We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,596 results
Traveller rating
393
717
308
100
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
717
308
100
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el clot clot metro station sagrada familia direct train premium room minute walk hotel is located per day the hotel is clean pleasant stay mini bar breakfast was excellent main attractions small pool la rambla airport city
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,596 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

I booked a weeks stay at this hotel through Expedia with full payment to be taken by the hotel on check in. We arrived at 10.30pm on a Friday night to be advised that our booking had been cancelled and that the hotel was fully booked. The receptionist was uniterested and whilst Expedia did call the hotel to discuss the cancellation, the receptionist kept repeating that they were full and eventually hung up on Expedia. By 11.30pm we were on the street looking for another hotel.

Room Tip: Re-confirm your booking before you travel
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear John W,
Thank you for sharing your impression through the Tripadvisor website. We regret what you indicated with your reservation, usually the hotel does not cancel your reservations if they are correctly managed by the agency. In any case, if your agency, in this case Expedia, canceled your reservation, they usually notify their clients in advance. On many occasions we have guests looking for accommodation and if the hotel does not have them we help them find another better option. We are always available to help our guests as well as other travelers and tourists, for which I regret receiving your feedback.
We are at your disposal for any additional consultation that you require.
sincerely,
Evelyn Mata
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Had an 8 day stay here. Loved it! Staff and rooms were great. Would recommend as a great central base for a stay in the city. Had a single room but it was spacious and clean and modern with a little balcony to relax after a day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Heidi B,

We appreciate that you share your opinion on the Tripadvisor website. To know that you have been very well during your days in Barcelona makes us very happy. Being able to contribute to great experiences in the city is an honor.
We hope to continue being your reference point for your next visit!
Best regards,
Evelyn Mata
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

After a bad experience at Barcelona airport during a taxi strike. We finally arrived at the hotel. Staff were attentive and understanding and made every effort to make us welcome. The taxi strike continued for our whole stay but the staff helped direct us to buses and trains to get us around. Breakfast was great, a wide and varied choice of food to suit almost anyone. Situated close to transport made it easy to navigate ourselves without being stuck in a crowded tourist hub.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Darren S,
We appreciate that you share your experience through the Tripadvisor website, with us and with future travelers. There is nothing better than your impressions to know the quality of our service. We are happy to know that, despite your experience at the airport, we were able to make you comfortable and well during your days in Barcelona. We are also pleased to know that you could enjoy the Premium Buffet breakfast, which we take care of in detail for the enjoyment of our guests.
We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Barcelona!
Sincerely,
Evelyn Mata
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to El Clot- Arago railway station which is on the R2 line from the airport and Barcelona Sants railway station and also Metro Lines 1 & 2. As our 3 day stay coincided with a 7 day taxi strike in Barcelona, we easily traveled everywhere by train and metro. We arrived at the hotel around 8.30am after a 27 hour flight from Sydney and were greeted by Aleix on reception who kindly offered us early access to our room. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The air con was great. The room contained a small fridge and a safe. The hotel is located away from the main touristy section of Barcelona but this suited us as we prefer to eat where the locals eat. There are lots of small cafes and bars within a 3 minute walk. We walked to the Basilica Sagrada Familia which was an easy 15 minute walk. If you plan to walk to the Basilica, I recommend you walk along Carrer de Valencia instead of Carrer dArago as it is much quieter and you are more likely to see the locals out walking their dogs and doing their shopping. Aleix on reception was very helpful again when we needed to make an urgent call to Australia. There is a pool on the roof top but it is much smaller than it looks in the photos but is fine for cooling off. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Kay C,
We appreciate that you share the opinion of your stay at the Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia. We are very happy to know that you have been very well during your days in Barcelona and that the location and the staff of the hotel have contributed to make them special days. We believe that your comment will be very useful for future hotel guests as it perfectly defines the possibilities we have with our location. In fact, you can visit more common areas of the autochthonous people of Barcelona. We take into account, in particular, your comment to Aleix of reception, we will extend your impression and we thank you for mentioning it.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Best regards,
Evelyn Mata
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Hotel is situated very near metro so easily accessible to anywhere. A few small places in the immediate area to eat tapas and have a few drinks but not loads. If you don’t want to get the metro at night into town the hotel has a restaurant which if it’s uo to the standard the breakfast was then it’s definately worth a visit. The room was the standard expected of this star hotel and we were certainly very happy with it, only thing was it would have been nice to have coffee and tea making facilities but these are only in premium rooms. We did have a few issues with the sink but theses were sorted and we were moved rooms and given free breakfast to compensate. The breakfast was excellent value for the money and would highly recommend , great choice of continental and English breakfast. There is a bar that you could have a drink in the evening and we would have a cocktail when we arrived back. We had two bar staff and the were both excellent but Manuel(think that was his name) was particularly lovely and the hotel should be very happy to have such an asset. Also must mention Alex from reception who was incredibly helpful with information and so pleasant. Again an asset to the hotel.
On the hotels facilities, we did visit the pool but it’s very small and due to the buildings around all being high only gets the sun very briefly in the afternoon. We didn’t use the gym. The room was air conditioned which was also great . Would recommend this hotel unless you like a more central hotel as you do need to take the metro to main sites and choice of restaurants in the evening, although metro easy to use once you get the hang of it.

Room Tip: We were happy with what we had and don’t know what others were like but could see balconies on some, maybe some premium?
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank jgrierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear jgrierson,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience through the Tripadvisor website in reference to your stay at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia. It has made us happy to know that your stay has been absolutely to your liking. Your comment will be very useful for our future guests since it is very complete. We have been happy to know that your stay has been absolutely to your liking.
We offer Premium Buffet breakfast with Show cooking, which is very complete offering a wide variety of food and beverages. As you indicate, it is recommended to try it to all our guests. The location of the hotel, in the Sant Martí neighborhood, makes it ideal for visiting any point of Barcelona. Being able to move with metro in few stops you have the center or in half an hour you can reach the airport.
We take into account, in particular, your comments in reference to the staff of the hotel, we will extend your comment to them and we greatly appreciate the time spent in indicating your impression.
We hope to receive you again very soon!
Best regards,
Evelyn Mata
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews