We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,086 results
Traveller rating
217
391
318
107
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
391
318
107
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews selva de mar metro station minute walk quiet area tour bus sight seeing central barcelona hop on hop la rambla visit barcelona euros city taxi convention comb sauna stops
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 1,086 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

In general we found the hotel okay, and we slept well, but there were a few minor issues.

The room was quiet, even though we were at 1st floor level beside a street. When the window was closed, you hardly heard anything from the street.

The two single beds were comfortable, but quite small.

We had a 2-yr-old with us, and a cot was provided free of charge, and we were also put in a wheelchair-accessible room which seemed to be 50% larger than a normal room.

Most rooms seem to be in a second building, which is accessed via the basement level, so if you are in a wheelchair or with a child in a pushchair, you need to take a lift down one level., then another lift up again.

Wi-Fi signal was strong in the room, but sometimes we couldn't connect, and at times it was very slow, even in middle of the night.

The room had quite poor lighting, it needed at least a lamp on the desk, or brighter bulbs. Also some of the lights were "warm" orange type lights, and some "cold" blue type lights, which don't really go together.

There were only two electrical sockets in the bedroom (plus one in the bathroom), and only one socket was anywhere near the bed. This is inconvenient if you have a smartphone that you want to recharge every night, but also want to keep close by on the bedside table.

Housekeeping was a bit erratic, with soap, etc. going missing from the bathroom, and we had to phone reception to get replacements.

The was an issue with the plug in the sink, which once descended, couldn't be lifted up again. It was fixed, but a couple of days later went wrong again.

There was a mini-bar, which we used as a fridge (by temporarily removing the mini-bar drinks).

The room was too warm for my tastes (maybe 25C?), even though we were visiting in May and the outside temperature was around 21-22C by day, and lower at night.

It's about a 10min walk to the Selva de Mar metro station. Also, the H16 bus, which runs close to the seafront all the way into the centre of Barcelona is only 3mins walk away.

As well as the restaurant in the hotel, there are a few cafes & restaurants in the general area.

Reception staff were generally helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mambero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the hotel. I take note of his recommendations to improve the satisfaction of customers. Thank you for writing to us at trfipadvisor. We hope to see it soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Well located on sea front, nice view and you can easily walk along the beach. You can access to buses to get to the center and the ramblas. Restaurant with windows giving on the sea, friendly staff, and dinner for 15€ with a glas of wine...
Good compromise between sea and access to inner city...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 581brigitteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the hotel. Thank you for your comenatrio. We hope to see it soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel in May for 4 nights.
Was clean, polite staff, nice location close to the beach.
Poor breakfast for 9 Euros..
What was really missing were safe and fridge... Probably they dont place fridge in the room wih purpose not to buy nothing to have for breakfast and to go to eat there. For the same reason probably was missing kettle to make a hot tea. If that would be there I would give hotel one star more in my rating.
Internet very slow and lost it all the time.
If you plan to stay close to sea, can recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bijou1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We are happy to receive your comments, we are improving our facilities with safes and refrigerators. We take good note of your comments and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I had stayed for 4 nights in this hotel in Apr2014. This is not a 4 Star hotel as advertised. The rooms are small but clean and well maintained. The location of the hotel is brilliant just opposite to the beach and access to public transportation is easily available. Hotel also provides passes for tourist buses and they can be taken from hotel. Breakfast was also enriched and the support staff is very helpful and co-operative.
What I found negative were: there is no locker or safe in the room. There is no mini bar, water bottle or even a coffee machine in the room. They didnt change the toiletries after first day and we had to manage with what we had got. Breakfast has enough choices but be prepared to go early as the restaurant area is small and gets full fast and then you either wait or have breakfast in lounge. Internet on wifi is complimentary but very very slow. I was in a corner room and many times I lost the wifi signals.

For a hotel for 4 stars I think these few basic things should be checked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank godofrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and our situation in Barcelona, we take note of the improvements proposed by us, we are renovating the rooms and place safes and minibars in the rooms. Feel free to come back and visit us soon and use our website to get the best deals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stop here for one night on saturday 20th of April before taking the ferry to Menorca its clean but the rooms are very small

Did not eat here but had a couple of beers Small bottle bit on the pricey side at 3.80 euros for a bottle

Car park was safe as it was undeground and at 15 euros a night again a bit pricey if you are stopping for more than one night

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and your trip to Menorca.We hope to visit Barcelona, soon and remember you will get the best deals on our website

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews