We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID - AVOID - AVOIDHostages in a hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
Ranked #323 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This is the first time I am held as a hostage in a hotel.
We were there as a football team participating in Barcelona Cup and I am one of the coaches. We stayed there 7 days. On the 4th day a wardrobe door fell from the wardrobe (a sliding piece of glass with a frame is the door) and hit one of the kids on the head. Thank god the boy was not hurt badly. The door ,as it was only glass, was teared into pieces. The bellboy came to the room after we were notified and we noticed that the wheel on the bottom of the door was faulty so as the door slided it went off the rail and fell down. The bellboy then apologised and gave instructions to the reception to change the room, something that didn't happen as the hotel was fully booked. The boys parents wanted to sue the hotel after this incident, but since they apologised we convinced them not to proceed.
On our check out day (after three days) we asked for a room for our luggage and were given one ,as we had to check out at 11 o clock but the bus would come on 4 o clock in the afternoon.
At 3 o clock the " joke of a manager" of the hotel came with an invoice of €215 as the cost for the broken door and demanded to pay!!! For three days we were told nothing, and one hour before leaving the hotel with our luggages locked in a room we had to pay to go!!!
After we refused to pay, as we explained the situation and that the hotel should apologise and that somebody could have been hurt badly from this incident, the "joke of a manager" of the hotel insisted that the door was broken from the boys. Actually the boys that was hurt parents got furious and the "joke of a manager" called the police who arrived without uniforms (4 of them) but with guns on their waist. In some stage the "joke of a manager" asked us to pay half the price to end the argumet (how cheap can this be as he insisted that the cost was €215). When the police arrived they were just looking and not intervening, and then we asked them if they were the police and if they were on duty. They replied yes to both questions. Then we asked them why they were there and replied that they came for coffee!!! Therefore we told them that the "joke of a manager" would not give us our luggage to go and we were held hostages and asked them to take action. One of them showed his gun and told us "pay". The bus was already waiting for 20 minutes and we could lose our flight. 64 people left on the decision of the so-called manager and the so-called police if they were to leave us go to the airport.
The most ridiculous part of the story is that we had 34 rooms booked for 7 nights and the least a chain of hotels like Catalonia Hotels is to be able to cover a minor damage even if it was made from the guests which in our case was a faulty door with a danger of a really bad accident.
What happened then is that we paid the €215 because we would lose the flight.
We reported the incident in the police at the airport and will proceed with legal actions from our country against this "joke of a manager" and the "joke of policemen" whom we have their faces in camera and also Catalonia Hotels.
Also we will report the " joke of a manager" to the higher hierarchy of the Catalonia Hotels Chain as he is a disgrace to their brand.

Now apart from the above incident.
-Location far away from centre
-Bar without bartender most of the time and some times they wouldn't have change and therefore would not give any drinks unless you didn't want change.
-Restaurant service a total disaster. Could wait for more than 20 minutes to replenish dishes in buffet and also plates. The same with breakfast as to replenish cheese or ham could take ages. Food though was tasty.
-Reception friendly and helpfull and could speak english.
-Manager a total joke!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sakiscyp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitedireccion, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear Customer,

As I comment on your stay at our hotel was a pleasure for us have the teams of your football academy housed with us.
During your stay you and your team congratulate the hotel staff and myself at the hotel, its services and facilities. You gave congratulations for the food, the attention of the reception and cleaning.
However, it seems that all this changed when we inform you that you would have to pay for damage caused by some players in one room.
You said we're going to regret collect damages. I guess you were referring to this.
Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

The worst hotel I have ever been!!!! Apart from being clean, there is nothing good about it. The service at the bar is bad, if you want to order something the front reception must call someone from the kitchen downstairs to come and serve the people and then go downstairs again. At the restaurant, the food was OK but if you are unlucky and its finished (especially when there is a group staying in the hotel), you must wait at least 15-20 minutes for food to come. The worst of all is that NOBODY of the people working there smiles!!!!! (Except a girl named Nuria if I remember good). Do I want to stay at a hotel and everyday see people who work there that seem to be going to a funeral??? Never Again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pambos2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is our last night here as apart of eftours and ii must say it's great. Breakfast and dinner are delectable. Thee staff is friendly and bilingual. There is wifi in every room, and thee trip to thee metro is 5 minutes and yhu can easily be in thee town centre....

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikole2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This hotel is part of a large chain that has hotels all over Barcelona. This one's in a middle-class suburb, you can reach the centre by a bus or metro (allow 30 minutes). We were in no rush and quite liked seeing everyday life, and there's some nice cafes for breakfast nearby. The hotel itself is not 4 star by UK standards- on our first night we were put in a room with a blocked sink and it really smelled, we complained in the morning and were told they would fix it but when we returned in the afternoon and spoke to the (different) shift manager there was no note about about it, but he was very apologetic and moved us to another room immediately. We also got a 6am wake up call for a group from Australia we had nothing to do with. The hotel was full of groups, and I would say it's more suitable for group tours than for couples. Apart from these little let-downs, I would say it's good value for money if you don't mind staying a bit out of town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fidiUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed for 4 nights, would consider more an irish 3star, but for a city visit was great, staff lovely , porters friendly, rooms very clean, didnt eat there so dont know. The distance to city centre was 10mins on bus approx depending on traffic, Bus stop outside the door, Bus service brilliant. Quiet at night , nice bar next door , good cafes for breakfast very near and supermarket close too. Overall great location and was much cheaper than city centre, If travelling from airport on coach, the no 58 takes you from very close to aircoach stop to very close to hotel. On your return to airport make sure you get correct bus going to your TERMINAL. there are 2 Over all had a brill time and would send friends to same hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbeykeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I've really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I was in Barcelona for a vacation, and this hotel was perfect. The room is very big, and very clean. The staff is very kind and willing to help. As I arrived very early in the morning, they've immediately offered to have my room ready several hours before the official check-in, and indeed, it was ready by 11. The room was very clean, spacious, great wi-fi connection. There's a mini-bar, but I didn't use it.
As to location - the hotel is not in the loud centre of town, but you can easily walk (lovely sights) or take a 10 mins ride on Metro (El Putxet station is just minutes away). Perfect if you want to party and return to a quiet area to sleep.
Breakfast was nice, though admittedly I'm not much of a breakfast person and am happy with pretty much anything.
Bottom line: a very nice, clean hotel in a resedential (but very lively area, full of coffeshops and restaurants!) area, perfect for a good night sleep. Great, huge rooms and bathrooms!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabelle_Leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitedireccion, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Dear Annabelle

Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are very much appreciated for all the staff.

We look forward to have you with us again.

Best regards

Javier Pérez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I stayed here in April 2010 with my wife and son (6 years) and found this to be a good hotel and good value for money.
Its very close to the El Putxet Metro station from where a direct train (L7 Line) 4-5 stops connects you to the centre (Catalunya station). The hotel is close to all major attractions on the metro. Being a residential area there are many shops and restaurants around this hotel which is useful.
The hotel was very clean and our room (A double room with extra bed) was huge and was very clean with a small mini bar. It had a large jacuzzi tub unfortunately not working and was not repaired even after I informed them about it. You can control the temperature of the room, but it only heats up the room, though there is no way to cool the room. When we informed the reception, they seem to think, we can cool the room and were ready to get it repaired, though the 3rd guy who picked up phone confirmed we can only heat the room (So we had to keep the windows open as it was extremely hot on one of the days).

Room service was prompt and the reception staff were very helpful and spoke excellent english.

As mentioned in some other review, though a very good hotel, I think the star standards are different in Spain compared to UK and so don't expect 4 star UK standard in this hotel. I would classify this in the 3 star category.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#319 of 515 in Barcelona
314 reviews
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
#219 of 515 in Barcelona
415 reviews
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#341 of 515 in Barcelona
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#318 of 515 in Barcelona
353 reviews
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
#400 of 515 in Barcelona
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505

Address: Calle Muntaner 505, 08022 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#170 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#189 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £56 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Suite hotel was built in 1986 and was renovated in 2002. The hotel offers its guests a peaceful and calm atmosphere. It is located in upper Barcelona, near Guell Park, the Science Museum and prestigious medical centres such as Clinica Teknon, Clinica Sant Jordi, Dexeus and Barraquer. The hotel has 4 rooms at our clients' disposal for any kind of meeting, conference or banquet, as well as a restaurant and parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Suite Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Suite
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing