We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Ranked #70 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday.

We were only in Barcelona for 36hours and this hotel was in the most perfect location for us seeing as much of the city as possible in that time.

The hotel is clean, well presented and so tranquil compared with the bustling city outside. The staff were helpful and friendly.

They kept our luggage in a store room both on arrival and before departure which meant we didn't have to carry it round the city.

The only downside was that the pool didn't open until 10am. Apart from that, a perfect base for a city break!

Room Tip: A balcony room over the street is lovely!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CPatts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service and we will appreciate your positive comments.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,196)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night. This hotel should be at least four star. It is beautifully designed in keeping with the building with modern touches. We stayed in a room with a balcony over the street. The hotel is well air conditioned. When you walk in it feels so peaceful compared to the city outside. The outside area is very relaxing and the cocktails whilst pricey were the best I had ever had. The room had modern lighting, comfortable bed and well equipped bathroom. There was tea and coffee facilities fridge and complimentary water, sweets and crisps. I took weeks picking this hotel at I wanted something central and with luxury and romance. It was a surprise night away for my partner and I planned to propose. The hotel exceeded my expectations it was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank giniEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service and we will appreciate your positive comments.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here and we didn't realize just how perfect the location was until the end of our first full day. It really couldn't be better! The street (Portal de l'Angel) is a main pedestrian thoroughfare through some trendy shopping areas (Zara, H&M, El Corte de Ingles, Mango etc.) and is very loud and crowded but once you step inside the hotel the noise just fades away. There is a bus from the airport (the A1 or A2 Aero Bus) that picks you up outside either terminal at the airport and drops you off at Placa Catalunya, which is just steps (maybe 2 blocks at most) from the hotel, and of course does the reverse too. It is SO convenient. The lobby area is very impressive - HUGE open ceilings (maybe 4 stories?) and very beautiful decor. There is a bar area just off the lobby, then an outdoor area (inside a tent) where breakfast is served (breakfast is not included in all room plans!). In said outdoor area there is a little piece of paradise. We retreated to the pool every afternoon for our siesta - very comfy lounge chairs and pool-side service. Know, though, that the pool is tiny! Even still, it is a little oasis back there. As for the rooms... We really had few complaints about the room. The bed was comfortable and we had everything we needed. We upgraded to a room with a balcony, which I would recommend if you can. The weather is usually nice enough in the summer to sit outside and it's so nice to have the extra space. Our room was on the small side and it was pretty dark without the natural light from the balcony doors being open. I know that there are some rooms that have only interior windows (or maybe no windows at all), so I would recommend asking about this if it matters to you. The service at the hotel, though, was only just okay. There were always people at the front desk and you literally have to walk past the front desk to get to the elevator and they would never say hi and no one really went out of their way to do anything even corgile for us. Finally, whatever you do, don't ever order room service! It is AWFUL! I realize that ordering room service in Barcelona is dumb anyway, but we had just come back from a 12 hour wine tasting trip so we were not really up for going out to eat...

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with an exterior window/balcony!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service and we will appreciate your positive comments.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel is a centrally located and we can walk to wonderful restaurants, La Rambla, and restaurants.

Rooms are clean and decent sized. If your room faces the street, it could get noisy (if you leave the windows open).

Customer service is great.

Best feature of the hotel is the breakfast. Big spread of different kind of food from different parts of Spain.

Please note that you can only see a 4-5 English channels on TV (2 news, 2 old movies and one National Geographic). No subtitles are available on the other channels. So if you think you may have trouble sleeping and want to watch something, take your tablets/laptops with you. :)

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street if you want a quiet room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RachanaMundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service and we will appreciate your positive comments.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We could not have selected a better hotel for our 5 days in Barcelona. The hotel is in the perfect location, is aesthetically pleasing, quiet, clean and comfortable and the staff was very accommodating on our last day when we asked for a late checkout.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with an exterior facing window.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoesphineF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a find this hotel is. Situated in the heart of one of the busiest shopping street in the city you really soak up the atmosphere but step through the door and it is a haven of peace and tranquility.Sat by the pool on a hot afternoon you wouldn't know the world was racing by outside the front door. We stayed for 3 nights in a room with a terrace overlooking the pool,well worth the upgrade . The accommodation is of a high standard.The major tourist attractions are within easy walking distance and the airport bus and tourist buses are all based on Catalonia Sq a five minute walk away. We plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CraneHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay. This hotel is in a great location and super nice staff. If you go there you need to visit the bar and have a mojito made by Camilo. The BEST mojito ever. Carmilo even has mint growing out back for the drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10C_R_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service. Camilo will appreciate your positive comments.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,351 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
488 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#67 of 513 in Barcelona
574 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#48 of 513 in Barcelona
1,179 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Portal de l'Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Portal de l'Angel

Address: Avenida Portal de l'Angel 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £100 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Portal de l'Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century building, the Catalonia Portal de l'Angel (formerly Catalonia Albinoni) is set between Plaza de Catalunya and Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter. It features an outdoor swimming pool on the grounds and has free Wi-Fi.The hotel's comfortable bedrooms all feature private bathrooms, air conditioning and satellite TV. The Albinoni maintains much of its original design. The hotel restaurant, El Jardí de l'Angel serves a range of Catalan dishes and guests can dine on the pool-side terrace. The famous Las Ramblas is less than 220 yards away, while Passeig de Gràcia and Gaudí’s Casa Batlló can be reached in around 10 minutes, by foot. Barcelona Cathedral is just over 110 yards from the hotel. The Catalonia has easy access to public transportation and is just a 5-minute walk from Catalunya Metro and Train Station, as well as several bus services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Portal de l'Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Portal De l`Angel Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Albinoni
Catalonia Portal De L'Angel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing