We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value but spend a little more for a quiet room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
Ranked #247 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value but spend a little more for a quiet room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great value hotel in the older part of the city. Cheaper rooms are at the front right on the main road and are small and noisy. Spend a little more for a quiet stay. Highlight is breakfast which is probably the best I've had anywhere in the world!
Be aware that the hotel has recently changed name and some taxi drivers dont know where it is! Take the address with you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    548
    247
    83
    54
See reviews for
183
546
81
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

What a little gem! Think some of the other reviewers must have been staying at a different hotel. I'm amazed in particular at some of the negative comments left by some about the staff, who I found were amongst the most courteous, friendly and professional of any hotel staff I have come across. Always rushed off their feet they were nevertheless always polite and helpful.

On our last night, the poor lad on the counter had to deal with a really impolite German customer(by the way - I know not all Germans are impolite!) all on his own but still dealt with us with perfect professionalism once the matter had been sorted out. If that is typical of a night's work (he was still on the counter in the morning!) I'm not surprised if they may seem a little less than 'singing and dancing' all the time!

Standard rooms were a little too small so it's worth upgrading to a superior room if you can stretch to it. Also, not a bad location if you don't ind being a little bit out of the centre.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior for an extra 20 euros per night if you can afford it. It makes a huge differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay_collinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the negatives- left my kindle in the room on departure, my fault I know but despite phone calls, emails and letters somehow the maid did not find it?!
Rooms very small and dirty, beds hard so are pillows , bath had ring stains around the tub.
Reception staff rude and ignorant but staff in the restaurant a little friendlier and I must say the breakfast was excellent lots if choice and eggs cooked in front if you as well as omelettes.
El Clot is the train station which is also the metro which is just across the road so it's very easy to get into the City Centre and to the airport.
I didn't feel exactly safe in this City and I think that my judgement has been clouded by my kindle being stolen and we went to the Sagrada Familia one evening only to be targeted by a man who flicked coffee over the back of our clothes, apparently he was marking us so the rest if his gang would rob us further up the street!
I've waited a few weeks to write my review thinking I would not write due to emotions but I still didn't like the hotel and think there are better places to stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolJeanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azur, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

we asked for special treatment for our honeymoon .they were cold to suggest somthing . we wanted to see that they remmember us for 5 days of our honeymoon.
nothing .

in addition the bed was not good to sleep. very bad matress

Room Tip: its far from the center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assaf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

After having stayed in Barca once before, but in an apartment, we were looking for a different experience. As my 15 yr old son and I were travelling around for nearly a month, we chose twin rooms in all of out bookings to save money on two rooms. For the price, the room was an adequate size, was very clean, and well maintained. The staff from the front desk to the restaurant were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Our only small issue was that the door between the living area (bed / tv area), and the bathroom / toilet was glass, and not sealed as a normal door would be. It was initially awkward, but we worked around it. All in all we would recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Confirm the bed types if that could be an issue (a double bed for us would have not been quite right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccermum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Very clean. Very good breakfast, there is a special person who cooks eggs and bacon for you the way you desire. Free WiFi works very good. Hairdryer exists. Pillows are not comfortable, but everything else is. Our room did not have refrigirator in it.But it had AC. Overall the hotel is highly recommended. The location is not in the tourism center but close to metro.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank teudatole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longridge, Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Good location close to Metro so convenient to all attractions as well as the airport.
Hotel extremely clean and comfortable with really friendly staff. Beds really comfortable.
Breakfasts were great with a wide choice cooked and uncooked dishes and wide choice of breads - baguettes, rolls croissants as well as doughnuts and other sweet treats. Dinner menu although not extensive was very well cooked and good quality.
The pool although small and rather chilly in September was very refreshing after a day's sightseeing.
Altogether an enjoyable stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMarie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Albeniz
Catalonia Albeniz
#202 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#253 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sagrada Familia
Hotel Sagrada Familia
#239 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Barcelona Sagrada Familia
2.1 mi away
Catalonia Park Guell
Catalonia Park Guell
#336 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.1 mi away
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#347 of 521 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia

Property: Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
Address: Aragon 569 Bis, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Sagrada Familia (formerly known as Catalonia Aragon) is situated on one of the most important streets in Barcelona, Calle Aragon, only a few metres from La Sagrada Familia. This hotel with swimming pool and free Wi-Fi is perfect for those who want to move around this vibrant Mediterranean city with ease and enjoy all it has to offer in tourism, gastronomy and culture. The hotel also offers a fitness room with free access to all customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Aragon Barcelona
Catalonia Aragon Hotel
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing