We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Ranked #143 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here only one night coming in from a cruise. The location was great, close to the metro. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was modern and clean. The only issues we had was a very unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom and we couldn't get the room cool enough. We thought about letting the front desk know but we were hardly in our room and it didn't seem worth the effort to move. I'm sure they would have accommodated us had we made them aware.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJArmyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear NJArmyWife,
Thank you for the valued feedback.
I do aplogize for the inconvenient you mentioned about the smell. Please let us know if you have any other issue during your next visit in order to move you to a different room.
I appreciate the comments and suggestions for improvement....which for sure I will consider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    603
    198
    65
    36
See reviews for
261
739
103
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our family of five stayed here for three nights, and enjoyed this hotel for its convenient location and friendly, helpful staff. We were within easy walking distance to almost everything that we wanted to see and do, and the front desk was very helpful with directions and tips. The rooms were clean and up to date. As Hilton Honors gold members we enjoyed a nice breakfast buffet each morning, with an excellent variety of items and a friendly wait staff.

There are plenty of great restaurants in the area, as well, and the front desk recommended a wonderful spot for tapas on our last night.

I would stay here again, hopefully we will get back to this beautiful city soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sheryl H,
Thank you for sharing your experience.
My Team and I appreciate the excellent feedback and value your loyality to the Hilton Family.
I'm pleased to know we exceeded your expectations and made a memorable impression.
Hope to see back in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a 3 night break
Our overall Experience was very good and if we were to return to Barcelona we would definately stay at this hotel.
Check In: We arrived a couple of hours early for check in times, however this was not a problem, our room was ready so we were able to unpack our bags, freshen up and enjoy the first day of our break. The Reception staff were very polite and welcoming. We were immediately given a map and directions to all local attractions....We didn't have to ask they were very accomodating on our arrival.
Our Room was on the first floor, very clean and had everything we needed. The bathroom was excellent with a huge walk in shower.
The hotel has free wi-fi...yes other hotels take note FREE! I don't know if it was because we were only on the first floor but the connetion remained excellant the whole time we used it.
We had breakfast each morning, which was good and had everything we needed to start the day. Again the staff were very polite and helpful.
Must mention Barbara, she did some fantastic cocktails in the bar, using her 'secret' recipes, she was so friendly and lovely lady a credit to the hotel.

The best way to get around to all the sites is to use the tour bus. We had a 2 day pass, that was very reasonably priced, if you buy it from the hotel they knock 2 Euros off the cost.

The location of the hotel is excellant, its in the hub of all the sites, bars a resturants.

Overall we had a very good experience at the Alexandra Barcelona Hilton Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donkey1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Donkey1969,
Thank you for sharing the genuine feedback and for recognizing one of our dedicated Alexandra Doubletree by Hilton Team Members, Barbara. Exceeding the expectations of our guest is certainly a valued compliment.
Waiting for your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here recently. nice hotel, really excellent location. Very clean, staff very helpful, good breakfast. Plenty of good restaurants and tapas bars within walking distance. Would recommend the city tour bus, 3 routes, lots to see, can book tickets at hotel. Can walk to Las Rambles in ten minutes, and Sagreda Familia in fifteen. Get train to Passages de Gracia from the airport for €4 each then a five minute walk from station to hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Bluboy,
My Team and I "thank you" for the valued feedback and extremely pleased to know we exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for three nights over the Easter weekend. We decided on this particular Hilton, due to its close proximity to the city centre and the fantastic sights and attractions within easy walking distance of this hotel.

We were able to walk to the Sagreda Familia, La Pedrera, Rambles & the Gotic quarter - each within 25 mins walk of the hotel.

Diagonal metro station is a 5 min walk away and is easily accessible for luggage and pushchairs; ramps & lifts are provided.

We arrived at the hotel at 1.30pm & were greeted by the customary doubletree cookie. After a short wait, we were able to check-in to our room early and as a Diamond member, we were upgraded from a standard to a deluxe room on the first floor. The room came with a balcony overlooking the main street and the room had all the usual Hilton amenities, with a great walk-in shower instead of a bath, which we were really happy with.

What made this hotel special though, was the fantastic service from all the staff we had the pleasure of speaking to throughout our stay. From housekeeping through to receptionist and the manager himself, no-one could have done anything more for us.

We will definitely return to Barcelona later this year and will without hesitation, stay at this hotel again! Highly recommended!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Haven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Haven123,
Thank you so much for the 5-Star review.
My Team and I appreciate the genuine feedback and for recognizing all the efforts dedicated to the service. The Alexandra Barcelona Doubletree by Hilton Team is committed to make all guest feel at home and I'm pleased to know you found your way from our hotel.
Again, "thank you" and please keep us in mind for your next visit to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel April 14-17 with my family. This is excellent hotel, great location, 7 mins walking distance to metro. There is a direct metro to airport. This is walking distances from many attractions in Barcelona. Excellent and very supportive staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sumith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sumith B,

Thank you for sharing your time with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Barcelona

It is particularly pleasant reading that you found our team members great and helpful, as well as you enjoyed our rooms. Our commitment is to provide the best service, the best food and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. For this reason, I am happy to know that we were able to fulfil your expectations

Thank you for staying with us at Alexandra Barcelona a Doubletree by Hilton, we look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

From the time we arrived until the time we checked out, everything was perfect. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. Our rooms were larger than expected, clean and had an old world charm with modern conveniences. Free WiFi was fast and easy to connect. Centrally located in the city, the metro, bus service, great restaurants and incredible shopping were all within walking distance. The hotel restaurant provided a nice option for an afternoon snack or late night meal. Outside seating was serviced quickly and offered a great place for people watching. Even though the hotel is located on a busy street during the day, nights were usually quiet. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families or business travelers. Wish I was still there!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny, and offer great views of the local shops and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoxyAtPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard P, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Roxy1118

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments and the time you spent on it including the nice pictures of the Dream Suite.

Here at the DoubleTree we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests enjoy and have come to expect from our Brand. It is therefore very rewarding when this has been achieved, and our efforts so kindly recognised by valued guests such as yourself.

Thank you once again. We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree on your next visit to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#163 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#101 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#153 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Eurostars Angli
#331 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#186 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Property: Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Address: Calle Mallorca 251 | Barcelona, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting innovative design and contemporary amenities, this historic boutique hotel is centrally located in the heart of Barcelona, between Paseo de Gracia and Rambla Catalunya streets, the best shopping, turistic and business area of the city. Boutique design hotel, casual-luxury, terrace-garden, outdoor swimming pool, private meeting rooms and high-level restoration: Solomillo Restaurant a gastronomic brasserie discovery to enjoy a simple and original formula: meat by weight and a Delicatessen Charcuterie with a lot of character, in a relaxed and special atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing