We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Ranked #129 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2005

We picked this hotel because we wanted the essence of Barcelona at our door step and because of the reviews both here and in the various guides. Our family of three ended a 3000 km drive from Southern Italy here and planned to meet another family disembarking from some cruise line.
The location could not have been better! All arrangements were made using email and the response from the hotel staff was tops. I would give it ****!
DO pay attention to the reviews and try to book rooms only on the TOP TWO floors if you want peace and quiet from the constant surge of humanity on La Rambla below. There is a double paned window and a second window that are all easily opened to let the city in. This reduces the noise to nearly inaudible. Our group had five rooms, all clean, quiet and good AC. The staff is most helpful, and the small "super market" next door is very convenient. Try the cafe Santa Anna across from the hotel and down the side street a few doors for some fine paella.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 1,842 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
North Hills, Cailf
215
Reviewed 6 August 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Royal for three nights before our cruise. Contrary to a couple negative reports, we found the hotel clean, comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is located about half a block from Placa Catalunya right on La Rambla. Our room overlooked La Rambla and although there was still activity on it at 4 AM there was no noise in our room since the windows have double pane glass.
One thing I have found out. is that most European hotels do not provide wash cloths since it is a very personal item. Would recommend that you pack a couple of disposable ones if you plan to stay there.
In addition to the tour of Monserratt and the city,we had a fabulous time just walking La Rambla sampling the food and watching the mimes. They are fabulous.
If I ever return to Barcelona, I would definitely stay at this hotel again again.

Stayed: July 2005
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Norfolk, United Kingdom
16
Reviewed 12 July 2005

I stayed here from 19 - 22 June with my daughter the hotel is in an excellent location right in the centre of the Ramblas. The Royal is very comfortable and clean - ask for a room overlooking The Ramblas you will not suffer from the noise outside as all the rooms are triple glazed to prevent this. Hotel staff very helpful, breakfast very pricey for the content but convenient nevertheless. Don't eat in La Poma - very mediocre surroundings and food to match. Only downside was the lack of any sizeable publice area e.g. bar and public loos (you have to use the ones next door in their restaurant). Definitely will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2005

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, the staff is unhelpful and rude, the rates are overpriced and the rooms are like a youth hostel. I was very disappointed at the fact that this hotel was rated and priced like a 4 star hotel when it was in fact really a 2 star hotel.

Stayed: August 2004
6  Thank missyalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2005

This is a very nice hotel situated right on Las Ramblas, perfect place to stay. I went with another 2 girls and we shared a double room with a roll away bed, we found it too be ample space and we were on the 5th floor facing Las Ramblas. With the windows closed you cannot hear any noise and with it open the atomosphere of the street just comes straight into the room. The room was very clean, the bathroom was very nice, the only thing missing was music and a kettle!! The hotel staff were very friendly and allowed us to extend our room stay till 7.30pm for an extra 60 euros, which was fantastic!
All the shops, bars, cafes, resturants are close by and all the shops are open on a Sunday, so don't just shop on a Saturday as you have the Sunday as well.
Overall this hotel was an excellant find and we are all planning to return to the same hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank STRADBROKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2005

This hotel is listed as 4* and deserves that classification in almost every respect. The rooms look a little old-fashioned to be sure. However, our room was large and comfortable, the service swift, freindly and helpful and the location outstanding - you couldn't want a better position for a base for exploring barcelona.

The only major downside is the lack of facilities - no pool, spa, not even tea & coffee making facilities in the room.

The best thing of all is that you get all this for a price bracket more befitting a 3* hotel, which this certainly isn't! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who isn't on the tightest of budgets.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2005

Location is great..and my room size was good..
Staff were nice and we enjoyed our stay..
probably a bit expensive i think..

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgpant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#209 of 519 in Barcelona
1,463 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#105 of 519 in Barcelona
2,309 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#32 of 519 in Barcelona
4,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 519 in Barcelona
2,209 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#113 of 519 in Barcelona
2,593 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#74 of 519 in Barcelona
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ramblas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ramblas Hotel

Address: 117 Las Ramblas, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#90 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#95 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £103 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ramblas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Ramblas Hotel is known for its privileged location in the heart of Las Ramblas, the most popular and well-known boulevard in the Barcelona center. The hotel is close to Catalunya Square (50 mts), the meeting point for leisure and culture in Barcelona and the symbol of its open and cosmopolitan character. Royal Ramblas Hotel offers 4 star facilities and an excellent location in Barcelona center which would make it the best option to explore the city. The hotel is at easy walking distance to the main tourist and cultural attractions such as Gothic Quarter, Cathedral, La Boqueria market, Teatre del Liceu, el Raval, la Barceloneta and the Harbour...And enjoys one of the best and gorgeous areas for dining and shopping from Plaza Catalunya to Passeig de Gracia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Ramblas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Royal Ramblas
Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing