We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base and reasonable value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Condado Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #168 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“A good base and reasonable value.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This comfortable hotel is North of most the main attractions, just off the Avenue Diagonal. 3km West of Sagrada Familia. Ideal for the Hop On Hop Off tourist bus as both it's red and blue routes use the Diagonal 5 mins from the hotel door. 10mins walk from Diagonal metro. Around 25 minutes walk from La Ramblas. Set in a nice neighbourhood with bars, restaurants or coffee stops scattered around most blocks in the locality, though there is not one focal point or square that will draw you to it.

We arrived around midday for our five night stay here. Caught renfre train from airport using a T10 ticket, change at Sants Eustacio onto L3 metro (or can do L5 as we later discovered) to Diagonal. Though check in was 2pm our room was ready. Clean and modern looking room, unlike the hotel which is a little dated. We had a 7th floor room (there are 8 floors) with an outside patio with distant down street views of the sea in one direction and the Tibidabo church high up on the hill in the other. Really good glazing and soundproofing made it a super quiet room, and quality curtains kept out the light if you need help sleeping. There are no in room coffee making facilities but there are water bottles in fridges on every floor, useful for setting you up for each journey out sightseeing. TV with English speaking channels. WiFi worked fine with a good signal most of the time. En suite room with good hot shower and toilet behind separate glass doors off either side of the sink. Not that private if you are sharing a twin with someone you don't know all that well, so beware! Generally clean and room service good, maid never appeared too early. Had a few ants scurrying the toilet floor, but not an epidemic.

Breakfast was reasonable. Consistent daily spread. Usual Selection of hot and cold, eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, pastries, cold meats, yoghurts etc. Everything self serve, including a slightly erratic coffee machine. Sausage and Bacon were disappointing quality for a country celebrated for its ham. Everything else fine.

Service overall very good, a mature set of staff, I would guess long serving. Overall a good base without being anything spectacular. Value for money about right for three star, if you want somewhere a little closer to the centre of everything you'll pay more and probably get the same. We booked quite early as it was Easter but the price dropped if we had left it late to book. So this hotel isn't that popular you should be able leave it late to book and save money. And if you are not big on breakfast save yourselves more money, it's not a big deal, unless you book direct with the hotel and get it included for free.

In summary a good base, and five nights is enough to see a lot of Barcelona, even without tour buses and lots of walking as we did. You could probably do it in four, unless you like Gaudi and like to pay to see his architecture everywhere!

Have fun and enjoy Barcelona!

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms have balconies, and the glazing is enough to keep the room quiet even if it does ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealGoneKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    621
    115
    23
    7
See reviews for
248
664
51
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed for four nights with my wife. Rooms although not large are very clean, tidy and extremely good value. Our room at the back of the hotel had a small balcony overlooking a square of apartment blocks, not a good view but it was very nice to sit out after a long day touring the city. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the free bottles of water, in fridges on each floor, were an added beneficial refreshment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel with the balcony, although surrounded by apartments it was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Having just visited Barcelona for the first time my husband and I were guided by the reports on tripadvisor to the Hotel Condado. We were not disappointed and had a lovely few days. The hotel itself is excellent and well placed and the staff could not have been more helpful.
There are lots of lovely restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel and the tour busses are easily accessible.
We will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Weighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I would expect to pay much more for a hotel of this quality in this location. Six of us spent three nights at Hotel Condado and were thoroughly delighted with the quality of the hotel, the service from the friendly and helpful staff and the very reasonable price. The owner, the lovely Ignacio kindly gave us excellent recommendations for eateries close by. The hotel is close to the central hub of the city (approx 25 mins walk through busy and interesting streets) and off one of the main avenues of the city. Breakfasts were varied and delicious. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and well resourced. We loved it and wouldn't stay anywhere else if we're ever lucky enough to return to Barcelona one day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mtgclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed with my wife in the hotel for 3 nights and the experience was super. Very clean rooms, spacious, very friendly staff. Though it's stated when we booked that check-in was till midnight but we arrived at 2am due to flight delay but they were there and the room was ready and took us seconds to check in. The locations is very nice and close to a lot of stuff.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Barcelona either pleasure or business and I now know where I'm staying for my next visit.
Thank you Condado
You made our stay memorable

Room Tip: Everyone in their reviews stated to take a room at the back coz of their quietness so I asked for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrHamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashhad, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have been there for 3 nights ......only 10 min walkng to diagnal station ....we can reach the bus by 3 min walking .....very clean.....comfortable bed ....big room....for first time they put a bascket of fruits in our room .....service was great.....staff were so helpful ....where ever we wanted to go they helped us and showed th route on the map....if u dont want use beach of barcelona ....the location of this hotel is great ..... I definitely recommend this hotel. ?.....reserve more stars honestly. ?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahar-arian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

There is nothing pretentious about this hotel located right off of avenue diagonal. It is clean, has a very friendly staff who speak multiple languages and it also has free wifi!! The one thing to remember about this place is the complimentary bottles of water in the hallways and in the lobby. They come in so handy after a day out exploring Barcelona. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona. You will not regret it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Redux27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#193 of 512 in Barcelona
1,903 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#105 of 512 in Barcelona
392 reviews
Hotel Via Augusta
#181 of 512 in Barcelona
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#110 of 512 in Barcelona
1,895 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#169 of 512 in Barcelona
772 reviews
Gracia
Aparthotel Silver
Aparthotel Silver
#60 of 512 in Barcelona
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condado Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Hotel Barcelona

Property: Condado Hotel Barcelona
Address: Aribau 201, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Condado Hotel Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Condado Barcelona has a privileged location at the business and shopping hub of Barcelona's Diagonal Avenue, just a few minutes away from Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Catalunya and the famous modern style route. We offer a personalised service, absolutely focussed to our guest’s satisfaction during your stay in our city, Barcelona. The was recently fully refurbished, reaching an avant-garde and a very comfortable atmosphere like most boutique hotels in the world.In addition, the Hotel is located in an upmarket residential area of central Barcelona within walking distance to famous modern style route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Condado Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Condado Hotel
Condado Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing