We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay Except for the Glee Club” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silken St. Gervasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
Ranked #320 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay Except for the Glee Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We enjoyed the Silken hotel. The room was very nice and updated, loved the modern bathroom and simple furnishings. Stayed on the 4th floor and the worst part was the rather rambunctious glee club (most likely college students) who took over the floor and were pretty loud.

The neighborhood was nice and apparently kind of the ritzy part of town. Seemed like the equivalent of Chicago's Lincoln Park neighborhood with the same access to downtown. There was a convenience store directly across the street with cheap soda, wine and water so don't dare touch that mini bar!

Basic European style breakfast of assorted cold-cuts, cheeses, pastries, cereal, yogurt and fruit. You could also order a basic omelet. The bartender made all of my cafe au laits for me, he seemed to despise the idea of me using the Keurig machine, which was fine with me. Also their coffee with milk is the equivalent of the American $4 latte but for free!

The location was convenient, and if weather had been nicer, we would have walked the neighborhood more. But it was unseasonably cool and rainy so we hopped the train #7 to Las Ramblas every day/night.

About a 10 minute walk from the hotel was a stop on two different tourist bus lines. If you plan to utilize the trains and sightsee, there is some type of pass that for about $40 Euros allows you to use all of the public tran while getting free admittance to many of the museums! Wish we'd figured that out our first day instead of our last night. Also, it's almost never worth it to purchase train passes ride by ride, as you can't transfer to other lines (got a bit confusing). Go ahead and get the 10-ride that allows you to transfer between trains, buses, etc. all throughout the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jewanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgdireccion, Departamento de calidad at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time in writing your opinion, we appreciate it. We are very happy that you liked our breakfast and our convenience store ;) but we are sorry the weather didn't allow you to visit our neighbourhood as you would have liked. Again, we appreciate your opinion and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    219
    78
    14
    14
See reviews for
56
219
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Good hotel for the right price.

Friendly staff. Didn't had breakfast in the hotel. Plenty of coffee shops around with a great selection of food.

Subway 5 minutes away from the hotel

Would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

THE things good about this room was Bed-comfy and clean,Hotel reception pleasant and helpfull and 3 min.walk U HAD METRO STATION ,its only 10 min. to Barcelona city centre!Watch wee frigde as they price a lot for whats in it(AND they not check propelly after each guest what THEY used,I WAS ALMOST CHARGE FOR 2 BEERS IF I WOULDNT MENTIONED IT MYSELF!FIRST WHAT WE NOTICE AS WE WANTED TO TAKE NICE SHOWER AFTER TRAVELLING WAS HAIR AND DUST IN BATHTUB AND TOILET!Its not cheap as they add on additional tax per person per night! WE didnt use a hotel restaurant or bar,there is planty lovely coffee shops and bars across street!Hotel ITS OK for few days stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VIOLLETTA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed here for one night only as it was close to an event we were attending.

The rooms are big and functional as are the bathrooms. But shall soon bear wear and tear.

It's a municipal hotel not very close to anything but the area is fine.

Like a lot of hotels in winter, it's over heated. the staff is friendly and seem to be effective.

Parking is available at 18euro which is ok. Free wifi. Park locally on streets if you like.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Landed innBarcelona & chose to get a taxi direct to Hotel the Hotel, we thought it was reasonably priced at €28. We arrived at Hotel which was clean & staff helpful. Room on 3rd floor was small but contained all you would expect inc safe, mini bar, toiletries etc. We had paid for 2nights bed & breakfast but there was confusion that we had only booked & paid for room only so the 1st morning we didn't eat breakfast, second morning we decided to try again & we were willing to pay for breakfast but the hotel staff realised that we had booked & paid for bed & breakfast. Breakfast was excellent offered everything you could think of!! We chose croissants, fruit etc then noticed a menu on table explaining you could also order full English breakfast which we took full advantage of. Breakfast was cooked fresh for you & it was great.

This hotel was not the best location for us as we spent all of our 3days exploring La Ramblas. We used the metro to get from hotel to Rambla. We found this quick & easy but next time we would stay central. The centre is only approx 5 stops though.

On leaving the hotel ordered us a taxi but this time the journey to airport cost €48!!! We didn't expect the journey to cost this much considering we paid half that amount for the same mileage a few days before, or maybe this was due to Sunday rates!?

Overall we were happy with the hotel & service we received would recommend to someone who wants to stay in a quite area & away from the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chezzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

My wife & I were on a long weeekend (4 day) city break & fully intended to do the whole tourist thing... Our plan was to tourist hard but retreat to a quiet comfortable discrete refuge at night, so we could rest up for the next day.. The hotel assigned us a small but adequate room at the back overlooking a square of buildings but no road which meant it was quiet ... so it was good...
A few minutes walk to the metro, got us cheaply to La Rambla from which everything else seems to eminate. (You can buy a ticket for 9eu which gets you 8 rides) Cab back most nights as we we're with friends & the nightlife fab.... Would recommend for good cheap, friendly hotel, adequate for a short stopover. A kettle & tea/coffee maker in the room would have been bliss, but there you go, seems cant have it all ...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent 4 nights here and it was just wonderful. We were very close to the Metro station so it was easy to move about the city; although one day we walked down to Las Ramblas! Our room was on the first floor and had its very own little outdoor patio with table and chairs. We enjoyed sharing our wine with our friends and sitting there in the evening. There's a great restaurant right next door and several nice ones in the neighborhood. We thought the breakfast was rather pricey so we just had coffee and then hit the streets!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms on the ground floor that has a private patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BookLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Exe Mitre
#328 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
#279 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Catalonia Park Guell
#331 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#191 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Hotel Laumon
#248 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
NH Belagua
#385 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken St. Gervasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken St. Gervasi Hotel

Property: Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
Address: Sant Gervasi de Cassoles 26, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silken St. Gervasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sant Gervasi, is located 5 metro stops away from down town, in the most select part of Barcelona, where Modernist houses and new buildings enjoy a happy coexistence. This neighborhood is one of the safest & quietest in town. Close by to the Hotel, and very well communicated, you have also the following sightseeing’s: Park Güell, the fantastic park designed by the architect Antoni Gaudí and the Tibidabo mountain. The hotel’s size – it has only 63 rooms – is part of its special charm, and its guests will enjoy the warm hospitality only found in such intimate establishments. The Sant Gervasi is also convenient for all transport, the historic city centre and the trade fair site at Montjuïc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Silken St. Gervasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Silken St Gervasi Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing