We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #154 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel comes very highly recommended. It is very clean and tidy, the staff are very welcoming and helpful. A special mention has to go to the lovely tall slim lady in the breakfast room who was especially kind to my friend when she was feeling unwell. Our room, a twin on the sixth floor, was very spacious and the bathroom was clean and well stocked with large fluffy towels and the usual toiletries.
Check out the wonderful pictures and illustrations in the foyer (especially the risqué ones behind their special covers!!!)
The hotel is in a quiet area with some good bars and restaurants nearby. Las Ramblas is about 20 minutes walk past plenty of cafés, bars and nice shops.
All in all a great experience!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LizG10959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your sweet words about the Hotel Astori, and we are ver happy to know that you had a nice days with us.
We try to give the best service to our costumers this is always our aim, and we will try to be better if is possible.

Thanks a lot and see you soon in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    460
    166
    33
    18
See reviews for
159
500
55
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms are good size but the hotel is not so modern, still ok but not a design hotel, it really depends on what you like. I was there for business therefore it was ok but i wouldn't choose it for a romantic break. Breakfast is ok, a bit of everything but not outstanding.
Staff is gentle and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank superanna80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for coming to the Hotel Astoria and for your opinion.

We are very happy to know that our service was good for you.

Thank you and I hope to see you next future.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was a real find. It was excellent value for this part of town. When we first arrived I was seriously wondering if I had confused the price for 3 nights with the price per night - I hadn't!

It's a smallish, stylish hotel in a great location. The room was not huge, but it had everything it needed. The art on display on the ground floor is very interesting and merits a visit to the bar even if you are not staying here. Get a (reasonably priced) drink from the bar and spend an hour or two looking around. At the cost of 3 or 4 euros for the drink, this is rather better value than some of the museums!

Unusually for a city hotel at this price, there is a small roof terrace and a tiny pool. These were very welcome after a hot day's sightseeing

The hotel was immaculately clean. Staff were helpful but unobtrusive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSofiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your words about our Hotel Astoria.

Is very important for us the oipinions of our clients.In this case I apreciate a lot, that you give a special value to the collection of pictures (more than 200), we have in the Hall of the Hotel.

We have a Hotel , but we have a Museum of pictures of Ricard Opisso, a catalan painter.

Thank you for stay with us and I hope to see you next future in the Hotel Astoria.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I've never bothered to write a review before, but I was genuinely blown away by this hotel. We arrived early in the morning, we got a warm welcome from the staff on the desk, they immediately checked us in (even though check in wasn't technically till the afternoon). Our hotel room was spotless (I've never stayed in a hotel so clean), we had a twin room, it was very spacious and the shower was excellent (power shower). We then went up in the lift to the top floor where the pool and sun loungers where, its spacious, clean, well equipped and there is a phone to ring down to the bar so you are able to order drinks. The cleaners do a fantastic job at this hotel, our room was cleaned spotlessly everyday (even down to tidying our room and we where two messy young girls). It was honestly a fantastic stay. The area where the hotel is located is also businessy and hippyish, lots of lovely restaurants, fresh squeezed juice places and bakeries. 5 min walk to the nearest metro station and a 20 min walk to la ramblas.

Lovely place and I have already began recommending it to other people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabbse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your words about the Hotel Astoria.

For all the staff is fantastic to know that you had a nce days in our Hotel and all our service was perfect as you said : room, breakfast, location, staff, etc............

Thank you again and I hope to see you next future in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We found the hotel very bad, the room was small, no balcony, with a view to some interior walls. The shower door was broken making it impossible to shower without flooding the whole bathroom and on top of everything, there was no toilet brush or any cleaner for that matter (the comments above are based on seeing two different rooms, at different floors and different sides of the hotel, not only our room, as we stayed there with some friends).
The internet connection is really bad, unusable beyond a Google search. And the price is, really, too high for what the hotel offers. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anaaremere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Custumer,

Thank you for comig to our Hotel Astoria.

I will try to give the the best service in the future and if we make something wrong I want to apologise.

Thank you and see you in Barcelona next future.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Being a little north from the city center (but still easily within public transportation distance), this is a a hotel that is able to offer a very affordable rate for the value in Barcelona. It was perfectly convenient for me because I was staying for business several blocks away, and I took the bus to the Rambla and the waterfront one night, and walked to the city center easily the second night.

The room I was given was clean and spacious - in fact I had a suite with a separate room up a flight of stairs including a couch and a desk.

The front desk staff were courteous and helpful, giving me recommendations of restaurants as well as directions.

All in all the Hotel Astoria was a breath of fresh air in an otherwise unaffordable city, and provided great value and quality that made my business trip productive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therestlessroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Astoria.

We try to give the best service to our clients and this is our way of work.

In the name of all the staff I want to tell you thank you.

Pepe Camps.

Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here in May and it was perfect for my daughter and me. The location was very nice and safe and we enjoyed the On/Off Bus as well. Rooms were clean and quiet! Shower was amazing! The staff was very helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMKoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your words about the Hotel Astoria.

We are very happy to know that you had a nice days in our Hotel and in Barcelona too.

Thank you for coming to the Hotel Astoria and see you soon.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#160 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Emma
Room Mate Emma
#79 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Eixample
Evenia Rosello
Evenia Rosello
#136 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#157 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#126 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#113 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Paris, 203, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an elegant, central and modern hotel for your business trips or relaxing getaways? Hotel Astoria, a classic among the hotels in Barcelona, is one of the best the city has to offer. It is a three-star hotel located just a few metres from Avinguda Diagonal and Passeig de Gràcia offering first-class service.The hotel is located in a building in Barcelona's Eixample district, with architecture typical of the beginning of the 20th century. Among its distinguishing marks, the frescoes, Art-Nouveau busts and fine Lalique crystal are of special note. The walls are decorated with interesting Art-Nouveau posters.Hotel Astoria has a terrace and an outdoor swimming pool, function rooms, a restaurant and a museum dedicated to Catalan illustrator Ricard Opisso.Facilities114 guest rooms: 25 single rooms, 48 double rooms and 41 Superior roomsAstor RestaurantBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: Astor room, París room and the terrace-swimming pool area, located on the hotel's rooftop, and the Astor RestaurantGym and saunaOutdoor swimming pool and solariumOpisso MuseumLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Astoria Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing