We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and only partially refurbished, rooms smell terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hesperia Presidente
Ranked #132 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Old and only partially refurbished, rooms smell terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I don't know if it was bad luck, or bad room, but my room smelled horrible (a mix of old and sweat), and despite leaving opening the window for hours it didn't go away. Furthermore the hotel is pretty old and despite some attempts to refurbish it, the signs it's an old hotel are still there. The only positives are the location and the breakfast, which is up to NH standards (which are good), but given that Spain has plenty of good hotel chains (and NH as well has much better hotels than this one) this hotel is not worth the price. To add to that, it took me 10 mins to check out as the 2 people at the front desk were clearly overworked and had to answer phones all the time. Not going again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cla114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    465
    106
    33
    11
See reviews for
141
373
46
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a great stay for 3 nights. The Location was perfect. 10 minutes away from Diagonal Metro link so really hand to get anywhere.. But not to central and in amongst the chaos of Las Ramblas..

There were lots of cafés bars and restaurants close to the hotel too if you didn't fancy venturing in to the centre for breakfast, lunch or dinner..

We would definitely stay there again..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have stayed three nights at Hesperia Presidente. It is conveniently located on famous Avenida Diagonal, with superb views of the city and even the sea, and it takes a short taxi ride from Airport Bus station, around 6-7 Euro. The rooms are large and offer free wifi. Breakfast was really good and included an assorted offer of bread and pastries. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby. It is a very good choice in Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertbsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, did not want to leave. Beds and pillows so........ lovely, best sleep had for a very long time. All hotel staff were polite and helpful. The best part...? It's between the shower and the views!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Audry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel - the rooms were large, well appointed, very clean. The bathroom was really large too. Overall really comfortable. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choices and you can ask the waiters to make your eggs the way you want them.

We really liked the location - it is away from the busy city centre, yet not too far so that you can get to everything really comfortably. There is a bus just in front of the hotel that will take you to the centre in about 15 minutes, the tickets are very inexpensive. Another bus will take you directly to the Sagrada Familia cathedral. We preferred this location to being in the very centre of Barcelona. There are some nice restaurants nearby as well as some shops.

When going back to the airport it was really easy to take one of the buses just outside the hotel and get to Plaza Catalunya, then take the direct bus that goes from there to the airport.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and when we come back to Barcelona we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe C, Gerente at Hesperia Presidente, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Hela,
It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you your five points!
Your review describes the location of the hotel very well and gives such a good advice on transportation. I am sure this will be useful for future guests to get a sense of the convenience of the area.
We would love to have you stay with us in your next time in Barcelona!
Yours sincerely,
Felipe Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed in Barcelona for a few days and booked the Presidente Hotel in Barcelona. The location was great and the staff and room were outstanding. The hotel is set in a commercial area, a lot of stores and people, so felt safe staying in this area, even while walking alone at night. Would stay there again next time in Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveinDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe C, Gerente at Hesperia Presidente, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Livein,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and for your five point review!
I am delight to read that you have left with a great impression of our hotel. Our staff like to ensure that our guests feel welcome and at home when staying with us and so I am pleased that your appreciate that.
We cannot wait for welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Felipe Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel few streets away from the famous paseo de gracia. The rooms have renovated bathroooms. The not so clean carpet makes the stay unfortunatelly some points lower as it would deserve regarding cleanliness. The breakfast buffet is very good. The fitness center is small but fit for purpose.
What I enjoyed particularly is to use the staircase to walk up to my room in the upper part of the hotel and enjoy the view to the city and the (far away) sea.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe C, Gerente at Hesperia Presidente, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hello Kathy,

Thank you very much for your feed-back!
I am very glad that you enjoyed the views from the main staircase. I must admit that I do use them myself every so often for the same reason!
The fact that you liked our breakfast and your mention about the gym (small but fit for purpose) lead us to think of you as a person who likes to take good care of oneself. We like that!
If you visit us again later this year, you will see the carpet replaced, as this is planned for the next few months.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kind regards,
Felipe Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#77 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#160 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#66 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#216 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#130 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#139 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Presidente

Property: Hesperia Presidente
Address: Avda. Diagonal, 570, 08021 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Tryp Presidente Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#96 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#158 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Presidente 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Presidente hotel made an impressive addition to the Barcelona skyline when it opened its doors in 1964. Located in the geographical heart of the city, it’s still a significant landmark, with easy access to the city’s business district, shops, restaurants, nightlife and tourist attractions – including the Paseo de Gracia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hesperia Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Presidente Barcelona, Catalonia
Hesperia Presidente Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing