a very central location. You are literally on one of the busiest shopping streets in the city which suited us perfectly, and when the windows are closed there is no noise from the outside. The hotel is of a really high quality and I would have expected it to be more expensive. The pool was a great perk and you wouldn't expect it for the location. Walkable to the beach and the restaurants of the gothic quarter and Barceloneta. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a non-smoking room if you have an issue with a slight smoke smell in some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vb1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful historic palace with a lot of character and at the same time with refurbished and modern rooms with all comforts and warm decor. Very clean with a fresh smell. Fantastic location, walking distance to both the medieval quarter and the modernist district, very close to aero-bus stop, metro and buses. Staff was helpful and friendly enough. We stayed in a terrace room, recommended as they face the back courtyard with the pool, so with a lot of light and away from the street noise. On the third floor rooms might be quieter but the ceilings are also probably not as high as in the étage noble, you can check this with the hotel according to your preferences.
On the negative side: wi-fi connection was poor (at least in our room on the third floor), sound insulation was not great and one night (out of six) we had noisy neighbours laughing loudly till 5:00 in the morning..., breakfast is too expensive also considering the big choice of cafes within walking distance (we recommend you only book the room and buy breakfast on the day - the price is the same - depending on your plans and if you have time to fully enjoy the rich buffet), the food selection at the bar (there is no proper restaurant) was not great. The hotel booking website was not working and they couldn't help us when we called the hotel (it was a Sunday) so we booked through booking.com (there was only one terrace room left and we did not want to loose it).
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and we would definitely recommend it (especially if you book early enough and you can get a good room at a reasonable price...)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Calanmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service and we apologize for the poor wifi conection and the noisy neighbours.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 512 in Barcelona
1,327 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
436 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#33 of 512 in Barcelona
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#72 of 512 in Barcelona
552 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#48 of 512 in Barcelona
1,151 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 512 in Barcelona
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Portal de l'Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Portal de l'Angel

Property: Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Address: Avenida Portal de l'Angel 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Portal de l'Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century building, the Catalonia Portal de l'Angel (formerly Catalonia Albinoni) is set between Plaza de Catalunya and Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter. It features an outdoor swimming pool on the grounds and has free Wi-Fi.The hotel's comfortable bedrooms all feature private bathrooms, air conditioning and satellite TV. The Albinoni maintains much of its original design. The hotel restaurant, El Jardí de l'Angel serves a range of Catalan dishes and guests can dine on the pool-side terrace. The famous Las Ramblas is less than 220 yards away, while Passeig de Gràcia and Gaudí’s Casa Batlló can be reached in around 10 minutes, by foot. Barcelona Cathedral is just over 110 yards from the hotel. The Catalonia has easy access to public transportation and is just a 5-minute walk from Catalunya Metro and Train Station, as well as several bus services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Portal de l'Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Portal De l`Angel Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Albinoni
Catalonia Portal De L'Angel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing