We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
Ranked #325 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Out of the centre”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I chose this hotel for its location near CosmoCaixa, where I attended a conference. It is not near the major attractions, but not too far from the hop-on hop-off bus that goes to them.

The room was clean and comfortable with much needed air conditioning. Breakfast, when not included, is somewhat expensive. Front desk staff were efficient and reasonably friendly considering the language difference.

Restaurant does not open for dinner until 8:30 or 9, but this is typical in Spain.

I would feel safe in the area as a female solo traveler (this time I was with a colleague).

Major issue is their cancellation policy which requires 365 days notice, yes that is a year. We had to pay upfront, and when our plans changed and we left a day early, the money was lost. To be fair, this info is on their website.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
First of all thank you for taking the time into writing your opinion. We are glad you found our staff nice.
Regarding the cancellation policy we are terribly sorry that your plans changed but just to let you know for the next time you visit, that you chose the early booking rate which is not refundable, but if you had chosen a rate without restriction you would have been allowed to change your reservation until 6pm.
Thank you again and we hope that you keep on visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    230
    82
    15
    17
See reviews for
59
231
16
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I had a pleasant stay here. The room was clean and the bathroom is very spacious. It was peaceful and I could sleep well. There is a small grocery shop just opposite the hotel. It was still open at 11pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stray_vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We are really happy to know that you had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you soon sometime. Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Clean, smart hotel. Comfortable rooms which are provided with a free safe - you don't want to be walking around Barcelona with too much money or valuables! Very good breakfast buffet with a good choice of food which was kept well replenished plus cooked option (to order) included in cost. We opted for a B&B package which was a good decision. Coffee is also good, served from machines which grind it from the beans -full marks for that one! As other reviewers have said, it's very convenient for the town using the Metro from the nearby El Putxet station. Buy a t10 card from the machine which gives you 10 journeys for around 10 euros - you can share the same card with other travellers.
It's in a quieter residential area of town so bars and restaurants are a little bit limited (see my other review for restaurant Verona). Only real downsides we found to this hotel are; the lack of tea and coffee facilities in the room (the small bar in the dining area closes at 11pm) and the lack of any lounge area to relax in - just a few very hard chairs in the reception area. However, these are minor points and overall this hotel is good value for money.

To get here hassle free from Barcelona airport, take the Aerobus directly outside the terminal and get off at the last stop in Pl. Catalunya. Walk a few hundred yards to the Catalunya Metro station the other side of the square (it's at the top of La Ramblas) and take line L7 (Tibidabo) 5 stops to El Putxet. When you exit the Metro, walk down the side of the supermarket building (it's the building sort of raised up off the ground) and the small market square then turn left down the hill, the hotel is a few hundered yards down the street. Be careful if you come out of the other Metro exit accross the main road from the supermarket - that's where we went wrong!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beebod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
First of all we wolud like to thank you for taking the time in writing such a generous review, we are happy you found our hotel good. Regarding the points you marked us out, we will definetly have in mind the closing time in the small bar and the lack of a relaxing area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed in this hotel 21-24 June 13. Hotel has everything we needed for city break. Rooms specious, clean, bathroom clean, fresh towels everyday, comfy bed. The hotel is not in the centre or close to the beach but we knew it when we were booking it so no suprise. Realy close to the metro, then 6 minutes and you are in the city centre. Breakfast was basic but you could find something. I could not fault this hotel for anything. We had hussle and stress free stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anulka1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We are glad that you had a stress-free stay, that is our goal, for you to have a relaxed trip. Thank you so much for your opinion, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed in this hotel October 2012 and loved it. Prices are good (I paid USD 91.00/night booked through Expedia) Room was cleaned and sheets and towels changed every day. Bed is super comfortable. The hotel is just a few metro stations away from Ramblas, and very easily accessible. You can get to any location in town within a reasonable amount of time. It is a quiet neigborhood. Safe, even for a woman to go out at night. There are some places to eat and drink in the area close by, and even a supermarket. If you are traveling with children, there is a playground right by the supermarket. Very nice. If I should travel to Barcelona again, I am staying there. This hotel offers a breakfast buffet in the morning. Very good food, but I found it pricey at Euro 15.00/person.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatice786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we are really happy that you would come to visit us if you do come back to Barcelona. We appreciate your time in writing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

So lucky to have chosen this hotel! The staff is genuinely helpful and accommodating. Internet didn't work well for us and our room was changed to the ground floor where we had a lovely bright room #006 with a patio. Which was perfect for having snacks and a bottle of wine with the friends who accompanied us. (Wine at the market across the street from the hotel is terrifically cheap and surprisingly good)

When you check in you'll have separate internet access for each device, the desk will print this (save that) you'll relog every time; just make sure to retype the password even if its saved in your browser.

We took the airport shuttle down a floor from customs to Placa Catalunya, from there take the L7 subway to El Puxtet. Cross the street and left a little to a set of stairs down into a well lit alleyway if you come after dark and at the end to your right is the hotel.

The continental breakfast served by the hotel is comprehensive, delicious and the price is predicatable 15 Euros, not too much for the quality! The buffet style meal has a variety of dried meats and cheeses, fruits, boiled egg, breads and a toaster...plenty of jams too. The coffee machine is out of this world to someone who only knew Starbucks before the trip.

The room itself is European simple elegance, nothing fancy but Comfortable. The mattress was firm, plenty of pillows and covers. We turned off the heat in June and left the door open to air it out while we took the hop on and off tours.

We would stay here again with no hesitation. Our stay in Barcelona in this hotel gave us a view of Catalan life that we would never have experienced staying closer to the city center. We learned firsthand about the subway system, those maps are helpful but don't be afraid to ask questions. In our experience we did not run into many English speakers in this neighborhood but it was no problem communicating. Leave your attitude at home and Prepare to Relax here!

Room Tip: The rooms we saw were all comfortable and nice looking but I would always ask for the ground floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Macie_and_Garhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
We are very glad to know that you had such an amazing experience. Yes, the great thing about being in this cozy neighbourhood is that you are able to see the true catalan life but without being far away from the city center. We thank you for taking the time to write down your opinion and really appreciate your comment. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed for two nights - the hotel is very average. The first room we stayed in was on the first floor and the carpeting in the hallway looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. The hotel was sold out so we ended up in a smoking room which although we were told the hotel was 100% non smoking a week before smelled like an astray. Thankfully the front desk manager took pity on us and we were moved to a much nicer room for our second night. The wifi worked about 50% of the time so I could not write this review until we had departed. I personally wont stay here again but If you get a new room this property is OK, if you get an older version it isn't.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPSmith20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Good afternoon, first of all we would like to thank you for taking 5 minutes to write a review, on the other hand we are sorry that you're stay wasn't quite as expected.
In relation to the carpet in the first floor, we assure you that it is clean, the thing is that there are stains that won't go, buy eitherway, we are taking the necessary measures to substitute this carpet for a new one. Thank you again, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.1 mi away
Exe Mitre
Exe Mitre
#339 of 513 in Barcelona
470 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Laumon
Hotel Laumon
#292 of 513 in Barcelona
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tres Torres Atiram Hotel
Tres Torres Atiram Hotel
#345 of 513 in Barcelona
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#318 of 513 in Barcelona
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
#238 of 513 in Barcelona
396 reviews
4.0 mi away
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#186 of 513 in Barcelona
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken St. Gervasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken St. Gervasi Hotel

Property: Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
Address: Sant Gervasi de Cassoles 26, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silken St. Gervasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sant Gervasi, is located 5 metro stops away from down town, in the most select part of Barcelona, where Modernist houses and new buildings enjoy a happy coexistence. This neighborhood is one of the safest & quietest in town. Close by to the Hotel, and very well communicated, you have also the following sightseeing’s: Park Güell, the fantastic park designed by the architect Antoni Gaudí and the Tibidabo mountain. The hotel’s size – it has only 63 rooms – is part of its special charm, and its guests will enjoy the warm hospitality only found in such intimate establishments. The Sant Gervasi is also convenient for all transport, the historic city centre and the trade fair site at Montjuïc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silken St. Gervasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Silken St Gervasi Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing