We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, very nice accomidations”
Review of Abba Sants Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abba Sants Hotel
Ranked #315 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location, very nice accomidations”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on my brief stopover through Barcelona. The hotel is situated right next to one of the biggest train hubs in Barcelona (giving you access to the Eurotrains, Busses and Metro) So I can't compliment the location enough. it was about a 10 min metro ride from all the tourist sites and since it was a metro hub as well, you could catch almost every train.
Ok, the hotel itself was nice and clean, rooms were flawless, with medium sized modern bathrooms and large bedrooms. I told the woman at the front desk that I wanted a room with a view since I had never been to Barcelona and she gave me a room on the 7th floor with a large terrace as well as lounge chairs!! The room was excellent.
There is no free internet in the rooms and you can get a code for 1 hour of free internet in the lobby. The cost was pretty expensive for Internet though it seemed like most hotels in the area had the same deal. For the price, this was a great stay. I would stay here again.
The only negative thing I would say is that , though the rooms were in great condition, the hallways looked like they could use some sprucing up, but nothing bad enough to make me want to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    268
    129
    19
    13
See reviews for
79
246
27
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I wasn't sure if this was going to be a good move or a bad move on my part, booking a hotel that was not on the Ramblas. It turned out to be a great move! The hotel is literally just steps away from the metro station that goes to ALL of the main attractions in Barcelona, plus stops at 3 different places on the Ramblas. Buy a 10-trip metro ticket (good for more than one person), and save a huge amount over being right off the Ramblas! Hotel is immaculate. In fact, the hallways smelled a bit antiseptic, but hey, better clean than other smells!

The rooms (we had a double) have windows that open to let in the breezes, great air conditioning, a full bathroom replete with every type of amenity, and a trouser press, which works as an iron for just about every article of clothing wrinkled in your suitcase.

The beds are very firm. Pillows are basic hypoallergenic - no down available, but happy to give you as many as you want. The rooms were impeccably clean. Nicely laid out as well, with two single beds, a desk, place to put your luggage, an in-room safe (free), closet and nice size bathroom with shower and tub. The service was friendly, free wi-fi in the lobby (ask at the front desk), the front desk employees spoke decent English and were happy to help with everything requested.

A buffet breakfast is available in the hotel. We opted to eat light and headed across the street to the local bakery, where the service sucked but the pastries were good. The hotel had better cappacino though. We ate one night in the restaurants near the hotel, but never actually ate at the hotel, so I can't comment on their food. The drinks were reasonably priced and the bar tenders happy to make a virgin pina colada for my son nightly.

My son and I were very happy with this hotel, and since it took only 10 minutes by metro to get into the heart of the Ramblas, the price differental makes this hotel a true find. Plus, no noise to keep you awake at night. The metro was clean, and while everyone tells you to be careful, hold your purse in front of you (mailman style) etc., neither my teenage son nor I were bothered at any time. We found the metro to be clean, comfortable, fast and easy to figure out.

The area around this hotel is filled with restaurants, a laundry service, 2 ATM's, and some stores. Nothing of major interest to "see" in the area, but safe enough to walk around. It's also only a few short blocks to the main train station should you want to visit Monsterrat or are heading say to Madrid.

If you are going to the port, just ask the desk to call you a cab. Price from airport to this hotel ran around 25 Euro. I definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felix33442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This hotel was included as part of a tour. The room was good, with a nice view of a vacant lot - which is better than the street. The rooms had a pile of travel goodies in the bathroom, like combs, cologne, bath sponges, toothbrushes, etc. The breakfast was plentiful with many choices. Plus, when my father left his glasses on a tour bus, the best the tour company could do was to have a driver who was receiving passengers at the train station (very close by) bring the glasses. I was not completely sure of the spot for the pick up, so an employee offered to escort me to the pick-up. This was amazing! Plus, when I tried to offer her a tip she refused it! also, the location is just next to a metro stop and, as noted earlier, very close to the train station.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seavapor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I decided to book a room after reading about it in TA. The hotel is easy to reach from the airport ; 5-10 minutes walk from Barca train station. there is also a metro stop outside the hotel which makes it really easy to move around.

Room is above average and clean, A/C works (important during this time of the year). we also liked the breakfast buffet.

There are other hotels in the area in case location is what you want, they may even be cheaper or better. Having said that; I did like ABBA SANTS and would go back if ever in Barca again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MephistoTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The hotel was clean and near a metro station.
We think the hotel is overpriced because it didnt include breakfast, internet in the room or any other services.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipoChipolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This hotel is one of the Abba hotel chain's and is really nice! It's just a block or two from the Barcelona Sants train station, and there's a really handy Metro subway stop just outside the front door. Mini fridge, air-conditioning, great room service. The hotel's staff is quite friendly and very helpful, especially with directions to all the art-related points of interest (and there are many in Barcelona). the rooms are clean and gorgeous! Wi-fi is available in the rooms, but for a small price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We chose this hotel because it was near the barcelona sants station. We were very happy with our choice. this is truly a 4 star hotel. The rooms were excellent, the hotel staff very friendly and its right next to the station. You can get to the city centre in about 15 mins by metro.

We had requested for an early check-in. Most of the hotels do not allow that. The staff in this hotel were friendly and allowed us to check in early.

Excellent supplies provided in the toilet, which was very clean and big. Very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Hotel Acta City47
#233 of 512 in Barcelona
754 reviews
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#216 of 512 in Barcelona
1,297 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#340 of 512 in Barcelona
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abba Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Esplugues de Llobregat
407 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Abbot
Hotel Abbot
#464 of 512 in Barcelona
219 reviews
El Raval
Abba Rambla Hotel
Abba Rambla Hotel
#283 of 512 in Barcelona
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abba Sants Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Sants Hotel

Property: Abba Sants Hotel
Address: C/ Numancia 32, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abba Sants Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abba Sants Hotel is conveniently located a 5-minute walk from Barcelona's main train station and Sants Estacio Metro Station. It offers modern, soundproofed rooms with air conditioning and satellite TV. The high-speed AVE Train leaves from the main Sants Train Station, and there are direct trains to Barcelona Airport. The tourist bus stops there, and you can take the Metro into the centre in 10 minutes. Traditional Basque specialties are included in the cuisine served at the Abba Sants's restaurant. There is also a bar, and packed lunches can be requested. The Abba Sants has a 24-hour front desk and offers Wi-Fi in rooms and public areas for a supplement. You can hire a car at the tour desk, and parking is available nearby for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Abba Sants Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Sants Barcelona
Hotel Abba Sants
Abba Sants Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing