We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok hotel, terrible staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Balmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Balmes
Ranked #135 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, terrible staff”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First of all I had booked this hotel on Lastminute.com thinking it was a 4 star hotel however it turned out to be only 3 stars, it is also confusing as there is more than one Balmes hotel in Barcelona... I obviously got the "bad" one! Not only was I disappointed about that but then when we arrived the hotel lobby was not nice and on top of that the staff were far from welcoming.
We had arrived early so our room was not ready which was fine, when we finally came back and got to our room we were put on a ground floor room near the swimming pool, there was lots of noise from outside including drilling. There were also tables and chairs positioned directly outside our door and some other guests sitting there talking, they sounded as if they were in our room it was that noisy. The final straw for me was when I went looking for some drinking water it turned out that a small bottle of drinking water would cost 2.75 euros! I called reception asking where the drinking water was and they told me I could either pay for it or drink the water from the tap which I quote, "is not very good". I complained about that and the noise and the man told me to come to reception, I went and was upgraded however made it very clear he was not happy about it.
When it came to asking for directions etc... we tried once but it was obvious they couldn't really care less about us. To be fair there was one man behind reception that was nice and smiled but the main 2 men were horrible.
Because of this I will never stay at a Derby hotel again and will feel hesitant to use lastminute.com after the false advertising.
We still had an amazing holiday in Barcelona and I can't wait to go back... just never to this hotel or chain.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main hotel and not outside by the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your words about our Hotel.

I promise you that we will work hard in order to be better in the future, thank you for help us.

I hope to see you next future and to change your opinion about us.

Thanks.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    435
    174
    56
    24
See reviews for
174
458
82
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night break to Barcelona, staying at Balmes. The hotel is well placed and a good base for sight seeing around the city. Approx 15 -20 mins walk to La Rambla and 2 blocks across from some of Gaudi's fabulous buildings. On our first night we stayed in a standard room, situated at the back of the property in what appeared to be the basement. The hotel claims on its website that all their rooms are sound proof. Our first night was awful, we could hear everything from all of the adjoining rooms......people going to the toilet etc! We had very little sleep. We went to reception the next morning to ask to be moved which turned out to be us paying for an upgrade 20 euro per night. We moved to the 6th floor where we had no more noise problems. We where however annoyed that having booked a standard room that's it seems acceptable to hear people having a pee etc!!??? Reception didn't seem a bit bothered, which then makes me think how many times do they put people in those rooms knowing they will upgrade! When we came back into the hotel in the evening to get our new room key, the girl behind the desk had a smirk on her face and had to turn away whilst her colleague gave us our key card.
Overall an average stay, probably wouldn't return though.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room, avoid standard. Higher floors where quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your words about our Hotel Balmes.

We try to offer the best service to our clients, this is our aim and we will work hard in the future in order to be better.

Thank you.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel if you want to be close to the main shopping streets in Barcelona (had to buy an extra suitcase) and there are great places to eat and chill out near by, not to mention access to the Metro at Balmes/Provenza.
However, the blot on the landscape for me was that despite the very small size of the pool - quite adequate for a quick dip to cool off, guests with children seemed to think that because it was there, albeit small, they should just take over, make a lot of noise over a long period of time (I heard one man say that his children had been in there for over 2 hours), and bounce balls around making it impossible to chill quietly by the pool and take a quick dip to cool off. A bit of respect for those people lying by the pool and possibly wishing to use it wouldn't go amiss, but, the hotel really aught to have some sort of rule against inflatables in the water (it really is not big enough) and draw guests attention to some basic pool etiquette for those not used to good pool behaviour.
If you have children who are not used to Spanish pool life and you want to behave with them as if you are at the beach, please go to an appropriate hotel - this is not it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumistheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words about the Hotel Balme.

Is very important your opinion for us and for the rest of the clients; in this case you have a very nice opinion about the Hotel , but in this case you said that sometimes we have to respect the rest of the people, in the swimingpool, at night, etc....

Thanks for your words and we will try to correct all we can.

Thank you for coming with us and for help us too.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 4 days in barcelona.stayed at balmes hotel, rooms and surrounding areas of hotel very clean, staff very helpful and friendly.lovely pool on outside terrace..very cold in water tho x didnt eat at hotel so cant comment but plenty of bars and restaurants in l'eixample area.15 mins walk to la ramblas.def would stay at hotel again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank suerobwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Balmes.

Is very important for all the staff the opinion of all the clients.

We celebrate that you had a nice days with us.

Thank you so much and see you next future.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
't Harde, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Me and my sister stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Balmes. It is a lovely hotel with a really nice staff! We felt very welcome there. Everything was clean. And it has a good location. I really enjoyed the weekend there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanneHuenestein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Balmes, is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed in our Hotel.

I hope to see you next future in Barcelona, and thank you again.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights mid July. Very nice room with street view. Nice extras like potpourri clothes packet. Front desk staff were very helpful and kind, and fluent english speakers.
The hotel is in walking distance of few Gaudi locations.

I took a 2 day Hop on/Hop off bus tour that was under 40 $US and so worth it. The MNAC Museum is on the route, has a very large and diverse art collection and wonderful views of the city. Try to get to the beach, if you can. I didn't really care for the Ramblas, too congested.

Room Tip: Request a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you words about the Hotel Balmes.

Is as pleasure for all the staff to know that you spent a nice days in our Hotel.

Thank you so much and I hope to see you next future in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. Our room was great, had all the facilities we required (bed, sofa, mini bar, air conditioning) but best of all was the private outside space. We had patio doors that let onto a small balcony then steps down to a large terrace area, complete with table, chairs and sun loungers. It was very private and got the sun until 4pm - you are normally lucky to get a balcony in Barcelona never mind all this space. I believe only a few rooms in the hotel have this extra, ours was a superior room. The hotel was very clean, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and friendly. We normally stay at the Jazz hotel and decided to try Balmes for a change and we loved it. £85 for the room per night. Didn't have breakfast or eat in hotel so cannot comment, there are loads of café bars right on the doorstep of the hotel open till around 1am. Free wifi - I had an issue getting connected but the reception staff set my phone up for me in no time and I had no problems with it. We had no disturbed sleep due to noise - you couldn't hear a thing and also the patio doors have electronic shutters that keep the light out. We will definitely be returning to this hotel again on our next visit to Barcelona and cant recommend it enough. It is a 15minute walk to the top of Las Ramblas for those wishing to sight see or visit the busier side to Barcelona. Thank you to the staff at Balmes Hotel for making our stay enjoyable and we will be back.

Room Tip: Superior room was excellent, very quiet with private outside area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortstuffScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words about the Hotel Balmes.

All the staff of the Hotel is very happy to know that you had a nice days in our Hotel and in Barcelona.

Thank you so much and I hope to see you soon in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 521 in Barcelona
1,357 reviews
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Eixample
Barcelona Center Hotel
Barcelona Center Hotel
#198 of 521 in Barcelona
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#152 of 521 in Barcelona
907 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#142 of 521 in Barcelona
1,041 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balmes

Property: Hotel Balmes
Address: Mallorca, 216, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#99 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balmes 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmes is a modern four-star hotel just steps away from Barcelona's Avinguda Diagonal in the city's Eixample neighborhood. Minutes from Passeig de Gràcia, the hotel combines its central location with the tranquility of its pool and interior garden. An oasis in the heart of Barcelona's shopping district with a sauna and exclusive services. With 102 comfortable rooms and a range of tailored options, from double and family rooms to exquisite suites and luxurious apartments, guests are ensured the perfect stay for either business or pleasure. In addition to its function rooms and one-of-a-kind dining options for groups and events, the hotel also features a collection of African art that showcases three-dimensional wooden African masks and sculptures from different sub-Saharan African countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Balmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Balmes Hotel
Balmes Barcelona
Hotel Balmes Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing