We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the beach, good hotel, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Front Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Front Maritim
Ranked #310 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Edmonton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“On the beach, good hotel, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you're looking to stay on an amazing beach, this hotel is for you! Hotel Front Maratim is across the street from the beautiful sea. There is a huge lobby, restaurant, and excellent service at the front desk. The hop on/off bus has a stop just a couple minutes walk from the hotel. There are restaurants in the area and a 10 minute walk will take you to the trendy shopping, eating, and nightlife area. The room we stayed in had beautiful beach views. It was clean, the AC and wifi both worked well, the room was spacious as well as the bathroom. I had read reviews of this hotel and I must say that whoever doesn't think this hotel is at least average to above average is highly picky and they need to be staying at the four seasons. There was nothing wrong at all with this hotel! We enjoyed our stay. It was quiet, sleep quality was very good, and the room service was decent. You can't go wrong here. Good value for money especially if you're looking to be on the beach! If you are driving, the hotel has free parking. Also, it is very easy to drive to this hotel and leave as it is located on a street that directly turns into motorways in both directions.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view if it matters to you. We simply lucked out and ended up with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twyla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for such a positive comment, we are very glad that you enjoyed our hotel with its fantastic location and the services that provide our team. We hope you will visit us again soon, keep in mind to visit our website for the best deals!

Best Regards,
Management of the Hotel Front Maritim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    334
    265
    84
    39
See reviews for
107
368
43
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here for a week, so I think I had an adequate impression of the hotel.
Good points: the room was cleaned every day, including Sunday. It is close to the Convention Centre and to the beach, and the shopping mall at Diagional.

Bad points: there was no armchair or sofa in the room, so it was difficult to relax. There was just one upright basic chair. There is no kettle, so after a day of sightseeing you cannot make a hot drink in the room. I asked reception for a kettle but was told these are not provided. Furthermore, there is no refrigerator - so no cold drinks either!

The thing that I found most frustrating was the poor internet access. Either there was no connection or it was so slow - even for simple text messages - that one gave up. I complained one morning and was told that an engineer would look at it on the same day. I doubted this, as it was Sunday. Sure enough, there was no improvement. I made more complaints on other days and was fobbed off with "Try again in ten minutes". It's possible that other rooms have better internet access, so make sure to request this if you need it.

In conclusion, the comfort level is not what you would expect of a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good internet access if you need this. Ask for a room with an armchair (not sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decisionscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for giving feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay at The Front Maritim. We strive to ensure every experience at our hotel is perfect and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding our facilities. We did have some wifi reception problems, that have been rectified now;I am sorry if this inconvenienced you. I do hope that you may allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards, The Management of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Been to Barcelona quite a few times and this is the best 4* hotel so far.Everywhere was clean.The hotel is very modern in an area we have never visited before.Indeed this was a refreshing change to have a holiday where english was rarely heard in a very modern part of the city.Great beach plenty of places to explore in the back streets.The convention centre,Diagonal Mar shopping centre and Nat History museum are all within 10 min walk and the fantastic Olympic pool complex around 30 mins walk away.Directly across the road from the beach.The breakfast was ok for Spain.They didn't seem capable of coping with lots of guests at the same time foodwise,always running out of something but they managed to replenish in a reasonable time.A few things on the down side.You have to ask for the air con being switched on.No wardrobes or drawers which suggests they cater for 2/3 night guests as we were there for 9 nights living out of a suitcase wasn't ideal.We constantly had to ask for soap,towels etc.All in all we were satisfied with the hotel so much so we rebooked for next year

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HELGRA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Gerente at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback which is genuinely appreciated as we use this to review what improvements we can make to our product and service. I am delighted to note that you felt that hotel was a very good option and that you are already planning your next trip! An excellent customer service is absolutely central to our service ethos. We are looking forward to you coming back next year. Best Regards, Mari Carmen Soriano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

....Wasn't bad, clean rooms, but a slightly chaotic method getting to the elevator.

I even had somewhat of a seaview if I leant out of the window a bit.

free wi-fi which was good.

It's about 15 minutes from the old quarter, so not too bad a journey.

reakfast was pretty much as yoiu'd find in a Premier Inn too. Not the greatest, but enough to fill a gap until lunch.

I stayed for one night mid-week and it was about 77 euros, so that wasn't too bad either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Gerente at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you for posting your review. I am glad that in general you liked your stay, the hotel indeed has a great location and we always aim for customer service excellence. I hope you will have a chance to visit us again and will be able to try all the services that our hotel has to offer. Best Regards, Mari Carmen Soriano - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Two night stay

This was an ideal short stay for my wife and I before starting a cruise. Arrived with some trepidation after reading a few of the previous reviews, but was pleasantly surprised with the hotel.

The staff were efficient and professional. They did seem a little stretched when a large party arrived which was understandable. Room was very clean albeit on the small side. Situated on Floor 7 at the back of the hotel, there was a side on view of the ocean and due to the large window the room was light and airy, but quiet at night. WC/shower room was large and spotless. There were plenty of extras in bathroom kit. Towels/bedding were clean.

Wi-Fi was fine from our room and reception. Did not experience any drop-out, although I was only loading basic web pages/mail - not streaming music/video. Did not use the gym (was open)

No mini bar or safe. The hotel offers safety deposit boxes for a 30€ refundable deposit.

Food:
Did not have any of their meals. Spoke to a few people leaving at the same time as us and they really enjoyed their half board menus and breakfast.
Plenty of cafes/restaurants near the hotel and a beach cafe/bar.
As expected there were no tea/coffee making facilities – as with most Spanish/French/Italian hotels we have visited.

Selva de Mar metro approx. 10 mins walk.

Bus (H16) 3 minute walk - next road up at the rear of the hotel. Bus journey to the beach end of Las Ramblas is approx. 20mins. For anyone going onto a ship and not wanting to take a cab, this is ideal for the Columbus monument that is situated at the port entrance. If your ship is docked at one of the further Terminals, A-D then you will need to get the port shuttle bus which is an incredible 2€ pp. This does seem excessive after paying 10.30€ at the Airport for a T-10 travel card which covered us for all other travel on public transport during our stay (5 journeys each, anywhere in town and also timed so may include return trips).

Cab approx. 15€ to town (did not use).

Great beach approx. 5min walk - across busy road but with pedestrian crossings and a bridge.

Worth a mention too that there is a large shopping centre East of the metro (Diagonal Mar Centro Comercial), around a 15-20 min walk from the Hotel. Includes a Spanish equivalent of Auchan (Alcampo) for food and probably covers everything you would need for a holiday without having to shop in the city.

For those feeling more energetic, the walk to the edge of the Parc de la Ciutadella is approx. 35-40mins.

Luggage can be held there if leaving Barcelona later in the day.

Three days is not long enough for Barcelona and we hope to be back. We would probably book this hotel again – assuming that the next visit will be during the warmer months of the year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southeastcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Gerente at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear southeastcycle

I am assuming from your article that you must be a travel writer! There is so much detail about every aspect of the hotel and locality. Thank you so much for taking the time to put all your experiences down in writing.

Kind regards

Mari Carmen Soriano
Directora
Hotel Front Maritim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Yes thats right, not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel, neither the fact that the ac that didn't work (but which did get fixed in the end).
It's pretty basic and definitely not very cozy, the breakfast is alright, but not great. And the service...well they do what you ask them to do.
It wasn't the worst, but looking at the price/ quality ratio, really not compatible.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yorick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Gerente at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you for leaving your review. I do regret reading about your impression from your last stay with us. Please accept my apologies for a lapse in cleaning service that you received in our hotel, I have already spoken to our maids regarding this very unpleasant incident. I do hope you reconsider staying with us in the future as our levels of hospitality and services are generally very high. Your sincerely, Mari Carmen Soriano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Bad air-conditioner with limited cooling effect at rooms on the 1'th floor. Ask for an upgrade to any of the top floor if you stay here. Restaurant at the hotel that was good. Tidy and clean rooms. Okay service but quite slow. No problem to leave our luggage all day in storage when we checked out. No problem to prolonging the checkout for an hour or two. Helpful while we where asking for a new hotels in town - free use of computers with internet in well air-conditened reception

Very close to lively beach full of sun chairs and parasols, drinks, loud music and dancing spanish people. Located a bit away from city center. A ride to town costs 10-15 euro (it was to hot and far to walk).

The hotel is suitable for those who seek to come away from the city plus with shopping and tourist, and instead spend all your days at the close by miles long beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Gerente at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Therese, thank you for posting your review. Glad to hear that in general you liked our hotel and facilities. I can assure you that all steps will be taken to address the points that weren't so good. Let us know in advance about your arrival and I will allocate you a different room to make sure your stay is perfect. Best Regards, Mari Carmen Soriano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#222 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#235 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
#376 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Poblenou
Hesperia Del Mar
Hesperia Del Mar
#213 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
#166 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Front Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Front Maritim

Property: Hotel Front Maritim
Address: Passeig Garcia Faria 69-71, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#183 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Front Maritim 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona right on the beachfront and a few meters from international congress centre CCIB, the hotel has 177 rooms with direct telephone line, internet connection, satellite TV, air conditioning, full bathrooms with bathtub or shower and hair dryer. Some of them adapted for handicapped people and some with sea views. In the hotel you can enjoy our fitness room, with cardio machines, sauna and steam bath. Also you can use our business centre with computers connected to internet and our restaurant where you will taste a large variety of Mediterranean cuisine. There is own parking available in the same building. The hotel has 6 meeting rooms with audiovisual equipment, natural light, in front of the sea and high speed internet connection. They are the ideal place for the celebration of your meetings, conventions, banquets and all kinds of social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, BookAssist, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Front Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Maritim Barcelona
Front Maritim Hotel
Hotel Front Maritim Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing