We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Hesperia Barcelona Presidente
Ranked #142 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days in October while I was in Barcelona with colleagues on business. It was expensive but since the company was paying for it I can't complain.

The hotel is in a great location - very close to shops / bars / restaurants / tourist attractions.

We ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel every day and the food was very nice. Conference facilities were also good - we had a decent sized room and staff were quick to adjust the air con for us when required..

The bar and lobby area was very nice with big couches, and there was also a terrace on the 9th floor with great views over the city.

My bedroom was nice and fairly modern, with a massive comfy bed and nice trendy decor. The only issue was the bath was open into the room, not in a separate room, so the full room steamed up when I had a shower. Also, the shower pressure was terrible and took me a good 10-15mins to rinse the shampoo out my hair, further adding to the steam in the room.

The room had bath / shower, separate toilet, complimentary toiletries, flat screen TV, mini bar, coffee machine, and air con.

I was surprised the window opened up fully since I was on the 16th floor, but no complaints as it was good to get some air in and hear the noise from the city. It wasn't too noisy at night as there were two sets of windows to reduce noise. Great views out my bedroom window.

The main problem with the hotel was that reception staff were slow, with typically only one person serving you (with another 1 or 2 looking on from behind which was annoying), and the 2 elevators were small and slow. Staying on the 16th floor meant I wasn't eager to take the stairs so often had to wait a long time on the lift.

The hotel was very nice though and couldn't fault the location. It also looked expensive with a very nice reception and bar area.

Room Tip: ask for high floor for excellent views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    501
    112
    39
    11
See reviews for
156
396
51
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great location and fantastic price for the value. Breakfast is very nice with good choice. The junior suites are nice, but soon they need to do some renovation (carpets, divans). The room has an espresso machine (not Nespresso). The room is still modern.
At the reception they are always slow. Fitness is too small and needs upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here in June for 3 nights. Booked through Priceline.com. It's location was not as near the attractions as stated but a 10 euro cab ride would get you there. The lobby was nice. We found our room to be clean and spacious. Bed was comfortable. We and our travelling companions went to the bar area upstairs to have a drink but the selection was limited so we went down the street to a great spot. There are a couple of nice cafés and restaurants near there. Overall, we would stay there again. Just a note, be sure to bring your copy of the priceline confirmation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRP94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had never been to this hotel and found it on Trip Advisor. We loved it! The lobby was beautiful and our room was spacious, comfortable and cool! Everyone there was very nice! I will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khanebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Far from all attractions, be aware this hotel is not accommodating. Staff was very rude and unprofessional would not aid to our need or request. Would never stay at this hotel it ruined my holiday, my husband and I left and stayed at another hotel a couple of doors down.
Would not recommend this hotel even to my worst enemy.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here last year, made the booking on LastMinute.com, noticed right after the booking was submitted that I had somehow accidentally selected a check-out of Monday when I meant to check-out the day before, which cost me an additional €100. I immediately contacted the hotel to try to change the date and get a refund, but they said very sorry, because I booked with LastMinute, I could only change with them.

I contacted LastMinute, who were very helpful, and said if the hotel would agree to change the date, they would be happy to refund the extra €100. I forwarded this email to the hotel, and the "Bookings Jefe" responded and said he was very sorry, but it was clearly a no-refund booking I could not possibly convince him to change the date back to Sunday for me, even if I leave on Sunday I will still be charged for the extra day, thanks for my interest. I wrote them a letter but no response.

Finally seeing no other option, I angrily visited the hotel and found a very nice place, with a beautiful view Avignuda Diagona, a terrific and very clean room, great service in the lobby, and a reasonable price per night, even if their reservations chief was a bit of an idiot.

All in all great stay, just be sure you don't let them have any money you're not 100% sure you want them to keep.

Room Tip: Ask for confirmation of view of Diagonal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great hotel. Friendly staff and clean modern room that has good soundproofing. Room is larger than other hotel rooms I've seen. Soft big bed. If you get a room on the upper floors, you have a great view of Barcelona and the ocean. Large shower stall, but no tub, but it really didn't bother me because it was a nice bathroom. About a 15 minute walk from the metro. Diagonal avenue has lots or restaurants and shops and is very safe. If you don't mind walking, you can walk down Passeig de Gracia, which has lots of places to shop, and be at the Rambla in 30 minutes and not even have to take the metro. Only wish hotel staff spoke English a little better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deemo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#73 of 513 in Barcelona
1,941 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
933 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#144 of 513 in Barcelona
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#169 of 513 in Barcelona
1,268 reviews
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#217 of 513 in Barcelona
1,315 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#93 of 513 in Barcelona
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Hesperia Barcelona Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Hesperia Barcelona Presidente

Property: NH Hesperia Barcelona Presidente
Address: Avda. Diagonal, 570, 08021 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Tryp Presidente Hotel)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#102 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#158 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Hesperia Barcelona Presidente 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Presidente hotel made an impressive addition to the Barcelona skyline when it opened its doors in 1964. Located in the geographical heart of the city, it’s still a significant landmark, with easy access to the city’s business district, shops, restaurants, nightlife and tourist attractions – including the Paseo de Gracia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Hesperia Barcelona Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Presidente Barcelona
Hesperia Presidente Hotel Barcelona
NH Hesperia Barcelona Presidente Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing