We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hesperia Presidente
Ranked #134 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall good experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Hotel is clean and semi-central. It is close to bus station and 10 min walk from metro station. It is very clean and the staff is helpful. We had a problem with the room in what regards the noise coming from a pipe and they changed our room immediately. The staff speaks English very good. We didn't have breakfast so I cannot tell anything about it. The room was big enough but the bed was not a matrimonial one as we requested in the booking. 2 beds were joined together. The biggest minus about this hotel is the fact that the rooms are not sound proof so you can hear noises from the other rooms. They have good Wi-Fi connection in some rooms, you should ask for a room with high signal when you check in.
All in all good experience. I would recommend this place as a safe bet even if is not impressive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good Wi-fi connection and on higher floors because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe C, General Manager at Hesperia Presidente, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear Raul05

First of all, I want to thank you for having selected our hotel for your stay in Bacelona.

Is a wonderful new that your NH experience was satisfactory. I hope that you can taste our Anti-Ox breakfast in your next visit.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    471
    108
    34
    11
See reviews for
142
379
46
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Having booked this hotel through a package deal I was disappointed to read the last review. However I am please to say that I can disregard all that was said.
I love the layout of the room, we have a superior room, the bed is humongous and an actual double, not 2 singles pushed together. there is a nice living area and the TV is good quality (managed to catch the end of a premier league game after an afternoons rambling).
The best bit is the bathroom. The shower is amazing I could have spend the whole weekend in there and I like the fact that it is separate from the toilet and they are both behind closed doors. The sink and mirror area is a great size with ample space for 2 to brush their teeth etc.
The staff were great and allowed us to check in early.
The breakfast is delicious, a great selection of cold cuts, cheeses, pastries and fruits. There is also eggs, sausages and bacon, my one recommendation would be to keep the hot food hot and maybe knock out a few fried eggs!
All in all I would say that this is as it purports to be, a four star hotel. And a good one at that!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

As a tourist I booked this hotel on a discount third party booking site, paying 70 Euros, for a room, not bad for the price, but not worth the full rack rate. The hotel is clean and well maintained, the staff the front desk good.

The rooms are poorly laid out, with a pillar in the middle of the room, no door seperating the bathroom from the rest of the room and generally lots of noise from other rooms. Wireless Internet reception was very weak in the rooms, fine in the lobby.

The location is on a Main Street, but a 10 minute walk from the metro. Not a big deal unless you are coming and going from the hotel a lot.

Most disappointing was the hotel restaurant, 19 Euros for a cold self serve breakfast, poorly staffed. Skip the hotel breakfast and felt a full hot breakfast at any of the many cafés around for half the price.

All in all, if you are in Barcelona and find this hotel on line it's an okay, but not exceptional option.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigeryvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very clean and good location. Only take 5 mins to get to the main shopping street. And the area looks safe. Book early to get good deals. Staff speak English which helps a lot. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haocheng Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel was booked based on reviews on line and were as indicated. The location met our needs very well as it is close to shopping, the hop on hop off bus line and a great little restaurant across the street that served an excellent breakfast. We requested an upgrade and were surprised by the value for the money. We would definitely stay there again if in Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Svein R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe C, Manager at Hesperia Presidente, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Svein R

Thank you for your comments! We are glad to know that our reviews helped you make your decision on our hotel!

I am happy that you got to benefit of the upgrade! This is only available when the hotel is not sold out, so make sure to book one of those on your next visit!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location on a smart stretch of Avenida Diagonal with good clothes stores and a branch of El Corte Ingles within a couple of blocks. Rooms are clean and well-planned but SOME are extremely small and oddly designed - my first one was 3x3m for the bedroom area with a ludicrous 'wing' of bathroom and separate rooms for toilet, basin and shower.

Rooms facing Diagonal have a good view up the avenue, but the secondary glazing doesn't always shut tight because it's overdue for renewal. And it's not a question of 'category', either, there are much larger rooms available in the minimal grade so do not settle for something you don't like, even if the front desk staff are resilient to making a change.

Beyond that, the hotel has nothing in the way of bars, restaurants or amenities in which you'd want to spend time, so get out and enjoy the city itself.

Make your target price for a room around 100 Euro and you shouldn't be disappointed. Breakfast is 13 euro if you pre-pay it at check-in, 19 Euro if you pay as you go. It's continental with some very limited hot offering of flabby undercooked bacon and watery eggs in chafing dishes: if you had the chance to go out somewhere nicer, do it.

Room Tip: Insist on a CHOICE of rooms at check-in, and refuse anything too small or noisy. And check the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blowstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe C, Manager at Hesperia Presidente, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Blowstar,

Thank you for your coments. We are happy to know that you finally were assigned a room that met your expectations! The location of the hotel is indeed good whatever the purpose of your trip. I am however sorry to learn that you did not take advantage of our freshly made hot dishes on demand during breakfast.

We would be very happy to have you stay with us again so you can take profit of other features of the hotel you did not have the chance this time!

Best regards from Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We choose Hesperia Presidente for our one-week stay in Barcelona. Honestly speaking, we had expected an a bit worn-out hotel, and were very pleasantly surprised, especially with the room. It was very spacious, well-equipped, with nice furniture and a big recently renovated bathroom. There was plenty of space to store things, which is important if you stay for a couple of days. WIFI worked well. The service was OK.

The only drawback was breakfast at the price of 19 EUR per person per day – ridiculous. Because we stayed for a couple of days, we were offered a discount, but even 12 EUR per person is a bit too much. We decided to eat breakfasts elsewhere in the area, which was a good decision. We especially recommend a little bakery El Moli Vell (also reviewed on Tripadvisor) - great quality for not more than 5 EUR per person.

As for the location, we consider it perfect. A lot of places can be reached on foot, including Casa Batllo, Placa de Catalunya, La Sagrada Familia and even Camp Nou (we came back on foot after a match when buses were overcrowded). The distance from the nearest metro station is around 10-15 minutes, depending on your pace. If your legs are too tired after a few days of walking, you can also help yourself with a bus. The station is right in front of the hotel. Buses are very easy to use in Barcelona, as there are lines routes and maps on each station. Also, if you plan a combined bus+metro journey, you can do it on one ticket. Actually, you can even travel from or to the airport on one ticket – for 1,03 EUR per person! Cheap and convenient.

Generally, we do recommend the hotel and will come back ourselves when next time in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms at upper floors have fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malgorzatatomczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe C, Manager at Hesperia Presidente, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Malgorzatatomczyk,

Many thanks for your review. We are glad your overall impression was good and hope that on your next visit you may have the chance to treat yourself to our Anti-ox breakfast!

We belive the experience and the selection and quality of food is really worth trying!

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Barcelona!

– regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#79 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#159 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#68 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#211 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#130 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#157 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Presidente

Property: Hesperia Presidente
Address: Avda. Diagonal, 570, 08021 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Tryp Presidente Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#97 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#158 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Presidente 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Presidente hotel made an impressive addition to the Barcelona skyline when it opened its doors in 1964. Located in the geographical heart of the city, it’s still a significant landmark, with easy access to the city’s business district, shops, restaurants, nightlife and tourist attractions – including the Paseo de Gracia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, NHHotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hesperia Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Presidente Barcelona, Catalonia
Hesperia Presidente Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing