We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Ranked #113 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The service was excellent. The room was well equipped, very clean and spacious, with beautiful decor.
The location was ideal, as it was situated central to all cafes, restaurants, shopping, rail, buses and sightseeing.
I would definitely stay again at the Royal Ramblas Hotel.
I was told there didn't have porters to help with luggage. As I was travelling with my daughter and her infant, it was difficult trying to transport all the luggage and a pram down the elevator to reception on departure. No hot water one day we were there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    707
    178
    56
    33
See reviews for
437
609
64
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Location: by far, it's the greatest asset of this hotel.
Also the parking is very useful, although expensive. It's not cheap, but it's the only way to park on the Rambla.
Good and complete breakfast.
The staff was very kind (a name above all: Mr.Sergi at the reception).
I reccomend this hotel.
Minor remark: there is an awful smell of garbage in the underground garage.... pls, do something to solve it....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dado1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frontalierland Geneva
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location, opening onto a very central point on Las Ramblas, yet it is surprisingly quiet inside with good sound proofing (the only sound breaking through being the reasonably frequent siren...). The rooms are nicely decorated, extremely clean and well maintained, but as you would expect in such a location they are quite small. Beds are extremely comfortable, but water runs boiling to freezing in moments. Breakfast, which unusually for Barcelona was included in our room rate, was really very good. A few hot items, and a delicious spread of pastries, cakes, cookies etc. The wifi which is available everywhere was a bit patchy, and having to log in for every use is really irritating. Also we were disappointed that management declined to make up the extra low pull out camp bed in our room for our toddler. We gathered on check out that this might have incurred an extra charge as we had her registered to sleep in one of the already made up twin beds, but that would have been fine if someone had bothered to advise us or ask what we would like to do instead of simply deciding to ignore the request and not bothering to try and help out with what would have been a convenient adjustment to our room set up. The check out lady was apologetic but you have the feeling that in such a prime location with the volumes of people passing through (and reception is constantly bursting with people waiting for help as August was extremely busy and they only have two people on reception most of the time) that they might not be concerned with repeat business. One other niggle was room service which is centrally served by an external catering company which services several hotels. We have tried it twice, once in another similar hotel, and both times the food arrived cold. It is understandable given it isn't made on site, but how ridiculous to offer hot dishes and not be able to deliver them when they are still good to eat. Overall the hotel is in a great location and very reasonably priced, particularly considering the good breakfast. It isn't the same quality as other 4 star hotels and has no 'facilities' to speak of, but it's a good bet for a short stay, and could be even better with a few improvements.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just came back from 6 weeks holiday in Europe, which was wonderful including all the hotels, except our stay in Royal Ramblas. We were just off the cruise for a day in Barcelona and booked the hotel for one night to leave next day at 4.30am to fly to Malaga, so only needed it to sleep there for a few hours. The room we were given by the older man with yellow hair at the desk smelled like a public toilet, was so tiny you couldn't seat down and nowhere to put your suitcases at all. The window looked into the wall and the floor was so sticky the shoes would stick to it.
After going downstairs to complain about the room we were given for 154euro per night, we were offered by the same man not to change the room for something acceptable but
to go up with us to the room to have a sniff to check if it really smells! We declined that generous offer. When checking out we were unexpectedly refunded 13euro with no explanation offered?! Was it for a smell?
No idea how this hotel's got 4 stars, what a dump! Avoid, you can do so much better for your money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montse E, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Ramblas Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Helen L.,

Regarding to your explanation in your comment, we are amazed about the person who is described as "receptionist", because there is no match at all with any person working in our reception department; We have also searched for your booking in our system and unfortunately we could not find any reservation during the period that you mention, under the name shown in this page...
Anyway, and trying to improve, as always, our daily job and also willing that our guests are satisfied when they come to visit us, we feel so sorry if you had any negative experience with your room in the hotel, so we would appreciate if you want to explain us with more details your complaint, in order to clarify this past situation.
I will personally thank your mail sent to the next address: m.escoda@royalhotels.es

Waiting for your answer and hoping to solve this matter, receive our best regards.

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Royal Ramblas for 4 nights (8/3/2014 - 8/7/2014). We booked the summer promotion package with breakfast through the hotel web site directly. We got the Design Junior Suite that accommodated our family of 4 comfortably. The room was very clean and the decoration was modern. Bathroom was very spacious. I has tub and separated show with very nice overhead shower head. However the drainage in the sink was slow. We did not call for the service because it's tolerable. The room was on the 2nd floor facing the side street. There was always some kind of noises coming from places that I could not pinpoint through out the night. It's like a combination of metro train and furniture moving. We also could hear kids running in the hallway late at night.

The breakfast was very very good. The restaurant overlooking Las Ramblas St. has excellent view. Many variety of fruits, pastry, meat, drinks. We really enjoyed it.

The hotel location was excellent. It's right in the center of everything. Very close to metro and aerobus to airport. There is a huge Carrefour supermarket next door that sells everything you can think of.

We were offered a 10% off coupon to the hotel restaurant while waiting for the room. The food was OK but service was cold and slow. Waiter asking for tips in front of customer which felt really awkward.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkjiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Whilst it is billed as a 4* hotel, well felt that it wasn't quite up to standard. Our room was a reasonable size, had OK air conditioning and the service we received at the hotel was generally good. It just didn't have an extra wow factor for us. Having said that, the location is absolutely perfect and the prices are very reasonable - good value for money!
We transferred from the airport by taxi which cost 27 euros, there is also a shuttle and an airport bus from Place de Catalunya which is just up the road if you want a cheaper option.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is a really clean and well managed hotel. The only thing to note is if you are having food outside be careful of your bag and belongings.

The staff were nice and helpful and the street its on it brilliant and vibrant.

Room Tip: Ask for hotels in the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saradindu_Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#203 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#124 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#135 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ramblas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ramblas Hotel

Property: Royal Ramblas Hotel
Address: 117 Las Ramblas, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#85 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#90 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ramblas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Ramblas Hotel is known for its privileged location in the heart of Las Ramblas, the most popular and well-known boulevard in the Barcelona center. The hotel is close to Catalunya Square (50 mts), the meeting point for leisure and culture in Barcelona and the symbol of its open and cosmopolitan character. Royal Ramblas Hotel offers 4 star facilities and an excellent location in Barcelona center which would make it the best option to explore the city. The hotel is at easy walking distance to the main tourist and cultural attractions such as Gothic Quarter, Cathedral, La Boqueria market, Teatre del Liceu, el Raval, la Barceloneta and the Harbour...And enjoys one of the best and gorgeous areas for dining and shopping from Plaza Catalunya to Passeig de Gracia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Ramblas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Royal Ramblas
Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing