We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Ranked #142 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel is extremely well located, about 20 meters away from Plaza Catalunya. The staff is extremely helpful
Rooms are spacious and bedding is great. We slept very comfortably. Complimentary internet is available in all rooms.
We got upgraded to a superior room and we were well treated.

The outside space by the pool is great especially when the weather is nice.

The problem with the rooms is that the walls are so thin that you can hear other rooms, but most importantly morning discussion of the cleaning ladies in the hall. They are loud enough to wake you up.

Overall, we highly recommend this hotel and we would come back..!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Taher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We apologize the inconveniences caused and we really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully,
David Coral
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hotel itself if nice with nothing to complain about, has all the basics in place and nice hotel.

Location wise it's super, walking to distance to the famous rambala's metro and plenty other places. It's a really nice set up.

Great place even for family holidays due to location, staff are ever helpful

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Thivanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
David Coral
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have just returned from a two night stay at the hotel Plaza Catalunya and had a fantastic time - for a reasonable price, we had a nice room, just off the Plaza, very very close to the buses and to the main eating, drinking, shopping and sightseeing areas of Barcelona. The staff were so friendly, nothing was a problem and the hotel had a lovely atmosphere. The breakfast was a fantastic buffet, a snip at 12 euros. I couldn't recommend this hotel higher for the money.

Room Tip: You may wish to ask for a room at the back, as the road running across the front was a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
David Coral
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Pro:

- Within walking distance to Plaza Cataluna
- Rooms not facing the street very quiet
- Rooms clean and tidy
- GREAT breakfast buffet

Can be improved:

- Rooms not newly renovated (lots of wood ...)
- WiFi poor in rooms
- No Gym
- English of staff (typical for Spain, still don't understand why)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EzPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We apologize the inconveniences caused and we really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully,
David Coral
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

While in the first leg of our stay - we were disappointed with the tiny room, when we returned they very sweetly gave us a nice room and after that everything was perfect! Right from sending us champagne for our 25th anniversary to going out of their way to help us with our last minute New Year night party plans. We could leave our luggage for the one night that we were travelling out of Barcelona - breakfast spread is great, all staff speak English and are more than helpful. And the location is supremely perfect bang at Placa Catalunya allowing us to take the Aerobus to and fro the airport, both La Ramblas and Passeig de Gracia equally accessible, metro 30 seconds away...most definitelly i would stay here again...thanks

Room Tip: Ask for balcony rooms - so even if you're stuck with a small room the large open windows and gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabnam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
David Coral
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Staff are super friendly and extremely helpful. We had a lovely room and enjoyed our stay very much. As we booked with booking.com we had a complimentary drink in the hotel bar. Great location . Very comfortable seating areas. We will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
David Coral
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#76 of 517 in Barcelona
685 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#141 of 517 in Barcelona
1,630 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#110 of 517 in Barcelona
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#150 of 517 in Barcelona
1,583 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 517 in Barcelona
2,174 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 517 in Barcelona
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Plaza Cataluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Plaza Cataluna

Address: C/ Bergara 11, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £69 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Plaza Cataluna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Cataluña (previously Catalonia Duques de Bergara) is situated 50 metres from Barcelona’s Plaça Catalunya and is a 2-minute walk from Las Ramblas. It has an outdoor pool and free Wi-FiPlaza Cataluña Hotel is a 5-minute walk from Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter and a 20-minute walk from Barcelona Port. Gaudi’s Casa Batló and La Pedrera can be reached in around 15 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Plaza Cataluna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Duques De Bergara
Catalonia Duques De Bergara
Duques De Bergara
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing