We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible sleep quality” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silken St. Gervasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
Ranked #319 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible sleep quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have never written a review before but I felt I had to in this particular case. We chose this hotel based on the good reviews we had seen. We wasn't bothered about it being a 3 star at all, as long as it was clean with a comfortable bed where we could rest well after a full day of sight seeing, it would serve it's purpose. The hotel is in a quiet, safe location, away from the main tourist area and Putxet train station was a minute's walk away. We were in the heart of everything within 10 minutes which was fantastic. Unfortunately, that's as good as it gets, it all goes downhill from here on. As non smokers, we requested a non smoking room when we booked. We didn't even need to see the ash tray in our room to guess we were given a smokers room, we could smell the stale cigarette stench the moment we stepped through the door. We went back to reception explaining that we had booked a non smoking room only to be told that they had non available. Disappointed, we went back to our stale dirty smelling room, knowing this is what we would have to come back to every evening. As if this wasn't bad enough, we had to endure a rock hard bed in which you could feel every spring. We have slept on forest floors camping and that was more comfortable than the rack of springs we were subjected to at this hotel. We woke up feeling bruised around the ribs and hips and tired from restlessly tossing and turning trying to get comfortable. To add to terrible sleep quality, the walls were so thin, we could hear people in the next room into the early hours of the night. The reviews said the staff were "welcoming" and "helpful", I guess that depends on who's on shift, because we were made to feel like an inconvenience. Although we had plenty to complain about, we didn't want to add a bad atmosphere to the list, so we tried to overlook everything and focus on our time away from the hotel. We have stayed in many basic 3 star hotels which were much better in quality than this one. Overpriced and fails to achieve the bare minimums anyone would expect from a hotel stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    219
    78
    14
    14
See reviews for
56
219
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed April 10th - April 18th. The hotel is quiet but only a short metro ride to the centre and an easy but uphill walk to Park Guell. The tourist bus is a short walk away.
The location is residential and feels safe.
The rooms were modern, very clean and air conditioned. We ate breakfast daily, a little on the expensive side but you can order anything you want to set you up for the day.
The receptionists were very friendly and helpful and through them we booked tickets for Sagrada Familia online and saved ourselves a long wait.
Like others have said, the 'Supermerkat' opposite stays open till very late and really handy for soft drinks and snacks etc.
We have been to Barcelona before but this is the best hotel we have stayed in for cleanliness, friendliness and comfort and we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel, a bit noisy with the window open but the air conditioning is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiddlededee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Hotel in quiet location but very close to local transport, buses metro etc. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Rooms exceptionally clean.

I would certainly stay here again. Barcelona is a beautiful city

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie1968127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were here in august 2013 and we were very satisfied with this hotel. It is two minutes walk to metro station and another 10 minutes to the city centre. In front of the hotel there is grocery store which was opened even when we got back to the hotel late at night. We would definitely recommend you to stay here :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights during business trip. Great location for restaurants and sites. Modern setup and décor. Staff very helpful and friendly for all needs and requests. However Wifi signal in the rooms was very poor, could only get reasonable service in hotel lobby. Would stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Emma238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weschester,New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 days in Barcelona.. Hotel was great 5 stops to main city centre on the metro. Breakfast in the morning was good.wifi stunk in room but everything else was great and who spends time in their room when you're on vacation. Hats off to Marc. Thanks for all your help.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slatsbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perignac, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Tucked away in a side street this hotel provides good rooms, a bar and breakfast with a convenient car parking facility to leave the car in when using the public transport system. However the car park is VERY tight so large cars will have difficulty getting in and out.

The room was a little too hot for us in February but it was mild and the heating system is on all winter whatever.

Close by is the metro and the bus service that goes direct to the port by Barceloneta which was very convenient.

Room Tip: The road side rooms can be noisy if the windows are open
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffatMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Exe Mitre
#333 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
#288 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Catalonia Park Guell
#331 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#191 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Hotel Laumon
#247 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
NH Belagua
#383 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken St. Gervasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken St. Gervasi Hotel

Property: Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
Address: Sant Gervasi de Cassoles 26, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silken St. Gervasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sant Gervasi, is located 5 metro stops away from down town, in the most select part of Barcelona, where Modernist houses and new buildings enjoy a happy coexistence. This neighborhood is one of the safest & quietest in town. Close by to the Hotel, and very well communicated, you have also the following sightseeing’s: Park Güell, the fantastic park designed by the architect Antoni Gaudí and the Tibidabo mountain. The hotel’s size – it has only 63 rooms – is part of its special charm, and its guests will enjoy the warm hospitality only found in such intimate establishments. The Sant Gervasi is also convenient for all transport, the historic city centre and the trade fair site at Montjuïc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Silken St. Gervasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Silken St Gervasi Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing