We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel with an Asterisk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Condado Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #157 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with an Asterisk”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Overall this is a good, economically priced hotel situated within walking distance of Passeig de Gracia and Barcelona's underground rail network. The hotel is spotlessly clean and appointed to a higher standard than its given three stars. Complimentary bottles of chilled mineral water are available on each floor. Free wi-fi is available on the lower floors.

Here's the asterisk: staff are rather surly, at times taking on the demeanour of nightclub bouncers rather than welcoming receptionists. They were nonetheless efficient. Rooms were well soundproofed to external traffic noise and the thud from the adjacent night club but much interior noise was clearly audible. The sound of the maid dragging the bed across the hard wood floor each morning in the room above was enough to wake the dead. Beds and bedding weren't particularly comfortable, we both left with stiff necks and shoulders. You get what you paid for, in certain respects. Overall, this is still a good budget option away from the Ramblas in the Eixample neighbourhood.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dande24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    612
    113
    22
    6
See reviews for
245
655
51
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

But also fairly convenient to the Metro. Great place to start wandering from, with some good cafe/restaurants close by.
Good accommodation, friendly staff, did not try the restaurant, clean room, nice bath.
Supermarket located across the road.
Room at the rear with balcony, view not inspiring but on a sunny day, perfect for some sun!

Room Tip: Quiter at the rear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport news, va
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We chose the hotel in the Gracia section of Barcelona as we had stayed there over New Years prior to a cruise to the Eastern Med. We were getting ready to take a Canary Island cruise and decided to stay again at the Condado, as we felt it was a respit away from the tourist areas.
We were greeted by name as we checked in about noon in late October. We were upgraded to a superior room with a balcony overlooking the avenue. The weather was beautiful as we sat on the balcony sipping a glass of wine. There is a market across the street that has everything you need for your stay. The local wines are a treat and they have fresh fruit , wines and cheeses.
The breakfast was very good although the gentleman serving the buffet looked overwhelmed. The coffee was in a precarious position, on a shelf over the food preperation. I would find a seperate station for the coffee and cream as people could not get to it as others were serving themself from the buffet. Otherwise, the room was so clean and quiet. The housekeeping staff and I had fun trying to understand each other as I asked for more wash clothes. They were always very helpful.
The Condado is a find in Barcelona. We were not very far from the large department store, Ingles which has a great market also.
The hotel is in a residential area with homes and embassys. The people are friendly and helpful. There is a bus across the street and we even found our way to the Sagrada Familia and toured the inside. Don't miss this!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCondadoManager, Director General at Condado Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Lindabail,

It was our pleasure host you again :-) Thank you so much for your time reviewing your stay with us. It will be very helpful for future visitors.

I higly appreciate very much your point of view regarding coffe location. Let me add that Waiters should serve on table too. Just order them, please!!! However, we will work to find an alternative.

Thank for visiting us agaian, Kind regards, Ignacio Casellas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

For once I will try to write a short review - so people would actually bother to read it!

+ Strengths:

Free water bottles
Nice and helpful staff
Good breakfast
Nice and clean room - flat screen TV - nice interior - modern. Our bedroom was on the first floor, facing the street, but we could barely hear the cars outside
Around the reception area there were two PCs that the guests can use, with free internet! That was awesome!
Easy to get to and from the airport-hotel.
Bus 58 stops just around the corner of the hotel and takes you to Placa Catalanya where the main shopping streets are!


- Weaknesses:

Glas door into the bathroom... I just generally don’t like to pee or poop when others can see and hear me! And the sink was in the bedroom, and not in the bathroom! Other than that, the bathroom was nice.
You might not hear the noise from the street, but you could hear people talking in the hallway. Bad sound isolation from the hallway into the bedroom. Me and my friend were actually woken up by people walking through the hallway talking one morning.
The metro station is 15 minutes walk from the hotel... If you don’t like to walk, you can take bus 58 to Placa Catalanya, and from there you can take the metro to anywhere you like!
A bit far from the city center, but it didn’t bother us as it was easy access to buses and the metro.

OK - this wasn’t a short review after all - but hey, I just want to let people know what they can expect!

I would highly recommed this hotel! I don’t understand why it is only a 3 star hotel... I would definitly stay here again next time I visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MY30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCondadoManager, Director General at Condado Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Chrysaline, Congrats!!! Excellent review which will be very helpful for future visitors.

I would only remind that for those travellers who can be disturbed for our "glass doors" into the bathroom, please ask for "wood dooor" as most of our rooms feature wood doors.

Once again, thank you for your time reivewing your experience with us, kind regards, Ignacio Casellas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed as a family for 2 nights during half-term. The hotel is superbly located and comfortable and clean - good value for money. HOWEVER, breakfast was unimpressive and there really needs to be an enhanced kitchen facility - to be unable to sit down and have a drink when you come back in from sightseeing in the late afternoon is an annoyance. The hotel staff was courteous, but less friendly than they could have been. Almost any other inhabitant of Barcelona you come across has a more ready smile! Not sure why.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in hotel Condado a week and the place was just great. The walk from the nearest metro station could become sometimes too long after walking all day in the city, but then we also started to use busses. There are many bus routes going on the Diagonal.
The rooms were ok size and nicely decorated. Staff was helpfull, though all of them didn't speak english that well.
Brakfast wasn't included to the price, but there were many nice breakfast places nearby and just opposite to the hotel is a super market.
The hotel is away from the hustle of La Rambla, but still not too far. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanjaLi755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Just stayed there for 3nights with 6friends. Free WIFI ( if your room was on a low floor...or free cabel-internett ). The location of the hotel was ok..few min by taxi to pretty much everywere you wanna go. The staff were curteous enough. The standard of the hotel was pretty good, with nice and comfy bed. Well equiped.

I have just one negative thing to say about the hotel, which irritaded me quite a lot...they have only one key per room which is used to oped the door of the room.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with a view of tha backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Aparthotel Silver
Aparthotel Silver
#65 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#107 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#91 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Via Augusta
#183 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#156 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#112 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condado Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Hotel Barcelona

Property: Condado Hotel Barcelona
Address: Aribau 201, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Condado Hotel Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Condado Barcelona has a privileged location at the business and shopping hub of Barcelona's Diagonal Avenue, just a few minutes away from Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Catalunya and the famous modern style route. We offer a personalised service, absolutely focussed to our guest’s satisfaction during your stay in our city, Barcelona. The was recently fully refurbished, reaching an avant-garde and a very comfortable atmosphere like most boutique hotels in the world.In addition, the Hotel is located in an upmarket residential area of central Barcelona within walking distance to famous modern style route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Condado Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Condado Hotel
Condado Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing