We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, clean and very friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
Ranked #240 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small, clean and very friendly hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a 3 night stay in April, very clean, very friendly and close to the beach - would recommend! Didn't have breakfast, might book that next time.

Very short walk to the beach and not far from a shopping centre. Hired bikes to get around and see some more sites but did not stay long enough to see it all but will do next time!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    249
    133
    34
    11
See reviews for
69
260
21
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife went on our 25 wedding anniversery trip to Barcelona in june 2014 and stayed in this hotel for one week. We enjoyed our stay very much. We had the best view to the beach and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Every day we got new sheets and towels and the room was cleaned up. We highly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geordieland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned yesterday after 2nd (5 night) stay at this hotel. Extremely clean and comfortable, and very helpful staff. Great location with beach across the road and city centre only 2€ on regular bus service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieTraveller116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is right on the beach with very nice views if you get a room with a balcony. The rooms are clean by European standards and the service was decent. The room cost me $150 at the end of May which I thought was a good price. They have a very good breakfast for 11 euro which includes the standard Iberian ham/chorizo/cheese set-up and also they will make you an omelette. It's not in the middle of Las Ramblas or by Plaza Catalunya which to me was a plus since I've been there before and I'm not big on drunk college students. It's on a nice street that runs by the beach with many restaurants just downstairs. Overall better experience than I've had in other hotels in Barcelona as far as cleanliness goes. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach and the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I loved this hotel. I had emailed this hotel before we arrived to upgrade our room that I had booked. The 10Euro extra per night was well worth it. We got a ocean facing room with a balcony and king size bed. The room was huge considering we just got there from Paris. I liked that it was not in downtown Barcelona. The best feeling was waking up to looking at the Mediterranean Ocean. I found our bed comfortable The front staff were very friendly. From the airport cost about 30Euro. They had a car rental in the hotel which was great because we were able to rent a car for a day and drive up to Monserrat. The car rental cost about 60Euro for the day. The breakfast food at the hotel was a little expensive but since I'm such a picky eater I was just happy to get something I would like. The hotel had some restaurants close by. My favorite restaurant was El Modernista, which had great service and food. The street in front of the hotel has a Hop On Hop Off bus service. We got tickets for the Hop On and Hop Off bus for 35Euro each for two days. I thought it was great because in Barcelona there is no parking to be found and no getting lost on all the one ways... The beach was a 5 min walk, great for a morning or evening stroll. I wish they would have little coffee makers in the room. I would have loved to sit out on the balcony with a coffee. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CruzCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This bed was awful and I did not sleep at all. The breakfast was basic. The staff were friendly, but inflexible and did not provide any support. Half decent location, but overall for the price, there are better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here at the end of May on a recommendation.
Hotel is located near the beach and a short walk from the metro station.
The bedroom was spacious and clean and the bathroom had seen better days and compared to the Hotel Front Maritim the bathroom was inferior.
The ceiling was damaged in the bathroom and a vent cover was left uncovered in the bedroom ceiling on my arrival which I put right myself. This lack of eye for detail lets this hotel down.
The bedroom was comfortable but basic and the bed was comfortable.
The wifi is poor, and this results in guests hovering around reception looking for wireless signals. I cannot understand why the hotel does not sort out its WIFI as it would be a good selling point and has been mentioned by several guests previously-
There was also a lot of loud conversation between reception staff and other hotel staff which I have never seen before at a hotel on a social level. I am not sure if this is a good or bad thing- or whether it creates a poor impression-
I ate breakfast at the hotel. The first morning I was told by the waiter - an older man with pretty bad body odour that I could order a hot breakfast if I wished -so I did just that. Scrambled eggs and bacon. I was disappointed with them, the eggs were tasteless and unseasoned and the bacon greasy. The rest of the breakfast is good with fresh orange juice, cheese, meats, fruit, breads, cereal, yoghurts and coffee and the compulsory morning cakes.
On the second day the notice was removed from the tables informing guests that they could order a hot breakfast and a different waiter was serving - he made no effort to encourage any hot breakfast orders -perhaps he was aware of the quality.
Breakfast cost 11 euro but I cant imagine getting anything for less in the local cafes depending of course on what you eat for breakfast!
LATE check out is a rip off and they wanted to charge 10 euro per hour after midday. With a very late flight that evening this would have cost a further 60 euro for the priviledge of a shower before returning to the airport. The hotel had no changing facilities either. Btw the charge was 15 euro in total at the Hotel Front Maritime for late checkout which was very good value especially when clean towels were left in the room before departure)
NH hotels need to look at this charge-

Room Tip: Try the breakfast buffet at least once-
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Front Maritim
#307 of 513 in Barcelona
969 reviews
Poblenou
Euro Hotel Barcelona
Euro Hotel Barcelona
#388 of 513 in Barcelona
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#221 of 513 in Barcelona
596 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
#246 of 513 in Barcelona
1,400 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#237 of 513 in Barcelona
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar

Property: NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
Address: Espronceda, 6 | Diagonal Mar, Poblenou, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Del Mar)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#96 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#155 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Barcelona del Mar hotel, formerly known as the Hesperia Del Mar, puts you footsteps from both the beach and Barcelona's seafront business district. Five minutes more will get you to the CCIB congress center. And the city center is just 4 stops away on the metro. - 2-minute walk to the beach - close to the CCIB congress center - 10-minute metro ride to the city center Our 84 rooms are airy and modern, with sleek hardwood floors and LCD TVs in each. All are decorated in contemporary Mediterranean colors and some of the rooms from the 3rd-floor upwards get glorious views out to sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Del Mar Barcelona
Hesperia Del Mar Hotel Barcelona
NH Hesperia Barcelona Del Mar Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing