We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the happening”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #139 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little out of the happening”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel was generally nice manned by a much mature staff to my surprise. The rooms were nice and spotless however it was difficult to get any sort of replenishment. The reception assumed that whatever was left on day 1 should be adequate. I think the hotel should realise its pretty hot in July and guests are normally taking showers more than usual and therefore they should be generous on bathroom supplies. This part was what I did not like about the hotel and its staff in reception - absolutely rude. For the price one pays, I am sure having stayed at many hotels now that replenishment should just be given and not questioned. The location is a little out of way so if you like pay a little bit more or look for something similar on the main streets...we spotted many on the way mainly boutique type hotels.

Also we arrived around midnite and the hotel couldn't find our fully paid reservation...took forever for them and finally we were given the keys. But instead of offering us a map of the city they simply and now its way past midnite handed us all brochures of sights they were booking....so first impressions really bad....I think hotel should really give its staff a briefing being part of a reknown chain. Making us stand so long after our flight and then explaining their tours etc.

Room Tip: Ensure that they give the room you have pre booked.....it can get annoying esp if you are tired and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetter6430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Astoria.

We try to give the best to our clients and this is our aim I hope that in the future we will be better.

Thank you and I hope to see you next future.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    479
    173
    35
    18
See reviews for
172
524
59
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Astoria for five nights in an executive room. The hotel is clean, with the rooms promptly cleaned each day to a high standard. The integrated air-conditioning systems are top of the range, maintaining a constant temperature rather than just blowing air around. The small rooftop pool area is fantastic. Reception and housekeeping staff are very polite. Service behind the bar was unreliable - staff took rather a long time to serve customers, and we were charged a different price each day for coffee, so we ended up getting a takeaway coffees from the cafe across the road. There are plenty of lovely restaurants and cafes in this area, especially on Enrique Granados. It's not a 'tourist area' so the menus are not always translated into English - a phrase book is handy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreakconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Astoria and for help us.

All the staff will work hard with the idea to be better and to give the best service to our clients.

Thanks for all and I hope to see you next future in the Hotel Astoria.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 10 days (broken into 7 and 3, allowing us to see two rooms) at Barcelona's Hotel Astoria in July. It's an easy walk to the metro, to a main shopping road, restaurants, and to many good sites. The hotel lobby is nice and staff are friendly, helpful, and welcoming. We were greeted every time we walked into the building, and when we checked in we received maps and were directed to the display of local attractions. The rooms presented well, and to reduce sounds at night from the hallway and bathroom, there was a much appreciated sliding wooden door. (Especially appreciated late late Friday night when the revelers returned to the hotel.) Otherwise, our rooms were pretty quiet, facing the backs of buildings so the view was pitiful, but we appreciated not facing the main street. There were a few minor issues with both rooms: in the first the drains in the sink and tub were painfully slow and the safe stopped working and needed repair; and in the second the toilet made an awful sound after it finished refilling. Other than the safe, none of the issues were important enough to mention to staff until we checked out. Beds were very comfortable, though pillows were flat and I didn't discover the extra pillow until the last day. Breakfast is nice, but not worth the money they charge unless you're a really big breakfast eater. Better to spend 3 euros on a good cup of coffee and a croissant at one of many places nearby. Note: If you do want their breakfast, we were offered nearly half price when we checked in, but the condition was that we all had to eat it everyday. We took them up on it. The one day we ordered eggs and a Spanish sausage (the name of which I don't recall), the order was forgotten and we had to repeat it to another waitress. So we didn't order again, just ate the bread, cured meats, cheeses, lettuce, and fruits at the buffet. The pool isn't really a pool, it's about twice the size of a hot tub and a nice place for a refreshing dip after you've been in the sun. Unfortunately, the pool is on the top floor and the bar is on the bottom floor, so it took some effort to have a glass of wine at the pool. As drunk as a couple of the people in the pool were, it didn't seem to bother everyone. Overall, it was a nice stay; I'd rate this as a nice 3-star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the neighboring building are free of the street noise, but the view isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustbunnymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for writte your opinion in Tripadvisor about our Hotel Astoria.
We try to give the best to our clients this is our aim and we will try to be better in the future.

Next time will be a pleasure to know you and if is possible to give you some recomendations about my citty : Barcelona.

Thank you so much and see you soon.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent three nights there in June. The location is good - walkable (20-30 minutes) to Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter, not far from the subway, and several very good restaurants nearby. Our room had a good view onto the street below, but motorbike noise at all hours was an issue. The lobby is lovely and our room was large and comfortable, yet the price was much lower than what we paid for smaller rooms and less central locations in Paris and London. I'd give an excellent rating if the front desk staff made more of an effort to be helpful. They checked us in without smiling or offering local maps or advice, as should be routine in such a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan19711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Customer,

thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Astoria.

For all the staff is a pleasure to know that you had a nice days with us.I will try to do our service the best .

Thank you and see you soon.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescara, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel is good, but it's not amazing. It does have a nice little terrace on the roof, which was the reason we chose to stay here, but the claims of a swimming pool are a tad misleading. It's more a plunge pool, which is very welcome after a little time in the sun. There was no bar upstairs though, so to get a drink you had to go from the 8th floor to the bar on the ground floor.

The room we were in was large, but very sparsely decorated. However it seemed that was being remedied as someone came in and out up a mirror on the last day we were here.

One big complaint that we had was that there was a safe in our room but when we asked for the key we were told that they didn't have it, they offered to keep things in the safe at reception for us, but it seemed more inconvenient to us to have to go to the front desk every time we wanted to get iPads or cameras, so most if the time we just carried everything with us.

Service was hit and miss. there was a lovely guy who was very helpful, but most of the time it was very curt and to the point.

Before we booked we saw a lot of reviews saying more like a 4 star. I would say not. It's definitely a 3 star hotel, but that's not a bad thing, and it's a good 3 star hotel.

The location is good by the way, your a way back from the center of Barcelona, but there is still quite a lot going on, the local streets are packed full of great restaurants and bars which serve a lot better food at cheaper prices than you'll get in the center. I heartily recommend Brunch and Cake, which is about a 15 minute walk down Enric Granados. Best food I had while here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiepie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Astoria.

We will try to solve the problems you had but I want to tell you that we had safety box in all the rooms and I will check what happened.
In the pool we have a phone that you can used if you want to contact with the Bar all the time.

Thank you and I hope to see you next future in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a great location if you want to enjoy the local activities and not get bogged down with a bunch of tourists and tourist traps. Location gives you plenty access and various travel options to include walking to many shops, genuine cuisine and very helpful English-speaking staff who's willing to give you great advice on where to eat and be apart of the culture. Beyond the hotel's location, be warned.....do not stay on the 1st floor. We had a terrible time getting sleep or rest from the day's activities due to the hotel's kitchen is just below the 1st floor. We heard conversations, banging pots and stacking dishes from 2am until breakfast. Then, you hear the breakfast crowd. The hotel's staff were pleasant, accommodating and hospitable willing to assist with any and all our requests except for switching rooms. I believe it is a 4 rating if we were on a different floor, but all I can go by is my experience and not expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your words about the Hotel Astoria.
We try to give the best to our clients and this is our aim.
Thank you for the information and we will try to solve the problems that you had.

Thank you so much.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My Hubbie and I booked into the Astoria only a couple of days prior our four night break. We generally research extensively but on this occasion it was a last minute unexpected treat. We were not disappointed. The hotel is an excellent 3 star hotel, it has beautiful architecture, fascinating pictures on display (some could make you go red!) and is generally clean. The pool area is small and has limited seating which was a little frustrating after a long hot day. But generally we would wait maybe 30 minutes and seating would become available. The pool is on the roof, bar staff were more than happy to bring drink orders. This is fine however on occasion younger residents were a little rowdy. I feel if staff were present in the area it would minimise any general disruption. This is only a small gripe. Overall a very enjoyable stay. I would recommend the Astoria to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jandnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming to the Hotel Astoria.

We celebrate that you enjoyed in our Hotel .We like to work for our clients, we enjoy with them.

Thank you and I hope to see you next time in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#132 of 513 in Barcelona
1,174 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
933 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#169 of 513 in Barcelona
1,268 reviews
Eixample
Evenia Rosello
Evenia Rosello
#129 of 513 in Barcelona
720 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#160 of 513 in Barcelona
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Paris, 203, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an elegant, central and modern hotel for your business trips or relaxing getaways? Hotel Astoria, a classic among the hotels in Barcelona, is one of the best the city has to offer. It is a three-star hotel located just a few metres from Avinguda Diagonal and Passeig de Gràcia offering first-class service.The hotel is located in a building in Barcelona's Eixample district, with architecture typical of the beginning of the 20th century. Among its distinguishing marks, the frescoes, Art-Nouveau busts and fine Lalique crystal are of special note. The walls are decorated with interesting Art-Nouveau posters.Hotel Astoria has a terrace and an outdoor swimming pool, function rooms, a restaurant and a museum dedicated to Catalan illustrator Ricard Opisso.Facilities114 guest rooms: 25 single rooms, 48 double rooms and 41 Superior roomsAstor RestaurantBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: Astor room, París room and the terrace-swimming pool area, located on the hotel's rooftop, and the Astor RestaurantGym and saunaOutdoor swimming pool and solariumOpisso MuseumLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Astoria Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing