We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good alternative to more expensive hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Condado Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #171 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good alternative to more expensive hotels”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile


This hotel is a good alternative to much more expensive hotels in the city centre. As a family of 4 we paid less than E700 for four nights (less than half what we would have paid in the centre), yet we were only a 10-12 minute walk away from two metro stations (Aviguda Diagonale and Hospital ...).

Pluses were:

Family room consisted of a small hall and two separate rooms (and two bathrooms) next to each other.
Unlimited free small water bottles available all day.
Friendly staff which spoke good English.
Requests were handled within five minutes.
Quiet rooms even when facing the main street because of excellent double glasing (except Friday and Saturday nights - more on this below).
15 minute walk to the beginning of La Rambla.


Minuses were:

30-40 minute walk to the town centre (cathedral) but we enjoyed the walks through the lovely city, so perhaps not a minus after all?
When the rooms are facing the main road - Carrer d'Aribau - you will in all likelihood be woken up between 4-6am on Friday and Saturday nights since the entrance of a night club is right opposite the hotel and about 60-100 smokers will be standing on the opposite side of the street and chat.
Breakfast was average to good but a bit monotonous after four days despite the niece daily pear tart. The orange juice was made from concentrate. The bread, croissants etc. we're nice and fresh, though.

Tips: get a quiet room facing the courtyard and make the most of the free water bottles.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Axel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCondadoManager, Director General at Condado Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest;
Excellent review. Congrats!!
It will be very helpful for future visitors. I have noted your comments regarding breakfast. We will do our best to improve the variety of breakfast products.

Thank you for your time reviewing your experience in Barcelona, kind regards, Ignacio Casellas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    614
    115
    23
    7
See reviews for
245
657
51
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Quick business visit to BCN, chose this hotel as it was close to a venue where I had to attend an event. Room was confortable, location was excellent, services fine. Wake-up call requested was right on time, also ordered a taxi for the apt which was waiting outside when I left the hotel. excellent rate, good value

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelmontreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in the hotel 4 nights last June.The room was very clean,comfortable and well furnished. The staff was very polite. The location was ideal, 10 minutes walk from metro station Diagonal and a bus stop across the road. If you like walking you can walk all the way from the hotel to Placa Catalunya in about half an hour. We did that route at the first day of our trip and we had the chance for a first exploration of Barcelona. For those who enjoy nightlife hotel Condado is ideal too, because there are some clubs in Aribau street.

All in all, our trip in Barcelona was an unforgetable experience and so did our staying in hotel Condado. We recommend it to anyone who wants to get a taste of Barcelona!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katerina_n90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The location is nice, off avinguda diagonal. The staff understood English well enough, and helped me figure out the trains to the airport during a taxi strike. The internet worked well enough and there were free bottles of water in fridges everywhere. Had a nice time. Seems like a nice value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel had nice rooms. My view was not the greatest (air condition vents). It was in a Everyman safe and convenient location. We were able to take the on/off bus a few blocks away. There was a club across the street and many shops and restaurants around within walking distance. There was free wifi and the business center also had computers and printers for your use if needed. The hotel also offered free refrigerated waters in the hallways. The beds were comfy... Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spend a week at this hotel in Barcelona with a female friend and my 3 years old boy, I known the city quite well but my friend book the place.
The hotel is pretty average, clean and modern, paying over 200 euros for a not very confortable bed for a lithe boy in a not very big room wasn't ideal, also the hotel charges about 12 euros for breakfast which I found a bit too much, you can go to any of the differents cafes close by and spend half of the money if not less for the same and also enjoy the company of the friendly locals.
I found most of the staff friendly, with a couple of grumpy unhelpfull ones but overall the staff were pleasent.
The wi-fi works well depending of which bit of the hotel you are in, good in the lobby but not access in our room, I imagine there will be other areas where the signal is better.
the AC doesn't seem to work.

The locations is ok, not really close to any metro station specially if you are with a young family.
Next time I would choose a hotel close to paseo de gracia, plaza cataluna or the areas a s a tourist you are going to visit.
Considering the price (900 euros for a week for 2 adults+3 years old) I would rather stay somewhere else, better location, better room, better facilities and breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for good wifi signal in your room rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCondadoManager, Director General at Condado Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your review which it will be very helpful for future visitors.

Unfortunately, your calculator does not work well. €900/ 7 days; the daily amount is much cheaper than one mentioned in your review.

Our triple rooms feature aprox. 25 m2. Same surface per person than a twin room.

Indeed, as in the vast majority of buildings, the wifi signal is not the same in every corner.

However, access is the minimum desired in all rooms. I would like to clarify that guest devices are important in this issue as the signal can be better or worse. Not only is the fault of the hotel's wifi coverage. At least, you did not pay for the service.

On the other hand, the air conditioning has not had any incidence throughout the year 2013. Did you ask how the control console in your room worked?

Obviously, your comment is given by your disappointment in the choice of your friend.

As you know well Barcelona's city, if you want to book a hotel near the Plaza Catalunya (I remind you that we are just four blocks from the elegant Passeig de Gràcia ) and better hotel with better facilities fix your calculator before booking .

If you want to resolve any questions or comments, please, you can easily find our email or our phone on this same site.

In any case, thanks for visiting Barcelona and I regret the disappointing choice of hotel by her friend.

Yours sincerely, Ignacio Casellas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Condado in October. Our room was quiet, roomy and clean. The hotel was an easy 10 minute walk to the Metro; also there were buses within 2 minutes. Nearby, there were many bars and restaurants to choose from. The Front Desk staff were very helpful and friendly. We believe this hotel is a terrific bargain.

Room Tip: Our very quiet room was on the 7th floor, not facing the street. No view but peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EAJ5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Via Augusta
#182 of 513 in Barcelona
886 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#192 of 513 in Barcelona
1,880 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#107 of 513 in Barcelona
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Aparthotel Silver
Aparthotel Silver
#62 of 513 in Barcelona
964 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#161 of 513 in Barcelona
757 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#90 of 513 in Barcelona
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condado Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Hotel Barcelona

Property: Condado Hotel Barcelona
Address: Aribau 201, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Condado Hotel Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Condado Barcelona has a privileged location at the business and shopping hub of Barcelona's Diagonal Avenue, just a few minutes away from Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Catalunya and the famous modern style route. We offer a personalised service, absolutely focussed to our guest’s satisfaction during your stay in our city, Barcelona. The was recently fully refurbished, reaching an avant-garde and a very comfortable atmosphere like most boutique hotels in the world.In addition, the Hotel is located in an upmarket residential area of central Barcelona within walking distance to famous modern style route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Condado Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Condado Hotel
Condado Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing