We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far away from city center and very bad behavior with cuest”
Review of Hesperia Sant Joan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hesperia Sant Joan
Ranked #211 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“far away from city center and very bad behavior with cuest”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were there from 4~9 July .at the first we faced with a nice girl as a reception ,but anfortunatly due to long distance to the city centre and getting crowded metro, we have lost our passport in subway(stolen),then when we wanted another reception ,look like old woman ,to scan police report to mail for embassy ,she told us that it would be charged 2.5 euro and also never ask us about our situation .
But at the check out time again the nice girl help us to print our booked ticket to get Madrid to go embassy.
Conclusion:
1-Far away from city centre and get tired to go and back city centre about 1 hour.
2-cheap behavior with customers same as business company.
3- to visit Barcelona city as 24 h live city ,the hotel should be near city centre to avoid getting tired in come back to hotel.
3- some of reception have unlikely behavior.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmadi7464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    422
    156
    38
    17
See reviews for
244
324
57
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed there for three nights.
- The suits were very noisy, because the is no carpet in and outside the suits.
- The ceiling were dripping water!
- The wireless internet was terrible.
- They didn't give us a double bed although we had booked 2 month before! Seems the number of double beds are very limited.
- The place is way out of the town!
- The area is not feeling safe specially after 11 pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amoridi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We didn't expect this but the whole Hotel is actually only suites. We ended up with a flat of about 50 square meter, a giant king size plus bed, a kitchen and a bathtub. Total for this 3 rooms + parking (crazy expensive in Barcelona) about 340€ for 5 nights, 67€ per night. Regarding the location (10 minutes by tramway), the quality of the service (3 stars hotel) and the actual appartment we got, that's a pretty good deal. On the other hand, and to be perfectionist, I'd say that the flat smelled like cold tobacco which is unpleasant at first but it vanishes after a while when the AC's on or the windows are open. Also, even if you're on the edge of Barcelona, you're in a residential part which means that you don't have much to do downstairs. There's a big mall at 5 minutes by walking if you wanna cook. Otherwise in 10 minutes by tram you're downtown. It's worth saying that the tram stop at 2am, so you're left with taxis. And last but not the least, the wifi is terribly slow!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulianChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North-East England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at this hotel, you couldn't ask for more. Check in was very quick and welcoming, all of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the rooms with kitchenette, I requested a kitchen pack from reception with cutlery, crockery, pans etc and it arrived 2 mins later. Rooms are very spacious, sitting/eating area and seperate bedroom with a huge bed plus a balcony over looking the pool. No outside noise just chairs scrapping in other rooms. TV in both rooms. Pool area was very enjoyable after a long days sight seeing, water was freezing though. Area around hotel very nice for an evening walk, with a few bars, cafe/restaurants ,supermarkets( which do open on Sundays) and a lovely bakery. There are also lots of play parks for kids. Only 30 mins in to Barcelona by tram & metro €10.30 for T10 ticket= 10 rides (you can share ticket) make sure to have change to buy tickets, the machines don't accept notes. T3 tram line is 10 mins quicker than T2 get off at Maria Cristina to get the metro. Getting to and from the airport take the L77 bus which stops in front of the hotel, it picks up at all terminals but on return journey you have to get off at terminal 1 and take the free shuttle bus. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
7 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great value for the price.....2 people, stayed here 3 nights, nice apartment, really big, cleaned every day, kitchen empty, but you can rent kitchenette, but we don't need. There is Mercadona shop on T3 stop near the hotel, where you can buy sth for breakfast. We had ap to the garden, 5th floor with nice view, higher would have better view to Barca. A little noisy mornings, when staff start to clean rooms, but I traveled other hotels in Europe and it was the same and I think that in Barca, where is the night life you should count with some noise. Wifi works, but is slower, but you can surf with that. Transport to the center takes around 1 hour, depends when the tram arrives. You can use T3 tram and L3 metro or T2 tram and L5 metro. We bought T10 ticket (buying machines at each metro station), you can use for tram, bus and metro, within 75 minutes it counts as 1 journey. Every journey must be validated at each transport type even it is within 75 minutes. Be aware that if you once leave metro and than access the same station, even within 75 minutes, it will be counted as 2 journeys. Also traveling at midnight the route will be counted as 2nd journey after the midnight.

Room Tip: Rooms to garden have balcony and upper 5th floor with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivanap507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbæk, Vestsjalland, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a great stay in a fine apartment - the biggest bed ever, two televisions, but it is too hot in Barcelona to be without a balcony, which only one half of the hotel has. The kitchen is totally empty. Just a few cups and knifes would make a huge difference. The Breakfast buffet is great! We used public transportasions which is close, but it almost takes one hour to get to central parts of Barcelona. The garden with pool is a good element!

Room Tip: Get an apartment to the garden. They apparently have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

From the airport direct L77 bus (€2.15) to 50m from Hotel. The Hotel is smart and clean if a little dated. The A/C works great. The doors can be noisy (no soft close) so early leavers can be a little disturbing.
It is set in largely residential area of apartment blocks with some business headquarters, as a result there are a lot of little bars that all do food of various types. On a lunch time there are more bars open catering for the office staff. They do great "Menu del dia" at a fixed price. There are a few little supermarkets and a big Mercardo.We where made welcome at them all. They speak very little English, this is not a tourist area.
It is quite a way from Barcelona Centre, however, there are a few options. The 78 bus goes direct to Sants Estacio, The T3 Tram goes to the L3 Metro at Palau Reial, T2 Tram goes L5 Metro or may train lines at Cornelia Centre. Our favourite was the T3 to Ernest Luch then the D20 bus down Av Par-Lel along the front past Columbus at the end of the Ramblas onto the beach front at Barceloneta.
Buy the Hola BCN day tickets, hop on and off any bus tram, train or Metro at your leisure. The TMB Guia Bus BCN map really is your friend. (except it doesn't name the bus stops which is odd and annoying. Pick these up at the Tourist Information booths. A few buses worthy of mention 150 to the top of Montjuic, V17 Port Vell, 17 Barceloneta - PG Garcia - then 196 to Tibidado. You really do not need the bus Touristic.

Room Tip: High floor, to the road. Views to the city and Tibidado
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#223 of 513 in Barcelona
1,130 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#186 of 513 in Barcelona
566 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#194 of 513 in Barcelona
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#389 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#399 of 513 in Barcelona
244 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Sant Joan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Sant Joan

Property: Hesperia Sant Joan
Address: Josep Trueta, 2 | Sant Joan Despi, 08970 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#121 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#155 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hesperia Sant Joan 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hesperia San Joan Suites is located at the northern end of Avenida Diagonal in Barcelona, giving guests fast and easy access to the city's business and shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hesperia Sant Joan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Sant Joan Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Sant Joan Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing