We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Quiet Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
Ranked #309 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I had a good room in a quiet neighborhood. Everything was tidy and clean when I arrived. There are no views whatsoever, but I didn't mind. The closest subway station is about a block away through square. There is a bakery that I stopped in the morning to pick up breakfast. The breakfast buffet looked good, but I didn't want to pay for it.

I don't remember if there was any problems with the wi-fi. I didn't really care because I was providing my own... Also, the subway line the hotel is on had trains running at 20 minute intervals at night.

The Japanese restaurant next to the hotel doesn't seem to understand Japanese. The waitress kind of freaked out when I asked... I think they're Chinese running a Japanese restaurant. Just an interesting exchange that stuck in my mind.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Good Afternoon,

We are glad that your stay was so comfortable. Its funny the thing about the Japanese neighbours ;)! We definetly hope to see you again sometime. Thank you for your kind words towards our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel is located in a great area of Sarria just off of Muntaner. It is surrounded by shopping, food and close to many sights. The hotel is good very clean and the staff is extremely friendly and will go out of their want o be helpful. The only down side is the wifi reception can be a little hit and miss...would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there when I go back to Barcelona

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Fa395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Good Afternoon,

We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our service and location. We will definetly pass your kind words on to our companions. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The wifi didn't extend to the room - supposed to be a "free" service but the signal was really bad. I was there for work and needed to get online so raised the lack of any connection at the desk but the staff didn't care, oh and the breakfast is a bit rip-off rubbish

Room Tip: if you need a connection, not 400
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank justsomebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

First of all, thank you for taking the time into writing your opinion. We would like to say that we are sorry that the wifi didn't work out, but we want to let you know that we are working into establishing a better connection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Front desk service adequate for answers to direct questions. Abrupt and business demeanor. Coffee inconvenient to access first thing in the a.m. Must have clear understanding of integrated transport system to get around. Would NOT recommend driving a car. Traffic, especially cycles, is horrendous.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hikesleepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

First of all we want to thank you for writing down your opinion, we will definetly have in mind the inconveniency of finding coffee in the morning. Regarding the car, we do have a parking service in the hotel in order to avoid problems when parking your vehicle. Thank you again for giving us your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I've spent a week in this hotel and you'll be reading a lot of superlatives in my review. First off, the staff there understands English very well and they're maximum helpful. When asked for the map of the city, this guy even went that far that he circled famous placed and must sees. The room was great. I wasnt expecting much, since my last visit to London considering the room cost about the same, but a very nice room with separated,very spacious bathroom including bidet. In the room: free tv, free wi-fi,free safe, free room service. Nothing got stolen, we trusted the staff completely and we got room cleaned every day. What a great place. I only tried once their restaurant and it wasnt as great as expected, but this is a hotel review and the hotel is the best. The location is perfect with Putxet station just around the corner and with zero strange people around. A walk at night didn't feel dangerous at all. And it takes like a 10 minutes maximum to get to the Plaza Catalunya and at the same time you're spared of all the commotion in the city centre so overall, this is one of the reasons I enjoyed Barcelona so much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ondra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are so happy that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and you liked it so much. We hope you visit again. Thank you for taking the time in writing your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a great hotel with very friendly staff. We had a very nice room with super comfortable king size bed that helped us to rest after walking all day. Hotel and rooms are spot less clean. It looks like it was renovated recently. Nice big bathroom, free wi-fi, quiet area, close to metro, supermarket and bakery with good pastry. We followed instructions found here on how to get to the hotel from the airport and it was very easy, no need for a cab. Booked a hop on hop off bus at the reception with some discount. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you so much for such a great review. We hope you had a safe trip home and we are glad you had such a good time here in Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a very nice hotel! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really nice and you could ask for cooked option alongside the other breakfast buffet. The rooms are small but we found them fine for us with a nice bathroom and powerful shower! The much needed air con worked really well in the rooms and when you walked into the hotel lobby the air con was lovely!!
The food in the restaurant and room service was really good and good size portions.
The area was quiet but had really helpful shop across the road and supermarkets not far away. The nearest metro, El Puxet was a few mins walk and very easy to get to Placa Catalunya (5th stop) which is the central point and where Las Ramblas begins. After walking Las Ramblas several times, we decided to get the metro to the end to save our legs. Change at Catalunya and head for Drassanes (2 stops) which is at the end of Las Ramblas where the beautiful harbour is. The metro's T10 ticket was really good. There were 4 of us so we bought a couple of the tickets at a time as you can share them. We did get lost a couple of times and made an exit where we shouldn't have, so our ticket got stamped, however it is still a really good value ticket to get and can be used on buses and other modes of transport.
Other places we went to...Park Guell, 20-30 mins walk from hotel and very beautiful. The Aquarium was really lovely and I had printed off some vouchers before we left which gave us 2 euros off each per person (Price for 4 persons, 72 euros with discount).The beach was lovely, crowded, but the walk to it was really beautiful. We did go to the Sagrada Familia but the queue was 4-5 hours so just took pictures outside it. If you want to go from the hotel by Metro, go to Provenca (4th stop), change line and its 2 stops to Sagrada Familia. My husband and Son went to Noucamp which they really enjoyed. It was 23 euros each to get in.
The Maremagnum shopping mall over the bridge at the harbour was great and there is a 'all you can eat' buffet which was great for my hungry teens! It is called Freshco and it is 12.95 euros each and drinks included! Another tip is if you go to the Dept store El Cortes Ingles in Place Catalunya and go to the 9th floor where the restaurant is, you get fantastic views where you can take pictures!! This was a really great holiday and this hotel was a really great place to stay and we will definitely go back there because of the location and the staff who were all lovely and helpful!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meerkat365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silken St Gerva... B, Community Manager at Silken St. Gervasi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope that you visit again soon. Thank you for your time in writing your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Laumon
#300 of 519 in Barcelona
479 reviews
Amrey Sant Pau
#258 of 519 in Barcelona
742 reviews
Exe Mitre
#353 of 519 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bonanova
#367 of 519 in Barcelona
134 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#103 of 519 in Barcelona
433 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
Hotel Medicis
Hotel Medicis
#296 of 519 in Barcelona
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken St. Gervasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken St. Gervasi Hotel

Address: Sant Gervasi de Cassoles 26, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £44 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silken St. Gervasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sant Gervasi, is located 5 metro stops away from down town, in the most select part of Barcelona, where Modernist houses and new buildings enjoy a happy coexistence. This neighborhood is one of the safest & quietest in town. Close by to the Hotel, and very well communicated, you have also the following sightseeing’s: Park Güell, the fantastic park designed by the architect Antoni Gaudí and the Tibidabo mountain. The hotel’s size – it has only 63 rooms – is part of its special charm, and its guests will enjoy the warm hospitality only found in such intimate establishments. The Sant Gervasi is also convenient for all transport, the historic city centre and the trade fair site at Montjuïc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Silken St. Gervasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Silken St Gervasi Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing