We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, great location”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #268 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good price, great location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is a nice little hotel for those on a budget who want a hotel in a central location with good links to transport. The airport bus drops you just 100 yds from the hotel and Universitat metro is in the same place. Placa Catalunya is only a 10 minute walk, as is Rambla.

We were given a very nice room with its own balcony. Adequately furnished with a really nice bathroom and a good strong Wifi signal. Since this was only a one night stay we had all we wanted.

Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and, although we did not eat in the hotel there are a number of cafes and an all-night mini-market just a few yards away and all that Barcelona has to offer within minutes.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    306
    112
    38
    22
See reviews for
94
249
108
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Decent hotel in a central spot for the Fiera Conference Centre and nightlife. Only drawback was no iron in bedroom or indeed in hotel, so it was a case of turning the shower on to full tilt, hanging up the shirt and closing the door for 10 mins. Other than that very good value for the money and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damiandoherty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We arrived to find we had been lucky enough to have a top floor room with balcony overlooking the main road from the airport in to the centre of Barcelona. The hotel is situated within walking distance of many tourist attractions and very close to two Metro stations which were efficient and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room surpassed our expectations. We didn't eat in the hotel as there is so much choice to be had locally. It's worth staying away from the main touristy areas if you want eat cheaper, we found a little local bar with tapas for only €1 each. When we return to Barcelona in a few years time We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Well looked after by hotel staff. Central location. Upgraded to superior room for no extra charge. Rooms cleaned daily and towels change. Did not eat in the hotel - many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherbear48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for business and had a large room on 6th floor with balcony. Hotel stairwells are a bit bland, but the room itself was very clean and well equipped. Nice Balcony overlooking the back of hotel. Staff very efficient and friendly. A small problem with the sink in bathroom was quickly repaired. A great location and close to the Rambla, with a main metro station 3 mins away giving you access to Barcelona. Pleasant and reasonably priced, will defo return

Room Tip: rooms on top floor have large balconies with chairs and table
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Very convenient location. We walked to Las Ramblas/Placa de Catalunya everyday. Its a block away from the Universitat Metro stop. The hotel is clean and had enough space for us. The sheets and towel smells like vinegar though maybe thats what they use as disinfectant. The towels were thin. The ladies at the front desk were friendly and helpful however there was an older gentleman in the night shift who is grumpy as hell. Spanish channels only. Wi-Fi works. Our hotel is facing Gran Via and we slept fine.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gazelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed in the Caledonian for a long weekend and the staff were the friendliest ever without being intrusive. They always had a smile and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in a great location to explore Barcelona from. It is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is adequate but not over the top and again the staff at breakfast never seem to stop they are always replenishing and clearing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a break of a week or less, it is just the ticket

Room Tip: Couldn't get better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLM544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Acta Splendid
Hotel Acta Splendid
#226 of 513 in Barcelona
735 reviews
El Raval
Sunotel Central
Sunotel Central
#320 of 513 in Barcelona
737 reviews
El Raval
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
#295 of 513 in Barcelona
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#231 of 513 in Barcelona
1,042 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#234 of 513 in Barcelona
255 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#332 of 513 in Barcelona
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 574, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#161 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing