We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
218
393
321
109
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
393
321
109
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews selva de mar metro station minute walk around the corner decent hotel tour bus quiet area public transport hop on hop central barcelona sight seeing bars and restaurants la rambla city euros taxi stops
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you're looking to stay on an amazing beach, this hotel is for you! Hotel Front Maratim is across the street from the beautiful sea. There is a huge lobby, restaurant, and excellent service at the front desk. The hop on/off bus has a stop just a couple minutes walk from the hotel. There are restaurants in the area and a 10 minute walk will take you to the trendy shopping, eating, and nightlife area. The room we stayed in had beautiful beach views. It was clean, the AC and wifi both worked well, the room was spacious as well as the bathroom. I had read reviews of this hotel and I must say that whoever doesn't think this hotel is at least average to above average is highly picky and they need to be staying at the four seasons. There was nothing wrong at all with this hotel! We enjoyed our stay. It was quiet, sleep quality was very good, and the room service was decent. You can't go wrong here. Good value for money especially if you're looking to be on the beach! If you are driving, the hotel has free parking. Also, it is very easy to drive to this hotel and leave as it is located on a street that directly turns into motorways in both directions.

Room tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view if it matters to you. We simply lucked out and ended up with one.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Twyla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for such a positive comment, we are very glad that you enjoyed our hotel with its fantastic location and the services that provide our team. We hope you will visit us again soon, keep in mind to visit our website for the best deals!

Best Regards,
Management of the Hotel Front Maritim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here for a week, so I think I had an adequate impression of the hotel.
Good points: the room was cleaned every day, including Sunday. It is close to the Convention Centre and to the beach, and the shopping mall at Diagional.

Bad points: there was no armchair or sofa in the room, so it was difficult to relax. There was just one upright basic chair. There is no kettle, so after a day of sightseeing you cannot make a hot drink in the room. I asked reception for a kettle but was told these are not provided. Furthermore, there is no refrigerator - so no cold drinks either!

The thing that I found most frustrating was the poor internet access. Either there was no connection or it was so slow - even for simple text messages - that one gave up. I complained one morning and was told that an engineer would look at it on the same day. I doubted this, as it was Sunday. Sure enough, there was no improvement. I made more complaints on other days and was fobbed off with "Try again in ten minutes". It's possible that other rooms have better internet access, so make sure to request this if you need it.

In conclusion, the comfort level is not what you would expect of a four star hotel.

Room tip: Ask for a room with good internet access if you need this. Ask for a room with an armchair (not sure if they have them).
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank decisionscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for giving feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay at The Front Maritim. We strive to ensure every experience at our hotel is perfect and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding our facilities. We did have some wifi reception problems, that have been rectified now;I am sorry if this inconvenienced you. I do hope that you may allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards, The Management of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Been to Barcelona quite a few times and this is the best 4* hotel so far.Everywhere was clean.The hotel is very modern in an area we have never visited before.Indeed this was a refreshing change to have a holiday where english was rarely heard in a very modern part of the city.Great beach plenty of places to explore in the back streets.The convention centre,Diagonal Mar shopping centre and Nat History museum are all within 10 min walk and the fantastic Olympic pool complex around 30 mins walk away.Directly across the road from the beach.The breakfast was ok for Spain.They didn't seem capable of coping with lots of guests at the same time foodwise,always running out of something but they managed to replenish in a reasonable time.A few things on the down side.You have to ask for the air con being switched on.No wardrobes or drawers which suggests they cater for 2/3 night guests as we were there for 9 nights living out of a suitcase wasn't ideal.We constantly had to ask for soap,towels etc.All in all we were satisfied with the hotel so much so we rebooked for next year

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HELGRA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Gerente at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind feedback which is genuinely appreciated as we use this to review what improvements we can make to our product and service. I am delighted to note that you felt that hotel was a very good option and that you are already planning your next trip! An excellent customer service is absolutely central to our service ethos. We are looking forward to you coming back next year. Best Regards, Mari Carmen Soriano, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

....Wasn't bad, clean rooms, but a slightly chaotic method getting to the elevator.

I even had somewhat of a seaview if I leant out of the window a bit.

free wi-fi which was good.

It's about 15 minutes from the old quarter, so not too bad a journey.

reakfast was pretty much as yoiu'd find in a Premier Inn too. Not the greatest, but enough to fill a gap until lunch.

I stayed for one night mid-week and it was about 77 euros, so that wasn't too bad either.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Gerente at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you for posting your review. I am glad that in general you liked your stay, the hotel indeed has a great location and we always aim for customer service excellence. I hope you will have a chance to visit us again and will be able to try all the services that our hotel has to offer. Best Regards, Mari Carmen Soriano - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Two night stay

This was an ideal short stay for my wife and I before starting a cruise. Arrived with some trepidation after reading a few of the previous reviews, but was pleasantly surprised with the hotel.

The staff were efficient and professional. They did seem a little stretched when a large party arrived which was understandable. Room was very clean albeit on the small side. Situated on Floor 7 at the back of the hotel, there was a side on view of the ocean and due to the large window the room was light and airy, but quiet at night. WC/shower room was large and spotless. There were plenty of extras in bathroom kit. Towels/bedding were clean.

Wi-Fi was fine from our room and reception. Did not experience any drop-out, although I was only loading basic web pages/mail - not streaming music/video. Did not use the gym (was open)

No mini bar or safe. The hotel offers safety deposit boxes for a 30€ refundable deposit.

Food:
Did not have any of their meals. Spoke to a few people leaving at the same time as us and they really enjoyed their half board menus and breakfast.
Plenty of cafes/restaurants near the hotel and a beach cafe/bar.
As expected there were no tea/coffee making facilities – as with most Spanish/French/Italian hotels we have visited.

Selva de Mar metro approx. 10 mins walk.

Bus (H16) 3 minute walk - next road up at the rear of the hotel. Bus journey to the beach end of Las Ramblas is approx. 20mins. For anyone going onto a ship and not wanting to take a cab, this is ideal for the Columbus monument that is situated at the port entrance. If your ship is docked at one of the further Terminals, A-D then you will need to get the port shuttle bus which is an incredible 2€ pp. This does seem excessive after paying 10.30€ at the Airport for a T-10 travel card which covered us for all other travel on public transport during our stay (5 journeys each, anywhere in town and also timed so may include return trips).

Cab approx. 15€ to town (did not use).

Great beach approx. 5min walk - across busy road but with pedestrian crossings and a bridge.

Worth a mention too that there is a large shopping centre East of the metro (Diagonal Mar Centro Comercial), around a 15-20 min walk from the Hotel. Includes a Spanish equivalent of Auchan (Alcampo) for food and probably covers everything you would need for a holiday without having to shop in the city.

For those feeling more energetic, the walk to the edge of the Parc de la Ciutadella is approx. 35-40mins.

Luggage can be held there if leaving Barcelona later in the day.

Three days is not long enough for Barcelona and we hope to be back. We would probably book this hotel again – assuming that the next visit will be during the warmer months of the year.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southeastcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotelscities, Gerente at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear southeastcycle

I am assuming from your article that you must be a travel writer! There is so much detail about every aspect of the hotel and locality. Thank you so much for taking the time to put all your experiences down in writing.

Kind regards

Mari Carmen Soriano
Directora
Hotel Front Maritim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews