We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel with charme in the higher part of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
Ranked #328 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Rome
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small hotel with charme in the higher part of the city”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel of the "Catalonia" group is located in the higher part of the city, in calle Muntaner, very close to the crossing with Ronda General Mitre.It's nice and clean,perfect for a business trip,my room was very big,with a big bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separated shower,free and good speed wifi internet,very quiet because was on the 6th floor.Rooms on the higher floors are better because the street is full of traffic,specially in the morning.Continental breakfast is very good with plenty of food and beverages and there is a cool roof top swimmin pool, even though very tiny.The only problem is that there is no metro close to the hotel,only FGC at 8 minutes on foot,and buses are not very frequent.It's not in the city center,so I will certainly go back to this hotel for a business trip but probably I would choose a more central hotel for tourism.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank stefanocardinale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    164
    82
    38
    17
See reviews for
79
138
30
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This hotel , although not within walking distance to downtown, was only 2 easy stops via subway to get to Las Ramblas. The rooms are what us North Americans would call a 3 star for sure. If you like luxury , this is not the hotel for you but if you just need the basics and cleanliness, it's well worth the money. The rooms were clean and the desk was very helpful. A nice little bar/restaurant located in the downstairs lobby that seemed to be a bit of a meeting place in the evening. However, we were there during the pro soccer so that could have been a factor.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunpig59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Been traveling around Europe and have stayed at 10 hotels. I've experience every range from amazing to mediocre at best... This one ranks towards the bottom. The location is not great as its far from the center of it all and the metro does not go there. The staff was nice enough, the roof top pool was beautiful and the rooms, while being very nicely sized, are in serious need of a redo. The bed was awful and everything was very outdated, floor molding peeling off/arm on the chair falling off...if they raised their prices 5-10 euros more a night it would pay for itself and the feeling/impression would be vastly different. Whoever designed the front of the hotel needs to redo the rooms from top to bottom and it would totally change their vibe 100%.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The hotel was realy good exeception that the bath tub bubbles dosn't work and the drain plug leaks. Also the showers floor drain cover wasn't attached well.

Service and employees were really nice and helpful. Me and my wife really enjoyed to lodge in Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We (me plus kids aged 7 and 9) stayed in late December 2012 (21st, 22nd). The hotel felt as though it had been a higher starred hotel that had fallen on hard times and was now in the process of a gradual renewal.

So, the plus-points: Staff were fantastic - young woman on reception was informed, helpful, polite, knowledgeable, and the woman who ran the buffet was also excellent. The reception area and restaurant felt new, clean, and modern, and were very pleasant to be in. Our room (704) was well appointed with a marble bathroom with sink, toilet, bidet, bath (with overhead shower), and separate shower cubicle. We had two single beds (pushed together as one double) plus a sofa bed to sleep us all which was perfect for us. There was a flatscreen TV, and a large, mirrored double wardrobe. The surfaces (floors, desk, bathroom furniture etc.) were all clean and tidy.

The minus-points: The spa bath did not work which was a shame. The hot water failed (and was not reinstalled) on the third day of our stay, meaning quick, cold showers for us all. The curtains were stained in places, and when I cleaned a small spillage off the (red) chair in our room using soap and one of our hotel towels (white), the towel came away BLACK with the ingrained dirt. The cleaning of the rooms starts early, the cleaning trolleys for the floor were parked outside our room, and the cleaners are rather noisy. The two sets of double glazing were not able to keep the street noise out (it was not bad, but the Barcelonians do seem to like 'sitting' on their car horns and the emergency sirens are REALLY load!!) and the windows did not lock, which for me with kids on the 7th floor was an issue.

I think that the hotel is good value for money and I would not hesitate to stay there again, but it is not a 4 star hotel yet. Hopefully it will reattain that status soon...

General info: Muntaner is a STEEP hill which is murderous to walk up dragging luggage (here speaks the voice of experience!!), so bear that in mind when planning your arrival. Nearest Metro station - La Putxet, which is a 2 minute walk away. Buy a T10 ticket which gives you 10 single fares on the bus/metro (and possibly the tram? - we did not use the tram) for just shy of 10 Euros (Zone 1 only - this covers the trip from the hotel all the way to the harbour). The ticket can also be used on the 46 bus to/from the airport which is significantly cheaper than the Aerobus (5.50 Euros single pp), although it does take a longer route. Be careful in the Metro station at Espania as we witnessed TWO robberies there. We saw no evidence of any other mischief anywhere else though, so I nevertheless consider Barcelona to be a safe place - there are lots of Police in evidence on the streets and on the Metro (but obviously not in the right place at the right time!!).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PersephoneMagdalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitedireccion, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Ms Beckett,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel Barcelona 505 during your recent stay in Barcelona. I am very pleased to hear your feedback in order to improve every day.
It has been a pleasure to have you as our guests and hope to see you again.
Happy Year 2013.
Puy Acedo/Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Booked 1 day before the checked in, and got good price, around 60/night, it said 4 star hotel, but the interior design is old fashion style, however, the price was good, and neighborhood is not bad. Room size is good, generally, good for the value

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggyho162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitedireccion, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Peggy,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Barcelona. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time in our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
Puy Acedo / Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Even though the previous reviews were rather mixed and questionable, I booked this hotel for my husband for two weeks. Since it was very close to the office he had to work at, I decided to give it a try nevertheless. Surprisingly enough it turned out to be the perfect decision. The room was very clean, spacious and absolutely quiet. The employess were nice and helpful. Especially Deborah, whose English was very good, was super friendly and of great help!

Room Tip: Make sure you point out that you are looking for a quiet and nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitedireccion, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Google Translation
Sres. Salovers,
Gracias por escoger el hotel Barcelona 505. Estamos encantados de saber que tuvieron una estancia agradable.
Ha sido un placer atenderles y esperamos poder recibirles muy pronto de nuevo.
Puy Acedo
Directora Barcelona 505
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#310 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#348 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
#256 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#250 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Angli
Eurostars Angli
#327 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Park Guell
Catalonia Park Guell
#341 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505

Property: Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
Address: Calle Muntaner 505, 08022 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#170 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Suite hotel was built in 1986 and was renovated in 2002. The hotel offers its guests a peaceful and calm atmosphere. It is located in upper Barcelona, near Guell Park, the Science Museum and prestigious medical centres such as Clinica Teknon, Clinica Sant Jordi, Dexeus and Barraquer. The hotel has 4 rooms at our clients' disposal for any kind of meeting, conference or banquet, as well as a restaurant and parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Suite Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Suite
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing